We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bargain break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #64 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bargain break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed here for one night in December '13 as we were going to a gig in Manchester, The room was clean and perfectly comfortable and adequate to suit our needs. There was an iron and board and a decent hair dryer and kettle with tea/coffee facilities and the hotel was central so close to the shops and Christmas Market. There was enough room for two people to move about without any injuries so I'm not too sure why previous reviewers have put so much focus on room size. The Reception staff were friendly and courteous,The lift worked just fine. Absolutely no complaints and we'll return for another stay. The beds were enormous and very comfortable, too,

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor, Room 1029. We didn't spend too much time looking out the window to en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneSarah37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us and I was delighted to read that you will come and stay with us again. We therefore look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    1,099
    626
    257
    122
See reviews for
210
1,025
163
761
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kendal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

we only stayed one night but wish it could have been longer, we were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel , it was only a 10 minute walk from piccadilly station , the rooms may appear small but there was lots of room for luggage and shopping , the room was spotlessly clean and very quiet for a city centre hotel, the best was the bed i have never slept so well the duvets and pillows are so cosy and comfy its a good job check out is a relaxing 12 noon ! we did not have breakfast at the hotel , but there are mini supermarkets just round the corner and lots of places to get coffee
we found it easy to walk to all the shopping areas and the christmas markets but there are plenty of taxis and buses right out side the hotel. the staff were friendly and we were able to leave our bags at the hotel whilst we went shopping then pick them up en route to the station. i would definitly return to this hotel .

Room Tip: we were on the 9th floor and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest

Guest feedback is extremely important to us and therefore I thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and trust that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in Dec for our anniversary and we had a great time. I paid a bit more for a deluxe double and it was well worth the money. No issues of lack of space I have seen in previous reviews. We had a sofa at the end of the bed facing a TV and a big dressing table next to it. The bathroom even though it was decorated in white was completely spotless! And the shower was the most powerful shower I have ever had which was great! We tried the room service our first night and was not disappointed. Breakfast was nice as well with an amazing view of Piccadilly Gardens. They even left us an anniversary card in the room with some little chocolates on our arrival. Ideal for a shopping weekend, buy some stuff then rather than carry around all day nip back to the hotel and drop it off and back out again. They even let us leave all our luggage including shopping bags in the concierge after we checked out, so we could spend our last day shopping as well before we came home! Only negatives were the ceiling height in the bathroom was really low and the bath tub was tiny (if you was bordering on obese I doubt you would be able to get in the bath!) I am 6ft but my head was only 2 inches off the ceiling which meant if you were really tall you would struggle, even I had to crouch down to get my head under the power shower. And there was no extractor fan in the room which meant when we left the door open it steamed all the windows up in the main room which stayed like that for ages as the windows didn't open. These minor flaw weren't enough to spoil our stay and we are likely to visit again in the future. Thanks Mercure x

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AWESOM-O_4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your two night stay with us. I was delighted to hear that we were able to play a part in your anniversary celebration and that you had a great time. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Good location that's all. Room very small strong smell of damp through out. Kettle plug hanging off. Thin walls could hear voices from both joining rooms. Overall very poor wished I'd have not booked to stay here at all. 4 star ??. No way!!.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. It goes without saying that I was extremely disappointed to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion; please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered. Although I am aware this does not overcome your disappointment and feelings about us at this moment in time, I would hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more positive experience, such as those posted by other guests who have stayed with us.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The hotel is right by Picadilly gardens, nice staff, good breakfast with a lovely view, and really REALLY good beds. But the rooms are extremely small and there nearly isnt room enough for two big suitcases in the double room. And the rooms could do with some sound proofing as we could hear every word in the room next door.
And the windows wich are double layered were steamed up in beteween, so even though we were on the 12th floor we couldnt enjoy the view...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karinawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest

Guest feedback is very important to us and I therefore thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us. I do hope when you have next have cause to visit Manchester, that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing