We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, central, quieter than expected, small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #72 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This hotel was perfect for our one-night stay in Manchester. It was a short walk to both Piccadilly train station and Arndale shopping centre. It couldn't be more central. We stayed on the 11th floor and not only was it quiet but the view was lovely. The staff were accommodating when we checked in two hours early. I would recommend requesting a high floor if possible as the view was fabulous.

The communal areas of the hotel are very nice. The hotel bar is quite expensive and had a strange way of serving us. We ordered drinks and then they brought them over with the bill, then came back a minute later to request we pay. It would have been much simpler for us to settle the bill at the bar when we first ordered the drinks. We didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked nice. The only bathrooms for the bar/restaurant are on the floor below.

Our double room was very small and I don't think I would have enjoyed a long stay. Our bathroom was well appointed and the bed was comfy, if on the small side. I would like to see new windows fitted and better-working TVs. We had trouble with our's and the channel choice is not very good. As we were only staying the one night I didn't think it was worth asking them to try to fix our TV.

We paid around £52 and so we really feel that for the price it is almost perfect. I enjoyed our stay very much and it made visiting Manchester easier and better. We'll almost certainly be back.

Room Tip: Request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0zG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very welcome and I was pleased to hear that you will certainly be back. We therefore look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,521 - 2,527 of 3,024 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

Nice and clean in cetral location. Helpful staff. Lovely and variable breakfast. Very comfy beds. There was only one thing which bothered me. There were doors between our room and room next door, they have been left open so i called the reception to send somebody to close them. The lady came in and closed them. When we came back to the room they were left open again and there was already other guest in the room next door. That was rather ennoying and unsafe. We put a chair by the door so nobody would have an access again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieSmoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. Thank you for bringing to my attention the issue you faced with regard to the inter-connecting door in your bedroom. I will address this matter with my Head Housekeeper. My apologies for the concern this caused you at the time.

Thanks again and I do hope on a future visit to Manchester, you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

A fine hotel. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were clean. But the double room was very small. The bathrooms had no shelf space for our toiletries and the shower was "ok." Not a big fan of showers in tubs. The rooms were exceptionally quiet, considering the huge bus station outside our window. Too bad house-keeping started knocking on doors at 8 am. If we were there for more than one night, I would have needed to either upgrade the room or find another hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcrane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. We do have varying room types at the hotel, some larger than others. I am sorry that you felt the room allocated to you on this occasion was too smal for your needs and my apologies also that you were disturbed early by the housekeeping team knocking on your door.

Many thanks again for your review.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stopped for one night, very central, rooms were good supplying tea, coffee, biscuits and a little tube of shower gel and shampoo, lots of towels.
The bed was lovely and comfortable fab white quality sheets.
Checkin was fine, staff were very friendly.
Breakfast was fantastic, buffet with everything you need from cereal to cooked meats to full english!
Overall would definately stay there again.
5 - 10 min walk to MEN arena!
Just one gripe the car park was £15 for a 24 hrs when we checked out we were told that really we should move the car also, we didn't arrive till 5.30pm the night before but check out was 12pm !!! they did relent and and said we could leave it there until 2pm!
*****

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us. As you have pointed out, the central location of the Hotel couldn't be better for getting out and about to see what Manchester has to offer.

Apologies for the confusion over parking. Just to clarify, we charge £15.00 per overnight stay which in turn allows our guests use of our car park up until 12 Noon on the day of departure, which is our latest check out time. After 12 Noon, if a guest wishes to leave their vehicle for longer, than an additional charge will apply.

Many thanks once again for your review and on a future visit to Manchester, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here for the first time for a recent business trip in Manchester. Everything was positive; parking on site, quick check in, good room with excellent views, nice bar area, friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. Definately more of a business or commuter hotel but cannot fault it.

Room Tip: The higher the better I would suggest for rooms, away from city centre noise and also benefit from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manchester_Dabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write such a positive review of the Hotel; it really is appreciated. I do hope that on your next visit to Manchester we will be your first choice Hotel.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Not great, but adequate. Staff are friendly, it's clean, location is good. Not going to win any style awards but if you're in Manchester on business and need somewhere to flop, this is for you. It's slap bang in the middle of town. Beds comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitstabubbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us. On a future business to Manchester, I do hope that you would consider staying with us again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

this hotel is amazing, great location, easy to find from the station. i stayed there with my partner on a Saturday evening, room was very clean, comfortable. checking in was quick and had no problems. has an amazing view, very quiet and private. we had a great time and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selina q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such positive comments on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive such great feedback, which I will certainly share with the team.

Once again many thanks for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel again soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,569 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 120 in Manchester
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £68 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing