We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving all the time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #72 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Dressing gown and slippers..improving all the time. Rooms are always spotless. Breakfast is always very good quality. Staff are always polite and friendly, makes a change from grumpy fed up staff I meet elsewhere..!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ajay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post your review, it was extremely pleasing to read your comments. We look forward to having the pleasure of looking after you again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,055 - 2,061 of 3,096 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Booked for 2 nights for Christmas shopping and the Christmas market , excellent location pleasant staff. This hotel is let down by its construction, single glazing so dispite being on the 11th floor couldn't see much of the views due to condensation, walls are so thin you can hear everything next door, and when its partygoers at 12.30 till 2.30 in the morning its no joke!!! We would wait 5 minutes unil a lift with enough room came to our floor as 1 lift was out of order. Very disappointed with the standard of accommodation. So no I wont be going back

Room Tip: Iff you want a good nights sleep find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear that your stay with us was marred as a result of noise transfer. We are aware that noise transfer can be an issue in some of our bedrooms and we are actively looking to resolve this issue. Although I can see that at this moment in time you feel that you wouldn't return, I do hope sometime in the future you may have a change of heart and that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

The room was small but clean. The view over Chinatown from the Ron was ok. The breakfast was good, and the view from the breakfast room was great. The staff was ok. The main reason for choosing this hotel, is the location, which is excellent.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mikkel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us; it is appreciated. Indeed our central location is extremely popular with our guests. I do hope on a future visit to the City, that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Once you get into the hotel it is clean, friendly and busy. However, it has a weird shape and the reception area is on a higher floor so you have to enter by passing through some of Manchester's less than desirables, which can be disconcerting when they are after cash/booze cigarettes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. As a prime city centre located hotel based by Piccadilly Bus Station and the Metrolink, we do experience a large foot-fall walking passed the hotel. Please be assured if at any time we do come across undesirables outside our building, then this matter will be addressed accordingly. I am sorry if this matter caused you some concern at the time but do hope that sometime in the future, we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We are a group of ladies who walk on Wednesday and have a treat from time to time. We stayed here for one night 11/12/13 and would recommend it for it's location and friendly staff. When we arrived we left our bags with a brilliant gentleman who continued to be helpful until we picked our bags up to leave Manchester. Breakfast was good and as we were on the 11th floor we didn't hear any noise.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank DLR1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for posting your review following your recent stay with friends. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our location, friendliness of the team and breakfast to be spot on. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you all back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

This is not a hotel to use if you want a good nights sleep - as that is the main point of a hotel I suggest you avoid it!

Continual noise from trams and busses late into the night and then again early morning.


The walls between the rooms are paper thin, so could hear TVs, snorers, alarms clocks, etc, including from the room bellow.

The room was tinny for the price and the whole hotel is very dated.

In summary I would not choose to return to this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank BarneyB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise during your time with us, so much so that you would not choose to stay with us again.

As a centrally located Hotel, being next to Piccadilly Bus Station and the Metrolink, this can be of disturbance to some guests who may not be used to such a busy environment. We are however always more than happy to allocate bedrooms at the back of the hotel away from this aware, if guests do feel that this may be an issue. In addition, we are also actively looking to resolve the issue of noise transfer in areas of the hotel where we believe there may be a problem and although it is not going to be a quick fix, I do hope sometime in the future, we may have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more positive experience.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Knowing nothing about Manchester booked this hotel for three nights for location and price and were not disappointed. Excellent central location with tram and bus services outside the door, Room although not huge was well equipped and spotlessly clean and very comfortable. All the staff were exceptionally friendly whilst also being very professional and very helpful with directions and where to go. Early morning calls/taxi bookings efficiently handled. We had dinner on two nights and both meals were excellent and well priced. We have not stayed in a Mecure hotel before but, on this experience, would have no hesitation in doing so again or recommending to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarkese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience of your recent three night stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you found the team members friendly and helpful and that they looked after you during your visit. Your kind words will be shared with the team. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and as a result of your experience, would have no hesitation staying with us again. With this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £63 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing