We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The incredible shrinking hotel room...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #66 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The incredible shrinking hotel room...”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Perfectly acceptable accomodation for a business trip but for a 4* hotel this place must have some of the smallest rooms around. Watch out for the low ceiling when showering! And that frustrating add on charge for Internet access - when will they learn, or perhaps more to the point when we will learn?

Good breakfast. Friendly receptionists.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qpaaaaagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
I was sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations to the full on this occasion. I would, however, like to thank for you sharing your comments with us and sincerely hope that you may consider staying with us again for a future business trip.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    1,135
    658
    272
    149
See reviews for
218
1,063
168
818
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Perfect location, hop of the train from Piccadilly and short walk from the Christmas markets. Hotel has been renovated to a high standard, furnishings all great and room, warm but spacious. Staff all friendly. Couple of negative points; bed was pretty bad, but we were at the end of the corridor so maybe they are working their way through them as part of the renovations. Only other thing that occurred to me is that I probably wouldn't stay here if I was alone. The entrance to the hotel is off the main street via the lift, reception is on the 2nd floor and so anyone can just walk in off the street, get in the lift and wonder around all the floors of the hotel. Probably being OTT but worth considering.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel. I was pleased to hear that you found the team friendly and the hotel's location to be perfect. Please accept my apologies that you found your bed uncomfortable and you had a concern with regard to the ground floor entrance to the hotel. Please be assured that the health, safety and comfort of our guests is extremely important to us and I sincerely hope that the points you have mentioned will not deter you for staying with us again and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We have stayed at this time several times over the last few years and the standard of the rooms and friendliness of the staff keep us going back. It is situated on Piccadilly, ideal for shopping, clubbing or just enjoying the vibrant city centre, it also has on site parking (for which you pay about £6 a day) which is a boon when parking is a premium.
We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
I was thrilled to read your very positive comments following your last stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York,England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Just come back from a weekend in manchester at the mercure.Stayed last year when it was Ramada. Hotel geat location.Room was excellent had superior,lovely and big,king size bed,nice and warm as it was cold out that weekend.Included was breakfast all the staff were great especially Isabelle she was a credit to the company and we wish to thank her for making us welcome and seeing to our needs at breakfast.Had evening meal food lovely service very good.We will stay there again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harl0926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a postive review of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel following your stay with us. I have noted in particular your kind comments regarding the level of customer care and service provided by Isabel and I will certainly take the opportunity to share them with her.

Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Good central location and not noisy, considering it was a Friday night. Ample onsite parking @ £12 for 1 night stay. Booked executive room but compared to other City hotels it was more of a standard room. Room was clean, bed comfortable although on the small side. Staff were very efficient and friendly. We didnt eat in the hotel but the menu looked good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazjim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. It really is appreciated. Thank you again and I do hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I booked a room here on a Friday night – we needed a room for the night and our only criteria was that it was cheap and central. I booked this hotel because of the very low price and we were not expecting great things. In fact when I was driving to the hotel I was dreading it – but it was great! The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, check-in was so fast I couldn’t believe it, room had everything you could want or need and the whole experience was just brilliant. I called down to ask for extra pillows and they arrived within 5 minutes, and with a smile.

There was a special offer on breakfast - £6.50 per person – which included everything you would expect plus the option of ordering from the menu at no extra charge things like eggs benedict or smoked haddock (you have to pay extra for these things at some of the poshest hotels in Manchester, and that’s after paying £20 for breakfast!). I asked if they had gluten free bread (I’m coeliac) and they didn’t – but they did say that they would have ordered me some if I had mentioned it on check in, and they very kindly toasted some gluten free bread that I had with me (I know it might seem strange to take bread with me for a weekend away, but if you know a coeliac you’ll understand!)

Easy walk to all of the shops, bars, restaurants and cinemas. On the Saturday night we stayed at a well known highly rated Manchester hotel which was three times the price (for a family event) and it was hard to see how they justified the price when the Mercure was so good.

I booked on laterooms and got the room for £59 a month in advance.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayheaven22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

we stayed at the hotel on saturday 3rd december as we were in Manchester to do some christmas shopping and a night out, the location is great and easy to find, the hotel itself is clean and well presented although the room was a little small and expensive comapared to others we have stayed in based on room size,
we stayed on the 12th floor overlooking picadilly gardens, the room was very noisy as there are the christmas celebrations taking place in the gardens opposite the hotel we didnt really mind this as we didnt get back to the hotel until around 1am, then around 2am the couple in the next room got back started fighting and screaming unitl around 3am.

breakfast was the worst part, you are showed to a table and tea/coffee are brought to you, we got up to go to the buffet and when we came back somebody else had been seated at our table and were drinking our coffee, we were showed to another table and as we sat down another couple came back with there food and we where then at there table, we were then moved to a third table.
i think that the seating staff and servers could work together a little better and possibly a reserved card on the table could have resolved us having to have 3 tables in 5 mins.

we may try this hotel again based upon the location aspect unless we can find something else around piccadilly

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time post your review on Tripadvisor.

It was pleasing to hear that you found our location to be a great advantage, albeit I was disappointed to hear of your experience at breakfast, which I will addrsss accordingly.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by other guests during your stay. Unfortunately on occasions such situations can occur whereby other guests can cause a disturbance. Should, however, an issue be highlighted to us, my team at the hotel are well briefed to bring any situations to a satifactory conclusion for all concerned.

Thank you for your honest feedback and I do hope that sometime in the future you may consider returning to us.

Many thanks again .
Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
14.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 118 in Manchester
2,487 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 118 in Manchester
1,660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing