We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noise very noisey rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #60 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Noise very noisey rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Booked for 2 nights for Christmas shopping and the Christmas market , excellent location pleasant staff. This hotel is let down by its construction, single glazing so dispite being on the 11th floor couldn't see much of the views due to condensation, walls are so thin you can hear everything next door, and when its partygoers at 12.30 till 2.30 in the morning its no joke!!! We would wait 5 minutes unil a lift with enough room came to our floor as 1 lift was out of order. Very disappointed with the standard of accommodation. So no I wont be going back

Room Tip: Iff you want a good nights sleep find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear that your stay with us was marred as a result of noise transfer. We are aware that noise transfer can be an issue in some of our bedrooms and we are actively looking to resolve this issue. Although I can see that at this moment in time you feel that you wouldn't return, I do hope sometime in the future you may have a change of heart and that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    1,085
    608
    241
    116
See reviews for
206
1,009
158
740
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballerup, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

The room was small but clean. The view over Chinatown from the Ron was ok. The breakfast was good, and the view from the breakfast room was great. The staff was ok. The main reason for choosing this hotel, is the location, which is excellent.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mikkel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us; it is appreciated. Indeed our central location is extremely popular with our guests. I do hope on a future visit to the City, that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Once you get into the hotel it is clean, friendly and busy. However, it has a weird shape and the reception area is on a higher floor so you have to enter by passing through some of Manchester's less than desirables, which can be disconcerting when they are after cash/booze cigarettes.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. As a prime city centre located hotel based by Piccadilly Bus Station and the Metrolink, we do experience a large foot-fall walking passed the hotel. Please be assured if at any time we do come across undesirables outside our building, then this matter will be addressed accordingly. I am sorry if this matter caused you some concern at the time but do hope that sometime in the future, we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We are a group of ladies who walk on Wednesday and have a treat from time to time. We stayed here for one night 11/12/13 and would recommend it for it's location and friendly staff. When we arrived we left our bags with a brilliant gentleman who continued to be helpful until we picked our bags up to leave Manchester. Breakfast was good and as we were on the 11th floor we didn't hear any noise.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DLR1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for posting your review following your recent stay with friends. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our location, friendliness of the team and breakfast to be spot on. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you all back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

This is not a hotel to use if you want a good nights sleep - as that is the main point of a hotel I suggest you avoid it!

Continual noise from trams and busses late into the night and then again early morning.


The walls between the rooms are paper thin, so could hear TVs, snorers, alarms clocks, etc, including from the room bellow.

The room was tinny for the price and the whole hotel is very dated.

In summary I would not choose to return to this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BarneyB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise during your time with us, so much so that you would not choose to stay with us again.

As a centrally located Hotel, being next to Piccadilly Bus Station and the Metrolink, this can be of disturbance to some guests who may not be used to such a busy environment. We are however always more than happy to allocate bedrooms at the back of the hotel away from this aware, if guests do feel that this may be an issue. In addition, we are also actively looking to resolve the issue of noise transfer in areas of the hotel where we believe there may be a problem and although it is not going to be a quick fix, I do hope sometime in the future, we may have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more positive experience.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Sark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Knowing nothing about Manchester booked this hotel for three nights for location and price and were not disappointed. Excellent central location with tram and bus services outside the door, Room although not huge was well equipped and spotlessly clean and very comfortable. All the staff were exceptionally friendly whilst also being very professional and very helpful with directions and where to go. Early morning calls/taxi bookings efficiently handled. We had dinner on two nights and both meals were excellent and well priced. We have not stayed in a Mecure hotel before but, on this experience, would have no hesitation in doing so again or recommending to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarkese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience of your recent three night stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you found the team members friendly and helpful and that they looked after you during your visit. Your kind words will be shared with the team. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and as a result of your experience, would have no hesitation staying with us again. With this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Booked in for one night with a friend for a short shopping break. Brilliant location 10 mins walk from Piccadilly station and overlooking Piccadilly gardens. Excellent checkin by Paul who was very helpful and offered us a choice of rooms. Room was good with a view of Piccadilly gardens. Very good bathroom too. Lovely bar and restaurant looking over the city. Excellent buffet breakfast. The bar staff and restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly too. Near to all shops, restaurants etc. would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Piccadilly gardens - we had 718
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarelSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post your review following your one night stay with a friend. I was delighted to hear that you had a great stay and to read also that you would stay with us again in a heartbeat, was indeed pleasing to see. We therefore look forward to looking after you again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#23 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Lastminute and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing