We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truely "Superior Room"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #67 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Truely "Superior Room"”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My fiancée and I stayed here Thursday evening so that we could get all of our Christmas shopping done over Thursday and Friday and visit the Christmas markets. We managed to book a superior room on a deal with breakfast included. I had stayed at the Mercure in Bristol in October which was excellent and we wanted a similar experience. We were not disappointed. We parked in the hotel car park on arrival on Thursday morning until we left at 4pm on Friday and we only paid £25 for this which is the cheapest parking charge for this period we've found in central Manchester and certainly cheaper than return train tickets. The location of the hotel is absolutely brilliant. We are fortunate enough to know Manchester very well, but as a visitor, you can rest assured that you are right next to the main shopping area, Arndale Centre and a stones throw away from the Printworks. The hotel staff were very friendly and more than happy to check us in early. The room was lovely. We had a very comfortable super kingsize bed with a two seat sofa, coffee table and flatscreen television with on demand movies included of which there was a great choice. The good sized dressing table also housed a Nespresso machine which was a big bonus and we could access the higher speed Wi-Fi at no extra cost. Although the bathroom was small, it was very clean and the bath was very comfortable and the hot water plentiful. We ate in the restaurant on Thursday evening which was excellent. The food was awesome (as I had also experienced in Bristol) and the view rom the restaurant is over Piccadilly gardens which is lovely with all the Christmas lights on at night. Breakfast again was very good and the staff friendly and helpful. We had a great stay and we wont hesitate to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eagertoseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and I thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience of your stay with us with your fellow Tripadviser viewers.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    1,143
    664
    278
    151
See reviews for
220
1,071
171
826
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend. The only thing this hotel has going for it is its location. The rooms are small, cold with draughty windows, noisy both from the streets outside and the adjacent rooms. The beds are too soft and the mattress had a dip in it from over use - could have done with being turned regularly. Even though there were 2 of us we only got enough toiletries for 1 person. The bar is okay but the toilets are not on the same floor, you have to take a lift or the stairs down to the Mezzanine floor to 'spend a penny'. Would not stay here again even though it is well placed for city centre shopping.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CateCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your weekend stay with us. Apart from our location, I was sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations to the full, please accept my apologies.

It is a shame to read that at this moment in time you wouldn't stay with us again but would hope sometime in the future you may have a change of heart and that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham England
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped two nights for business, very nice, clean and the parking was spot on and cheap at £15 per night against the NCP that was £25!!!

The room was nice and clean and the bed really soft and clean.

The food was nice and the breakfast really nice and plenty of choice

I am stopping again in two weeks and would recommend anyone to stay

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank R0d_Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for taking the time and trouble to post your review following your two night stay with us whilst on business; it really is appreciated. I'm delighted to hear that you are due to return again in two weeks and with this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back then.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, staff very pleasant and friendly. In house restaurant served some really good food. Free wifi all be it slow and intermittent but compared to other places this is a bonus. Only thing letting it down is the outdated decor in the rooms and bathroom. Would happily stay again

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. I was pleased to hear that you found the staff pleasant and friendly and enjoyed your experience in the Restaurant too. Great to hear that you would happily stay with us again and with this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed here for just one night 18th - 19th November. The location is perfect, and the onsite car parking was secure and good value for money. Greeted on arrival by friendly & efficient reception staff. My upgraded room was of the highest quality with excellent facilites. I suffer from back problems, but had a very good nights sleep. Breakfast was very enjoyable. I managed to secure a window seat which gave terrific views over Piccadilly Gardens on a beautiful crisp November Day. The bar & Restaurant staff were pleasant and the Customer Sevice Manager - Jane, was extremely professional and helpful. I would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone, whether visiting for business or pleasure. I will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: I was on 14th floor. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest

Guest feedback is extremely important to us and I therefore thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us earlier this month. I was delighted to hear that you had an outstanding stay and your feedback will be shared with the whole team, who I know will be as equally pleased as I was to read your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Overall if you book here it will be fine but I found a few problems. The hotel is in a perfect position and clean. Breakfast was good but I would have liked to be able to help myself to the tea and coffee and not had it brought to the table. We arrived around noon and were told you are not allowed to check in until 2pm and she never even checked to see if there were available rooms. If you use the Premier Inn chain they go out of there way to get you in early. When we went back at 14.30 there was of course a large slow moving queue as everyone must have been told the same. When we did finally get into the room the first thing that greeted us was someone's sock that had been left on the floor and missed by the cleaner. Apart from that the room was fine and clean and when tried a very good shower. The next morning we were woke at 8.20 by the sound of knocking on the door just before the maid came into the room!! If they are that keen why are there not rooms to book in early. If it was on offer I would stay again but for me there are a few hotels I would book before this one when next in Manchester.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us. Although we do specify a check in time from 2:00pm, if guests do arrive prior to this time and their specific room type is available, then we will check them into the hotel, as this will not only please our guests but also alleviate pressure on the reception desk later in the day, thus aiming to avoid queues. I am sorry that when you arrived at 12 Noon, your specific room type was not available.

My apologies for the initial issue you encountered in your room, along with the Room Attendant knocking early on your door the following day. Your feedback has been shared accordingly with my Head Housekeeper.

Although I do appreciate there are lots of hotels to choose from in Manchester, I do hope that on a future trip, you may consider staying with us again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
14.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 118 in Manchester
2,509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#22 of 118 in Manchester
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing