We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad for a big city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #64 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not too bad for a big city centre hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was expecting "same old same old" with this hotel and to an extent it was. Miles of corridors, clean and tidy, well presented, reception staff following the "have you had a good day today" script etc etc. TV in the room with far too many functions and for which you need a degree in TV remote-ology to get the thing to show BBC1 !

But , and here's where it was pleasantly different, the food was very good. Breakfast was plentiful, well cooked and well presented. Dinner was even better with the staff very attentive without being invasive and of a standard I would have expected from a top tier restaurant. We had planned on eating in one of the city's recommended restaurants but we chose to stay in the hotel and we were rewarded with a very enjoyable dinner.

Down side to this place is the lifts. Neither myself nor colleagues could work them out. You can wait ages for a lift to come and then , when it does, find that it's not going 'your way'. We worked it out eventually - take the first lift which comes, irrespective of its planned direction and stay in it until you eventually end up at your destination !

Lastly, they should tidy up the gap between the inner and outer windows in the bedrooms, it looked a bit scabby in my room and in need of a lick of paint.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agenuinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with colleagues. Guest feedback is extremely important to us and by whatever means it is received, is always used constructively.

I do hope on a future visit to Manchester, that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    1,099
    626
    257
    122
See reviews for
210
1,025
163
761
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

This was my third overnight stay, each a year apart, in a hotel I've come to enjoy. The room was comfortable and quiet and, as I was on the 10th floor, the view over Manchester and Piccadily Gardens was superb. The staff were, as always, exceptional: the restaurant staff remembered me from the year before and when I told the receptionist I was planning to take a walk around the city that evening, she got a map and suggested an interesting route, which followed and enjoyed. The breakfast was excellent. I was attending a conference in the hotel, where, yet again, the staff were efficient, pleasant and attentive and the food was plentiful and delicious. They also served our lunch very quickly, meaning our conference finished in good time and I caught an earlier train home than I'd expected. I'll be booking again for next year's conference.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floors and overlooking Piccadilly Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Guest

Guest feedback is very important to us and I therefore thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel following your recent stay.

I was absolutely delighted to read your feedback and when I share the content of your review with the team, I know that they will be as equally delighted as I was to read it.

Many thanks once again and we look forward to seeing you again at next year's conference.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel last weekend with all my family and could not fault the hotel and service in any way! The room was superb, very modern, clean and spacious for city centre Manchester. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and the staff were extremely attentive. I have stayed in many hotels and this is up there with the best for a city centre location. Would definitely recommend this place, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you had a super stay with us when you visited Manchester recently with your family. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for your recommendation too. I hope it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again too.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel as we were going to a concert at the MEN arena and this hotel seemed suitable! It is in an excellent location, close to the station, shops, restaurants and bars and the arena. The room was quite small but that's what you expect from a city centre hotel, it was all very clean and modern and had everything we needed! You could hear other people around, especially in the corridor at some points, but this wasn't a huge issue for us! The staff were very attentive and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGD93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest

Guest feedback is extremely important to us and I thank you therefore for posting your experience of our Hotel following your recent visit to Manchester.

I was delighted to hear that you would definitely stay with us again and with this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

The hotel was well located for shopping and eating and also only 10 mins walk to Piccadilly Station. This is handy for us arriving as well as departing for Manchester Int Airport. Staff were very helpful, the room was nice and clean and there was free wifi. we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank unlistedtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review. Indeed our central location is perfect for getting out and about to explore all that Manchester has to offer and we are so close to all the main transport links too.

I was pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed at the Mercure as i was in Manchester for a business trip, got a good rate which helped me justify the cost of an overnight stay, room was clean and tidy with a nice view of the city, all the staff were friendly and polite and the service was excellent. interior, resturant and breakfast where all a good standard and the hotel was centrally located, what more would you need from a hotel not much, i will stay again the next time i visit Manchester

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOneAndOnlyBigG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your recent business trip. I was delighted to hear that on your next visit to Manchester we will be your choice hotel and with this in mind, I hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

This must be one of the best hotels we have stayed in. We were in Manchester with friends on a budget break. The staff in every area were exceptional, the food and the room just perfect. We couldn't find fault anywhere - only praise. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Manchest.

Room Tip: Wherever you go in the hotel you will be very satisfied. We were overlooking the Piccadilly area an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nufc10England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest

Guest feedback is very important to us and to read your comment that you couldn't find fault anywhere, was indeed a delight to hear. I therefore thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your most positive feedback on Tripadvisor; it really is appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing