We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel right in the heart of the city - with parking right at the front door once you navigate a maze to find the car par”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #64 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Kew East, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great hotel right in the heart of the city - with parking right at the front door once you navigate a maze to find the car par”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

A large hotel but very personal and friendly with great rooms and service to match. Two minutes walk to the Town Hall, the Rylands Library and some great shopping. Breakfast was good and the rooms were well appointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following you recent stay.

Our central location is indeed extremely popular with our guests, as too is the major benefit of having our own onsite car park which, as you say, is right outside our front door. I do however appreciate how daunting it can be trying to find your destination when you are in an unfamiliar City, particularly when one-way systems are involved too. With this in mind, we do our utmost to give as clear directions as possible on our website, websites we have control over, as well as via a recorded message on our switchboard. On request, we are more than happy to provide directions too, detailing landmarks to look out for.

Many thanks once again for your review and do hope that on a future visit to the City, we may have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    1,111
    638
    264
    138
See reviews for
214
1,040
165
787
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had previously stayed here last year shortly after it transferred from being a Ramada and remember it to be a very tired looking hotel. The rate this time was a little more than the Ibis along the road and included breakfast so we thought we would give it another go.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful and our room was given a couple of hours before check in time which was appreciated. The room itself was clean and looked like it had been decorated relatively recently and was certainly in a better state than the last one we stayed in. It was average size as was the bathroom, it had air conditioning and the bed was conformable.

The location is very central, a short walk to Piccadilly station and the city centre shopping and attractions. Our room was on the 12th floor overlooking Piccadilly Gardens but there no problems with noise.

Breakfast was nice, nothing special but certainly nothing wrong either, they were very good at keeping the food replenished.

We would stay here again at the same rate without a doubt.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us; it really is appreciated.

I do hope when you are next planning a visit to Manchester, you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed for a conference in April. Staff very friendly, always said hello in the corridor, which I really liked. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Decor - a little dated, although I wasn't expecting much from a hotel in a chain such as this one. Excellent views out over Piccadilly Gardens. Rather disappointing entrance at street level and a bit of a labyrinth to find things about the hotel.

Food - Breakfasts were very good, apart from the eggs - they were never fresh! Excellent choice, had a small problem on the monday morning when they couldn't find my booking, even though I had made sure I had checked in on a separate package I had booked away from the conference - so thank you.
Dinner in the Brasserie Restaurant on the first evening was terribly disappointing. I'd ordered a gourmet burger, which came 30 minutes after I'd ordered only to have it overcooked and extremely tough, with overcooked chips. It was worse than a Wetherspoons! To top it all off they had charged for service! Thankfully though they gave me back my full bill including drink. Not a good first impression of Manchester.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeBoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us back in April for a conference.

Firstly, I was pleased to hear that you found the team friendly and that you were satisfied with the comfort and cleanliness of your room. I was however extremely disappointed to hear your thoughts on our food offering during your time with us, as too will my Head Chef who will see sight of your comments. He will take your feedback on board and use it in a constructive manner to ensure that our expected high standards are continually being met.

On a future visit to the City, I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and be able to reverse the current impression that you have.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed here years ago when I think it was the ramada. It was looking tired then and it looks much the same now. If you are driving there, the hotel car park is small for the hotels size and is very difficult to find. I arrived about six p.m. and only managed to get a space as someone was leaving.

The room was small but clean although the place could do with a refurb. The walls are quite thin and I could clearly here the conversations of the perple in the next room. Saying that, I slept well..

Breakfast in the morning was a typical buffet affair and was quite enjoyable.

On checking out, I was told that the car had to be moved by midday. I had already paid £15 for the night and when I asked if it was ok to pick it up at one p.m. when my meeting finished I was told it would cost another ten pounds. As I am a disabled driver and chose the hotel for its location to my meeting, I had no choice other than to pay. Back in the Ramada days, they were much more accommodating

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us; I was sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations to the full.

Our central location is indeed extremely popular with our guests, as too is the benefit of having our own onsite car park, directions to which can be found on our website and third party websites we have control over. We do our utmost to give as clear directions as possible, as we do appreciate if you are in an unfamiliar City, with one way systems involved too, how daunting it can be trying to find your destination. We also provide detailed directions on request and together with a recorded message on our switchboard, talks you through landmarks to look out for once you are on Portland Street. Weekdays we do have limited spaces up to a maximum of 80 and these spaces are allocated on a first come first served basis. A charge of £15.00 per overnight stay allows you to park up to 12 noon on the day of departure, which is our requested check out time. Thereafter, if guests wish to stay longer, a day charge does click in of £10.00. As mentioned, we do have limited spaces and therefore guests leaving prior to or at 12 noon, allows our incoming guests the opportunity of also being able to take advantage of this benefit.

Many thanks once again for your feedback and hope one day that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at the Mercure in Piccadilly last Saturday night, on an overnight stay. Our rooms were on the ninth floor with good views over the City, but were a bit tired. The bathroom needed updating and sprucing up and the bed wasn't overly comfortable, as all the support had long since gone.

Otherwise it was reasonably well equipped with a fast hairdryer, tea & coffee, safe, but limited TV channels. Breakfast on the Sunday morning was buffet style and good, although the service for toast and drinks was a little lacklustre. Typical of hotels who employ young people, pay them badly and don't train them properly. Having said that, it's well located and we probably would stay there again when in Manchester, if we wanted a more budget option.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to the City.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing