We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review for Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #64 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Review for Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a standard room, a train from Manchester airport to Piccadilly is £4 (single - one way) and takes about 20mins, once you come out of the train station just follow the road straight down and it's about a 5 min walk.
There was a little delay at check as the two staff (of the three on that appeared to be on duty) were doing something on the PC, so i was left waiting for around 5 minutes to check-in while both finished off doing whatever it was (which i didn’t like), when i got up to the room i rang down to reception for an iron / ironing board to be sent to the room as i wanted to go out, 25 minutes later i rang again wondering what the delay was, and i was told someone had rang in sick (i didn’t care about this, i just wanted to iron my clothes so i could go out)
The room although smaller than i was expecting was very clean and complete with TV, Kettle, tea / coffee, hairdryer and also the two extra pillows that i’d pre-ordered was there (which was good), the bed and pillows were very comfortable. There was a large safe too that was free to use, i did miss the room not having a fridge / mini bar.
The bathroom was clean and complete with complimentary toiletries, however the numerous cracked tiles around the bath made it look dirty (even though it was clean)
There is free WiFi in the rooms, however you can only hook up two devices to it, once i had connected my iphone & ipad my partner wasn’t able to use any of their own devices and was without internet for the weekend and had to use mine, so this was very disappointing...
We didn’t eat in the hotel as breakfast was £18 each, which is way too expensive... so there’s many other eating options within’ walking distance.
The location is perfect and is really the only reason that i would return, i paid £120 a night and i think this was a little expensive for what i got, but i would stay here for my next trip to Manchester because of where it’s located and the comfort of the beds

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanWhiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest

Guest feedback is extremely important to us and is always used in a constructive manner. I therefore thank you for sharing your experience on this occasion. Our location is indeed very popular with our guests and I therefore hope when you are planning a future visit to Manchester, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    1,098
    623
    257
    122
See reviews for
210
1,023
163
759
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for 1 night whilst going to the Robbie Williams concert. On arriving we went to use the kettle in the room, within 30 seconds the flex went on fire causing damage to the phone next to it and table. We had to argue with the hotel to be moved to another room, they initially said they didnt have any spare rooms. We were not requested to complete a Health and Safety report. No refund was offered. We were told we would be contacted by the hotels customer service manager to discuss our stay. This never happened. We reported the hotel to Manchester City Council. 2 months later we have still had no contact from the hotel. Their handling of what could potentially have caused an electric shock to us was absolutel abmissal, no interest at all in our safety.Think carefully about visiting.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest

The content of your review has been duly noted.

I would like to assure all our guests that we take our health and safety responsibilities extremely seriously and we would not be dismiss such an incident or fail to respond to a guest following an investigation, which you were informed would happen, and obviously to allay any concerns that guest may have.

According to our records, I can confirm that my Customer Services Manager did email you on the 24th June 2013 but I will ask her again to resend. If you do not receive this copy, then please feel free to contact Jane on jane.shaw@jupiterhotels.co.uk.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip recently. The staff were very welcoming and helpful (I kept having to ask them for directions to places.) The room I stayed in was comfortable, and there is a lovely view of the city from the restaurant. The hotel is located close to China Town, so, there are many excellent restaurants within walking distance. I ordered room service one night and it arrived promptly and was quite tasty. As is customary with hotels of this sort, they have a main room service menu, and a 24hrs menu which has some hot dishes, which I found most useful.
The only thing I would suggest that they could add, is if they could put some sort of soap / shampoo bottle holder in the bathroom in easy reach of the shower / bath. (And that is nitpicking.)

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors - you will have a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest

Guest feedback is extremely important and I therefore thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. On a future visit to Manchester, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

To be honest I was really surprised at how good Mercure hotel in piccadilly manchester was. I initially booked it for location and price alone but the rooms were well stocked and really comfortable. I enjoyed a truly scrumptious breakfast served in a delightful restaurant overlooking the city by smiling friendly staff.... I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shroppy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that on a future visit to Manchester 'you'll be back'! With this in mind, I hope that it won't be too long before we see you again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
147 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel has a very convenient location,just in the center within walking distance to everywhere in Manchester centre. The room that we have stayed was pretty small but convenient, quiet. The hotel has a quite charming restaurant overlooking the Piccadilly. Very good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnpsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us. I do hope on a future visit to Manchester, that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed in the hotel with my son and his friend while visiting Manchester university. Very helpful and friendly staff who couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was standard buffet with all staff extremely friendly and helpful. Room very comfortable and clean - has everything you need incl hair dryer and a nice comfortable bed -great blackout curtains so I had a good sleep. The rooms are on small side but Remember you are in a city centre and at a competitively priced hotel so your expectations shouldn't be 5 star ( if that is what
you want you will pay a lot more ) - I am very fussy about hotels and was extremely satisfied with my one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bramblecootage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest

Guest feedback is extremely important to us and therefore I thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your kind feedback following your stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Manchester.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I had often seen this hotel perched above Piccadilly gardens, and finally had the chance to stay. The reception on the 2nd floor is reach by car via a ramp. or through a entrance leading to lift.

Rooms are smaller than many newer hotels, with windows quite high up the wall. But they have all the usual facilities. A/c worked very well. TV a little out of date, but worked OK.

Breakfast had a good selection, but there was a queue to get seated at times - could be done more efficiently.

The central location is everything with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolDjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank your for posting your review following your first ever stay with us. I do hope going forward that we will continue to welcome you to our Hotel when you have future accommodation requirements in the City.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing