We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Picadilly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #73 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Hotel rooms/bathroom a bit dated. Cobwebs in room across ceiling.
Very basic breakfast. Breakfast room floors not cleaned after staff dropped plates with food on so had to step over food debris.
Lifts poor- had to use the stairs several times.
Overall- poor value. Would choose alternative Manchester hotel in future.


  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Guest

Guest feedback is extremely important to us, so I do thank you for sharing your experience. I was, however, only too sorry that to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Although I can see that you may choose an alternative hotel when you next have cause to visit Manchester, I do hope sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a more positive experience.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,046 - 2,052 of 3,090 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank treacleonbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Booked this hotel in September for a gig and got a fantastic. Check in was quick and easy, no issues whatsoever. Stayed on the 8th floor.

Room was spotless clean. Everything worked perfectly. Location spot on. Walking distance to pubs shops and Christmas markets. Breakfast in the morning was very tasty and the staff were fantastic and most welcoming.

I've stayed in a lot of hotels and apartments in Manchester and I have to say that this was the best one so far. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to hear we 'ticked all the boxes' when you stayed with us and that on a future visit to Manchester, you will definitely be back. With this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Dressing gown and slippers..improving all the time. Rooms are always spotless. Breakfast is always very good quality. Staff are always polite and friendly, makes a change from grumpy fed up staff I meet elsewhere..!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ajay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post your review, it was extremely pleasing to read your comments. We look forward to having the pleasure of looking after you again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Booked for 2 nights for Christmas shopping and the Christmas market , excellent location pleasant staff. This hotel is let down by its construction, single glazing so dispite being on the 11th floor couldn't see much of the views due to condensation, walls are so thin you can hear everything next door, and when its partygoers at 12.30 till 2.30 in the morning its no joke!!! We would wait 5 minutes unil a lift with enough room came to our floor as 1 lift was out of order. Very disappointed with the standard of accommodation. So no I wont be going back

Room Tip: Iff you want a good nights sleep find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear that your stay with us was marred as a result of noise transfer. We are aware that noise transfer can be an issue in some of our bedrooms and we are actively looking to resolve this issue. Although I can see that at this moment in time you feel that you wouldn't return, I do hope sometime in the future you may have a change of heart and that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

The room was small but clean. The view over Chinatown from the Ron was ok. The breakfast was good, and the view from the breakfast room was great. The staff was ok. The main reason for choosing this hotel, is the location, which is excellent.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mikkel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us; it is appreciated. Indeed our central location is extremely popular with our guests. I do hope on a future visit to the City, that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Once you get into the hotel it is clean, friendly and busy. However, it has a weird shape and the reception area is on a higher floor so you have to enter by passing through some of Manchester's less than desirables, which can be disconcerting when they are after cash/booze cigarettes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. As a prime city centre located hotel based by Piccadilly Bus Station and the Metrolink, we do experience a large foot-fall walking passed the hotel. Please be assured if at any time we do come across undesirables outside our building, then this matter will be addressed accordingly. I am sorry if this matter caused you some concern at the time but do hope that sometime in the future, we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £63 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing