We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay and very good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #65 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
preston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay and very good value.”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Great location for seeing Manchester. No more than 15 minutes from anything. Just around the corner from Chinatown, and 10 mins from Piccadilly station. We booked a superior double on Booking.com and got a really good price. We were really pleased with the room. It was on 5th floor and really spacious, even had a sofa and free movies as it was an executive room.The room was spotless and the bathroom is a really good size. It could have been a bit noisy but it's city center hotel so it is bound to be. We always take earplugs so had no problems at all. We were able to leave our bags early on the day of check in and left them till later when we checked out. As we had pre-paid we could just express check out. All the staff we dealt with were lovely and we had a great stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: We found a lovely Thai restaurant around the corner in China town called Try Thai. Excellent value e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodmojoPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for sharing your experience of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel; it really is appreciated. I was delighted to hear that you had a great stay and I will certainly take the opportunity to share your kind feedback with the whole team.

On a future visit to Manchester, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    1,121
    648
    267
    142
See reviews for
216
1,052
165
798
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Booked 2 rooms as kids going to see Justin Beiber and didnt fancy a drive home late at night.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. Heard no noise from traffic outside or from other guests in Hotel.
The hotel staff were really nice and helpfully even the maintance man who stopped to help when we couldnt get the room door open.

Really good stay for the price we paid we didnt expect what we got.

Thanks again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations when you stayed with us this weekend following your visit to the Manchester to watch Justin Beiber; I trust you and your family had a great time at the concert.

Thank you for sharing your experience and I do hope on a future occasion when you have accommodation requirements in Manchester, you will choose the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed for one night to go out in Manchester and go to the theatre. We only paid £45 for the room so we weren't expecting much. I am originally from Manchester and so I am fully aware of how ugly this building is. However when in a hotel you're not looking at it from the outside. It sits right in the heart of Manchester in Piccadilly Gardens, 5 mins walk from the station and less from the shops and The Northern Quarter's cool nightlife. As such we could keep popping back to change and freshen up. Inside the hotel it has relatively recently been updated. The entrance and reception areas are nice and the staff helpful, pleasant and attentive. The room was a little on the small side with old condensation soaked windows with secondary glazing the ruins what would have been an amazing view. That said the glazing cut most of the noise from the trams out and kept the room nice and temperate with the air conditioning. The room was tidy, clean, modern and well appointed. To be honest higher than expectations. The bathroom was good except for one annoyance in that the shower was just far too low. I am 5'10" and the shower head was level with my nose! Overall I would definitely stay again at this price. The niggles I've mentioned are just that, small improvements. It was comfortable, convenient and quiet.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. Guest feedback is extremely important to us and I thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I do hope on a future visit to the City, we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night here ahead of a business meeting and wasn't expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised. The most difficult thing about this hotel is getting there by car and defeating the one way system. However staff throughout the hotel at every point were friendly and helpful. The main bar/ reception/ lounge/ breakfast area was spacious and caters for most needs. Sat and watched the football- had a snack- had a good breakfast- did some work- made some calls
Bed was very comfortable but room stayed chilly no matter what attempts were made to heat it up
Nevertheless got a rate of £52 for one night including breakfast so it was fantastic value and yes I would stay again for a one night stay

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PaulWait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for posting your review following your stay with us ahead of your business meeting.

I was pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us and that you would stay with us again. With this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,090 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 965 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

my partner and i picked this hotel after staying at a mercure in nottingham, on arrival entered hotel to find location for parking, staff speaking in broking english on desk, not great on directions decided to park at the double tree hilton and wak to the hotel. on returning to the hotel at 1.45 told to early to check in for 2pm. so were ask to leave our bags and return at 2pm. on doing this we returned to a long check in queue. staff seemed under pressure, although very friendly and apologetic about the wait. got into room for about 2.45 room lovely very clean. lifts a little annoying only to go to 5th floor lifts only holding maybe 4 people with baggage. breakfast next day was £7.50 per person buffet style,not lots of choice, not brilliant but did the job for the price seating area clean, good views, waiting staff very friendly efficient. did prefer the mecure in nottingham but for what we payed location was the best bit about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us. I was sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations to the full. All feedback from whatever media is used constructively, so I thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Many thanks once again and I do hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The young man on the breakfast reception was very courteous and escorted you to your seat and made sure everything ran satisfactorily. He was off on Sunday and a lady was doing the same job but obviously did not give a stuff about her job are the guests. The third morning we were there the waitress kept delaying bringing the coffee. It only dawned on me when I left that this was because she wanted tipped. At 10 pound per head the breakfasts are not cheap for a fry up.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ooreiley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear Guest

I was pleased to hear that on your first visit to the Restaurant for breakfast, the operation ran smoothly and the young man looking after you was very courteous.

It did however concern me greatly to hear that this wasn’t the case for the remainder of your stay and you believed also that the Waitress on duty on the 3rd morning was delaying service in order to receive a tip. In my time as General Manager at the Hotel, this is the first time I have ever received a comment regarding the Restaurant team blatantly looking for tips and I would be very disappointed with them if this was indeed the case. Your thoughts however will of course be shared with both my Operations Manager and Restaurant Manager, who will I know address this matter to ensure future guests never receive such an impression.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and on a future visit to Manchester, I do hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your faith in us.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 116 in Manchester
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing