We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel with a superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #64 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
norwich
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great hotel with a superb location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I travelled to manchester for a leisure trip and found the Mercure through the internet. After checking reviews it was decided we would go for this hotel and what a good choice. The mercure is a large hotel situated in the centre of manchester right next to the tram station and bus terminus and located only 5 mins walk from manchester piccadilly station. Reception was on the 2nd floor and was expertly dealt with by the gentleman on the desk. Our twin room was on the 10th floor and was not big but big enough for us for our 2 night stay. There was the usual complimentary tea/coffe tray (needed more than 2 teabags i felt) and it was ensuite as well. Only downside was that we could not open the windows (health and safety i presume) so the room did sufferw ith condensation. We did not use the resturant but did use the bar which was lovely and okay price wise, just what you would expect in a city centre hotel. All in all a lovely hotel which is well situated and i will use again to visit manchester

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwichTubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel following your stay with us; it really is appreciated. I was delighted to hear that on a future trip to Manchester, you will consider staying with us again and with this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    1,099
    623
    257
    122
See reviews for
210
1,024
163
759
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as we had tickets to go to the football.
The room is good, especially the view from the 11th floor. Staff so friendly and would do anything they could to make your stay enjoyable. Wifi is available on level 3 which is also the area for breakfast and drinks.
Location is fantastic. Right next to the tram/bus station, walking distance to the train station. Centrally located to all areas of Manchester city. Great walk to amazing shopping.
Would defently Reccommend and would stay again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jem_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for placing your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and look foward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel has very friendly staff in an excellent location. Rooms are good, although the standard was not big.

If you are looking for a centrally located hotel, in an excellent location, this should be on your shortlist.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of our Hotel with your fellow Tripadvisor viewers.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and you found the team friendly and our location to be excellent.

The next time you are visiting Manchester, I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

I had a lovely stay at this hotel. The hotel were great in changing my room from a twin to a double and again when the first room's TV didn't work. The staff were helpful and friendly. The receptionist from Hungary was very efficient and came to my room with a new key for another room when I reported a fault immediately.

The room was a reasonable size, clean with a great view of the Manchester skyline. Bed was very comfy. I booked with lastminute.com and got an amazing deal. I paid under £28 for the room. Free wifi on the third floor.

The location is perfect, 5 minute walk from Piccadilly station and city centre shops and cinemas. Plenty of nice places to eat or go for coffee.

I would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us.

I was pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay and would certainly visit us again. With this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

I booked this hotel for a Friday night stay, and considering the price I paid and the package, which included "free" breakfast, it was genuinely good value for money.

Unfortunately, the package also included a free Pimms on arrival; this was never offered or mentioned - I did not mind, and did not particularly want the free Pimms, but this was just one of many little things that were wrong. The hotel, previously a Ramada, seems to have been updated very little - my room and bathroom looked really rather old, and I seemed not to have been updated in any way by Mercure. There was no soap left in the bathroom, either. The queue for seating at the restaurant for breakfast was slow as the member of staff assigned to this kept disappearing, the exit car park barrier was supposed to operate on number plate recognition to allow you to leave but it didn't work - there is a buzzer for the hotel to raise the barrier, but I had to press this several times before I was able to leave. Another little thing was that the reserved parking signs still said Ramada on them - this was not an issue at all, but just highlighted the lack of apparent effort made to renovate/update the hotel. There was always some background noise from generators or some other kind of hotel equipment - it was not enough to keep me awake but might be an annoyance to some people.

That said, my room was very comfortable, there were adequate lifts to service the hotel, there was ample parking, nothing in my room was faulty and all of the staff were very friendly.

I would stay here again; £15 for overnight parking is reasonable compared to NCP or other car parks, the room price for the location and general quality of the hotel is fair, and my stay was enjoyable. Compared to other Mercure's I have stayed in, it just doesn't quite measure up, but it may be that this hotel is still very much in a transitional process. If "all the little things", such as those I have stated in this review would ruin your stay, though, then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cf4226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Guest

Guest feedback is an extremely valuable tool for us, as it allows us to monitor our performance and focus on areas that we may need to improve on, therefore I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

I do hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

This is one of those hotels that does just what you want when you're travelling on a (tight corporate) budget. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Location is great. There's a bar and restaurant onsite. Parking is great too (even at £15 a day its not bad compared to the local NCP car parks!)

You're not going to find a massive range of facilities and be warned - the walls are paper thin! Yes, you really can hear everything.... Rooms are not huge either.

But - it's not expensive and it delivers. For the prices this places charge you'd have to be a real grump to complain too loudly.

Room Tip: Sound proofing is poor - meaning that you get a lot of noise coming into the room from the air condi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisCPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guests

Many thanks for posting your review of the hotel following your stay with us. As you have mentioned our location is spot on and with the added benefit of secure onsite car parking too, at an attractive rate compared to the local NCPs, is a huge advantage which many guests do comment on.

The age of the building does play some part in reducing noise levels to a zero level but we are always looks at ways to improve on this and we have actually been conducting some internal works to try to improve on this.

Thanks again and I do hope that sometime in the future, we may have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Left it late to book one night business trip in Manchester, so Premier Inn price was high, decided to look for something similarly priced near Piccadilly. This fit the bill, just 5 minutes brisk walk to the Station, and a bit more luxury than Premier Inn. Double room on 8th floor was very small for a double, but clean and comfy, and the shower was good. Iron / ironing board in room and a good quality hairdryer. Was very quiet up there with a gorgeous view over the city and out to the hills. Walls seem extra thin though, could hear people in next room, luckily they weren't up late. Toiletries, Sky on TV plus pay-for films. Breakfast included in room rate but wasn't that nice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowKauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guests

I was pleased to hear that we 'fitted the bill' in terms of location, comfort, cleanliess and well equipped rooms. I was sorry to hear though that you were disturbed by the guests in the room next door to you, and you were also disappointed with breakfast. We do apprecaite you taking the time to share your experience with us, as guest feedback is extremely important to us, as it really helps us to maintain our standards and focus on areas that we may need to improve

Thanks for posting your review and do hope on a future trip to Manchester, you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing