We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Centre Hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #74 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I am an Accor gold card holder and usually use the Novotel/Mercure/Ibis chain as my first choice of hotel.

I stayed at the Mercure Picaddilly on 9th May and was very impressed with my stay. (I stayed here on a couple of occasions in the past before Mercure took over, and had mixed experiences, but standards have clearly improved).

I was particularly impressed with with the courteous, friendly and professional nature of the reception and bar staff. The room was very clean and comfortable (nice large bed and powerful shower) and the location of the Mercure couldn't be better.

My only negative comment was with regards to the overnight parking charge of £15.00, which by any standards isn't cheap!! (Unlesss your staying in London!).

To be fair, the room rate was reasonable so I was happy to absorb the cost of the parking. If the room rate had been much higher I would have had a struggle to justify.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel following your stay with us.

It goes without saying that I was extremely pleased to hear that you were very impressed with your stay with us on this occasion and it will certainly give me great pleasure to share your comments with the team.

As you have mentioned, the location of our Hotel couldn’t be better and coupled with the fact that as a City Centre Hotel we have our own on-site car park, which is secure and allows guests the comfort of leaving their vehicle and being only steps away from our entrance, is of great benefit to us. A car parking charge has always been in operation at the Hotel and is publicised. We do undertake reviews of our charges and at such times, compare them to other car parks in our immediately vicinity who, at this moment in time, charge up to £22.00 per overnight stay. We therefore believe the price we currently charge is extremely favourable.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and I trust that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,823 - 2,829 of 3,133 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed here a number of times usually mid week.Good location for my purposes with a good breakfast although rooms can be variable depending upon which floor and which side of the building you are on.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjimmy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to read that we suit your needs when visiting Manchester and trust that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon. If you do have a room type preference or prefer to have a bedroom on a specific side of the building, please do request at the time of booking and we will do our utmost to accommodate your request.

Thanks again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Good functional hotel right in the middle of Manchester

You'll either love or hate the architecture but a view from the 11th floor over Piccadilly Gardens was lovely

Room Tip: If you like views ask for high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us; it is really appreciated.

I trust that on a future visit to Manchester, we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I have been travelling to Manchester on a regular basis for 25 years and i found my recent stay in the Mercure as good as any i have had in that period. Fantastic location and the rooms very large and clean.I had a view of Picadilly gardens and found it not noisy as other reviewers did. Breakfast was superb and the staff very friendly.The only downside was that the bar,which is wonderfully decorated and classy,was very very expensive.£18 for 1 vodka and 1 Brandy really needs to be looked at and adressed.However i will have no hesitation making the Mercure my base from now on when i,m in Manchester.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room with city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niallmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Guest

It goes without saying that I was thrilled to read your review and that you will have no hesitation in making the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly your base for future visits to Manchester. I have noted your comment regarding our beverage prices and I will certainly share your feedback with our Central Food & Beverage Development Team in readiness for when they next review our food and beverage offering and pricing.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is a good all round hotel in a great location. Close to train station and next to shopping streets.
Staff were really friendly, bar was popular with plenty of screens for those who wanted to watch the football, bar prices were good for a hotel.
Room was grand, better than most.
Breakfast was busy but service was quick.
Will use again

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank rftu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us.

I am pleased that you choose to stay with us and I am glad that our location and facillities were to your satisfaction and that you found the team really friendly.

Glad to hear tht you will visit us again and with this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Lets start by saying that I am extremely fussy. Like most people, I always look on trip advisor before I commit to a booking. I think most people do the same! To be honest, I did not know what to expect when I arrived at this hotel. Yes, I got a good deal at £165 for two nights, inc breakfast. However, I do expect value for money.

From the minute I got to the hotel, right through to my check-out, the staff were only too pleased to help. Yes, the breakfast area was busy, but well worth the wait! The food was excellent! Rooms very also excellent....one minor prob (not worth mentioning details here) which was promptly sorted! Excellent location, excellent parking facilities. If you don't want to be in a central location, then don't book this. If you do, don't come on here and complain about tram noise...remember, there is something of a compromise.

I will definitely be coming back for the following reasons:

Customer Service - Excellent
Rooms - Excellent
Location - Excellent

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am so pleased to be able to share with the team such great feedback.

I trust that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had a room on the rear of the building. Great view of Manchester anf the Beetham Tower.
Luxury room on 5th floor fabulous.However walls are thin and we could hear the guys talking in the adjacent room.
No iron, no trouser press and no fridge, the hotel should have these at least in the better rooms.
Check in and checkout were very easy and hotel is good value.
Great location

Hving had rooms on both sides of the hotel I prefer the ones that do not overlook Piccadilly Gardens

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodAndArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for placing your review on Tripadvisor.

An iron and trouser press should be available in all our bedrooms. However, on occasions, you do come across units that are faulty or broken and therefore they need to be removed. They will always be replaced but I am only too sorry your room was without this facility at the time of your stay. Fridges unfortunately are not a brand standard for our bedrooms.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise from the adjacent room, however, was pleased to hear that you found check in and check out easy, the hotel to be in a great location and good value.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and if this is the case, at the point of booking, if you specify your preference for a room that does not overlook Piccadilly Gardens, we would be more than happy to adhere to your request.

Thanks again.
Kind regards
David Daly

# I will review with my Property Manager which rooms are currently without and action will be taken to
My Property MangerowseI will review with my Property Manager which rooms are currently without can only think that this facility in the bedroom you occupied Having addressed this matter with my Property Manager, those bedrooms currently without are due to be installed with replacements are due to be I am sorry leased to report that , I am aware, however, that a number were sent off to be repaired but thsoey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.4 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#32 of 120 in Manchester
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princess St. Hotel
Princess St. Hotel
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,721 reviews
0.6 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £63 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing