We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was amazing and the staff were great. Had our wedding there and couldnt fault anything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #66 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The hotel was amazing and the staff were great. Had our wedding there and couldnt fault anything”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Held a wedding there on Saturday 21st Jan 2012. OMG it was amazing. The staff were the best so friendly helpful and happy it made the day. They kept us informed during the day and even chatted to friends and family. One of the guys was even dancing the night away with us. They made everything so chilled out and went out of their way on everything. All family and friends were delighted they even catered for disabled guests too. Honestly they were the best. Food was fantastic and some guests went back to the hotel the following day for lunch. The room was to die for they way they dressed and arranged everything it was wonderful and then we stayed until the following day. Honestly if I could book my wedding again I would do it in the same place and ask for the same staff. Thank you all so much for the amazing and special day and if anyone is planning a wedding please go and have a look.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kez9601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
It goes without saying that I was thrilled to read your review and to hear that the team at the hotel played such a huge part in making your day so special. It will certainly give me great pleasure to share your very kind comments with them all.

Many congratulations once again from the all the team at the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    1,134
    658
    271
    148
See reviews for
218
1,062
168
817
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Excellent location in central Manchester. Staff were helpful. Hotel was fine but was lacking in character. Bed was less than comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to hear that you found our location to be excellent and the team helpful. With this in mind, I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My wife & I stayed at this hotel for a short 2 night break, The location is great for visiting the city, even if finding it can be difficult,as there is hardly any signage. If you look for the Tourist Information center, it is right next to it!
The breakfasts were very good, and the rooms were spotlessly clean. I agree with the other reviewer about the prices of the drinks in the bar, but there are plenty of other bars & pubs around the hotel, so I expected it to be a little pricey.
If we visit Manchester again, which I hope we do, I will certainly be booking this hotel as like I said before it is an ideal base to explore the city.

Room Tip: Higher floors are further away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkyMark31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your recent two night stay with us.

I agree with you that one of the main benefits of our Hotel is our central location and therefore we are an ideal base for guests looking to explore the City.

My apologies for any inconvenience caused when trying to find us. Following our rebranding to Mercure, we have been waiting for new exterior signage to be installed on the building, which I am now pleased to announce is going to happen within the next week or so, weather dependant. This additional exterior signage which will appear on the roof of the Hotel, as well as down each side of the building, will hopefully assist guests in finding us easily.

Delighted to hear that you will certainly look to book our Hotel again when you are next visiting Manchester and with this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

excellent hotel which is very central.rooms are small but have everything that you will need,we didn't go to spend time in the hotel room.
the hotel breakfast is great and plenty of it,with a great view over Piccadilly
very nice bar but it is expensive.staff are very helpful and friendly.
we hope to go back to Manchester soon and will definitively try to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
I was delighted to read your positive comments regarding your recent stay and it was also great to hear that you will definitely be back. We therefore look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights whist visiting the Christmas Markets. Found the place by chance as the Sat Nav took me past the main entrance on the main road. Went round a second time and turned into the street before the main entrance and lo and behold, a multi storey car park leading to the hotel car park.
Check in was quick and friendly and we were allocated a room on the top floor. The room and bathroom were very clean and the view was good, overlooking Picadilly Gardens. The main issue was the room temperature - it was pretty cold. I adjusted the temperature to max and we went down for dinner which was included with the stay. A nice restaurant with friendly staff. The choice of food was good and well cooked. We then went for a stroll around the markets and returned quite late, expecting the room to have warmed up - it haden't. In fact, it was warmer with the 'heating' fan (supposedly warm air) turned off as it just caused a draught. As it was late, we got into bed to warm up.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice no matter what your taste is and again the staff very friendly.
We were straight out again and returned to the hotel about 4pm.
I went straight down to reception to ask if they had any portable heaters. The girl on reception got on the radio to housekeeping and asked if they had any available - she was greeted by a rather grumpy 'what do you want' by a guy at the other end. After making her request 3 times and listning to grumpy on the other end, she said that she thought they were bringing one to the room. It hadn't arrived before we hit the markets again but hoped it would be there on our return - it wasn't. Again, it was late, so just got into bed.
Check out was swift and polite and no trouble with the bill.
If the room had been warm it would have been a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Top floor maybe not a good choice as apart from the room being cold, the lift works are situated abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satriani100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your valued review following your stay with us.

I was sorry to hear that your stay with us was marred as a result of the heating problem you encountered in your bedroom, for which I apologise. I have, however, noted from your comment that had there not been this issue, you woud have had a perfect stay. Therefore, with this in mind, I do hope that the situation you faced on this occasion will not deter you from visiting us again and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My daughter and I stayed in this lovely hotel, for one night midweek December 22nd. for the christmas markets.

We had a great time, we got back to the room about 9.00 pm and chilled out in warm, spacious comfortable surroundings.

Would definitely return again - good value for £62.00 per room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for your positive review following your stay with us in December, which really is appreciated.

Great to hear that you will definitely return to us and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I seem to have a running issue with hotels in Manchester not having enough parking! At this hotel, they have a parking level where if you park beyond an overhead sign (which is easy to miss whilst searching for a parking spot) and leave after 6.30am, you could find yourself clamped! The alternative NCP car park is not only quite a trek with your luggage, it also costs £22 for the night!

The room service struggled to deliver what I wanted and were annoyed that I didn't simply accept their proposed alternative without any hesitation! The food itself was adequate, at best! Having told the reception that I wanted room service, they neglected to tell me that I had to authorise a credit card in addition to my payment, so ended up having to pay cash when the food was delivered.

The bed was a disaster! I felt EVERY spring in the mattress, which led to a dreadful night's sleep. This wasn't helped by the air conditioning / heating insisting on either blowing out cold air or being switched off, when it was a little too cold to be without heat!

At breakfast, they managed to serve burned, cold toast then when they delivered my cooked food, it had so many hairs on it that I thought a dog must have been shedding in the kitchen! I ended up turning down an alternative and leaving hungry - having wasted £9 on breakfast!

All in all, this is definitely a hotel that I'll be avoiding in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room in an alternative hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnL1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you for your valued review. I was extremely disappointed to read that you did not have a positive stay with us.

One of the main benefits of our hotel is our central location, together with the fact that we do have our own on site car park, with a capacity to accommodate up to 80 cars. These spaces are subject to availability and are allocated on a first come first served basis. We do, however, have the additional benefit of the business adjacent to us allowing us to utilise their car parking spaces outside their business hours. Hotels guests are, however, respectfully requested to remove their vehicle from their property by 7am Monday-Friday..

It was concerning to read your comments regarding your experience of room service and breakfast. I can confirm your feedback has been shared accordingly with the respective members of my management team who will act upon them to ensure such shortcomings are never repeated. Your comment regarding your mattress and climate control system has also been noted.

I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion but would like to thank you for bringing your observations to my attention. It goes without saying that we would welcome the opportunity of restoring your faith in us and with this in mind, please do contact me personally should you ever wish to give us another chance in the future.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
14.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 118 in Manchester
2,484 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 118 in Manchester
1,657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing