We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Clean Hotel and not too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #75 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed at the Mercure as i was in Manchester for a business trip, got a good rate which helped me justify the cost of an overnight stay, room was clean and tidy with a nice view of the city, all the staff were friendly and polite and the service was excellent. interior, resturant and breakfast where all a good standard and the hotel was centrally located, what more would you need from a hotel not much, i will stay again the next time i visit Manchester

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOneAndOnlyBigG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your recent business trip. I was delighted to hear that on your next visit to Manchester we will be your choice hotel and with this in mind, I hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,403 - 2,409 of 3,181 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

This must be one of the best hotels we have stayed in. We were in Manchester with friends on a budget break. The staff in every area were exceptional, the food and the room just perfect. We couldn't find fault anywhere - only praise. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Manchest.

Room Tip: Wherever you go in the hotel you will be very satisfied. We were overlooking the Piccadilly area an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nufc10England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear Guest

Guest feedback is very important to us and to read your comment that you couldn't find fault anywhere, was indeed a delight to hear. I therefore thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your most positive feedback on Tripadvisor; it really is appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business for 5 days over a 2 week period.
Check in - awful. Greeted by a massive queue. After 25 minutes until being served i was then was told they didnt have my booking! Took another 30 mins to finally get a room. Even though I had my confirmation with me.
Room service - slow, took over an hour. When the food eventually arrived, it was awful. Inedible in fact.
Rooms - paper thin walls. You can hear everything. Damp smell throughout. Unable to open windows to ease the smell.
Outside- beggars outside, everytime you enter\leave you are asked for money. Not nice for a female on her own. It was very intimidating at times.
Bar- i ordered a whiskey and lemonade one night. The bar tender decided to have an "argument" with me over Jack Daniels. I mentioned JD was a burbon and not a whiskey he jumped down my throat!

Had my company not booked this hotel I would have checked out and gone elsewhere. I have advised my company to not use this hotel ever again.

Avoid

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladydrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear Guest

It goes without saying that I was extremely disappointed to read your review following your experience of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly whilst staying with us on business over a 2 week period; my apologies that we failed to meet your expectations.

I would like to touch base with you personally to discuss your feedback and therefore if you could spare me the time, I would be grateful.

In the meantime, my apologies once again that we failed to impress on tihs occasion and going forward, I do hope that I may have the opportunity to provide you with a more positive experience.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

In on business, I was coming into Manchester on a late arriving train and leaving the next morning on train to....
I needed a place to sleep that was clean, had wifi, walking distance from the station (but not on top of the station), quiet and walking distance to Albert Square.
I booked Sunday night and paid £42 for a double bed room, with wifi, no breakfast. And it ticked all the boxes.

Easy enough to find and about a 8-10min walk from both the station and Albert Square.
The room was clean, comfortable and offered all the necessary facilities but clearly no luxurious extras. The bed was OK - I hate the pushed together twin bc unless you pile it high with comforters and featherbeds, I can still feel the middle ridge.
I asked for a high floor, with a view, quiet room and away from the elevator. I got all but the last part - which was fine bc there wasn't much traffic.

Would I stay here again? For a night, on business where I need to be in/out and away quickly. Yes.
Would I stay here w my partner for a romantic weekend? No.

The staff were really friendly and I liked that the keycard holder had wifi instructions - which is the most sensible place to have it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel following your stay with us on Sunday night. I was pleased to hear that we ticked all the boxes and do hope on a future visit to the City, we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back again whether it be for business or indeed I hope leisure.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed here on Friday 26th April. Met at reception by a most helpful assistant called Davvid. He could not do enough for us. Our room was a suite and was clean, fresh and well decorated. THe breakfast was lovely. Will be staying here again. Cannot complement the hotel and staff enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for posting your review of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel following your one night stay with us.

I was delighted to hear that you had a great stay but in particular, was extremely pleased to read how impressed you were with the team, David on Reception in particular; it will certainly give me great pleasure to share your kind comments.

Thanks again and I hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Greeted by Joanna and zuzanna at reception could not have asked for staff more nicer after a long journey from London. Food was exceptional which completed a fantastic stay. Will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddydeepheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay when you visited us recently. The welcome you received from Joanna and Zuzanna was also a delight to read and it will certainly give me great pleasure to share your feedback not only with these two young ladies, but with the whole team too.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here in December to visit the Christmas markets and the imax cinema. Very central hotel, excellent location just next door to Primark/Debenhams and other shops. very friendly staff, warm welcome. nice clean modern rooms with flat screen television, dressing table and mirrors. Lovely modern bathroom. Nice stay overall, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for posting your review following your stay with us back in December. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and found our central location excellent for getting out and about. I was pleased to hear too that you would definitely come and stay with us again and with this in mind, I hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#41 of 121 in Manchester
1,691 reviews
0.6 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,878 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#29 of 121 in Manchester
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £60 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing