We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #60 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed here on 14th March after returning from holiday, the rooms are a squeeze and even more so if you have cases for 2 people. Good location though and we were ale to get the trams literally a 2min walk away.
Breakfast was ok we paid the £9.50 at check in.

One really good positive was we arrived at the hotel at 8am and they did allow us to leave our bags in a locked cupboard.
Waiting on the lifts is a nightmare especially if something is on, we got fed up waiting we eventually got icon our floor went all the way to the top and back down.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us on the 14th March. I was sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations to the full.

We do have differing room types at the hotel, our Classic selection of bedrooms which are our standard rooms. For those guests that may perhaps wish for more space, upgrades are available to our privilege rooms or superior rooms, and these rooms are indeed more spacious and come equipped with additional enhancements too.

My apologies for the delays that you experienced when waiting for a lift. When the Hotel is extremely busy I am aware that at peak times pressure can be placed on the lifts and this can sometimes cause problems in terms of people moving around the building as easily as they would normally do. There are, however, fire exit stairs at the side of the main lifts which access all the floors within the hotel, which guests are more than welcome to use. I am sorry if this was not communicated to you at the time.

I was pleased to hear that you found out location spot on and do hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    1,085
    608
    241
    116
See reviews for
206
1,009
158
740
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Good value, recently refurbished Manchester city centre hotel. Ideal location for shopping and trams - especially if you need to get to Old Trafford! Large attractive bar and good bar meals (plus free wifi in the bar). Rooms are very comfortable and have far-reaching views over central Manchester. If you get a good deal it's well worth it. Also has it's own car park (although the one-way system is a nightmare, so use your satnav or local knowlewdge).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel following your recent stay with us. As you say, our location couldn't be better for getting out and about to explore all that Manchester has to offer. On a future visit to Manchester, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

DON'T bother booking to stay here - they'll give your room away even if you have had the journey from hell to get there. The best they offered me as an alternative was BOLTON for chrissakes. WHAT IS THE POINT OF BOOKING?
They 'overbooked' and gave the rooms away first come first served. Greed is not an attractive trait.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyKing933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Guest

My sincere apologies that you were caught up in an overbooking situation at the Hotel on Monday and can fully appreciate the obvious inconvenience and frustration this must have caused you. It is not our policy to out-book guests but on this occasion we came across a situation that resulted in us having to do so. If you would like to discuss this matter further and to allow me to apologise personally, then please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is in the middle of Manchester. A great location. The room was clean and good. It was a weekend the rate for the breakfast was £7.50. We found the breakfast very good. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor. We asked and got an executive room, but without the frills, ie rope slippers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevie952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and in particular, you had the opportunity to experience one of our new privilege rooms.

Many thanks for your recommendation too and I hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The location of this hotel was great, in central Manchester and close to most things. I was surprised at the low standard of this hotel as I was of the opinion that the Mercure brand was of a higher standard than Novotel. Rooms were okay for 1 person (which appeared to be the majority of the clientele who seemed to be on business) but pretty woeful for 2 people - bed was standard double and more like a trampoline than a bed, not exactly conducive to a good night's sleep!!

The bar was nice and staff were friendly. Breakfast was below average although the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We were asked on arrival if we required breakfast at £9.50 per head, we weren't sure but were told we could decide in the morning - HOWEVER, the Receptionist failed to mention that buying on the day incurred an additional £4 per head, £13.50 each for a less than average fry up!! We argued at Reception on check-out but the bill was not amended.

Okay for a cheap stay as long as its short and there is only one of you!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear that you found our location spot on in terms of getting out and about in Manchester and you found the team friendly and helpful. It was however disappointing to hear that the accommodation element of your stay did not meet your expectations fully and that the conditions with regard to purchasing our promotional breakfast offering was not clearly communicated to you, for which I apologise.

It is appreciated that you have taken the time to share you experience with me and I do hope that sometime in the future you may give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here on a city break to Manchester and it was chosen due to the location. A major bus/tram interchange is literally on its doorstep.

The room was located on a high floor and it was not large, a double bed was provided and the room and hotel was kept clean. We had an included breakfast, went early on both days as it was a weekend stay, service was friendly and efficient.

Great value for money and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Britanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for posting your review following your City break to Manchester; it really is appreciated.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I do hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I stayed in the Mercure Hotel for a business conference from the 8th to the 10th of March, I loved it. First off - it was in an epic location - near the train station - ideal!

Secondly, I cannot say enough good things about the staff. The lovely lady who helped us at reception was kind, funny and gave us such a warm welcome we even called her Princess, I really, really wish I could remember her name - top class.

The rooms were comfortable, and extremely snazzy, the bedding was uber comfortable (though I didn't sleep much, haha).

I also have to give a big shout out to Alex - the bartender who works on the third floor - he was by far my favourite staff person at the hotel. Always smiling, always having a kind word to say, joked with the people at the bar. Really, really amazing service. You guys should give that kid a raise! :) He handled our bunch of rowdy marketers with the best quality service you can imagine.

We ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel every day, was beautiful and delicious.

Over all - I'd definitely, happily stay there again!

Good work guys!

Room Tip: We had a room on the sixth floor - room 606 - was ultra big and cosy! Top class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jovana_Sumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your most positive review of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel following your stay with us back in March for a business conference.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and that you found our facilities, service and team members, in particular one of our Receptionists and Alex in Bar on 3, to be excellent. It will certainly give me great pleasure to share your kind feedback with the team.

Many thanks once again and I hope that it won't be too long before you are able to return and stay with us again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#23 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing