We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambiance and class all the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #64 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ambiance and class all the way”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for a belated anniversary and pre valentines day. Booked a suite to spoil ourselves, it was amazing. Situated on the 14th floor, furnished modern, spectacular views. coffee machine, bath robes and slippers, Lounge, free wifi, two tvs full tea service. Parking available at £15 a day. Highly recommend for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiecheftonyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your review following your belated anniversary and pre valentines day stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to play a part in your celebration. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    1,111
    637
    264
    138
See reviews for
214
1,040
165
786
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed for one night over the weekend the reception staff were great and had no problems with them. My friend dropped a glass in the bathroom, a maid was sent up within minutes to clean it up which was great. The breakfast was good and we was able to bring it up to our rooms.. The hotel is in a great location. The only problem I had was the thin walls, being woken up at 6am by Art Attack was not on my Sunday agenda. Would I stay at this hotel again? Yes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for posting your review following your stay with us; your feedback is most welcome. I was delighted to hear that you would stay with us again and with this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

From the moment we checked in the staff were nothing but lovely and friendly asking did we sleep well, did we go shopping etc. The double room was a good size and lives up to the pictures on the internet, comfy bed although be careful when first sitting on the bed it moves as on wheels but didn't cause any problems. Tea and coffee available however more coffee and more milk needs to be left 4 little milk for 2 people leaving one cup each in 24hrs. Bathroom very spacious and clean good supply of towels. Wardrobe spacious and had plenty of hangers for your clothes. There is a very small safe in the room don't know what you could fit in there its that small. But no information in the room in how to use the: safe, heating system, tv etc. These are just little pointers that could improve your stay but do not hinder your stay at all. We found the hotel and room to be very cold, there is a very small blow heater on the ceiling that wouldn't warm any sized room. Contacted reception and a lovely man came and rebooted the heating and said to contact them if it had not warmed up in 15 minutes it had been on for a few hours. Re-contacted reception as the room was still cold and was then supplied with a very small blow heater we left it on for a number of hours to heat the room. The rooms need to be sound proofed as we could hear next door phone conversation and partying at 4am. We ate in the hotel's restaurant and all we can say is it was truly beautiful even though we had to listen to a loud hen party. Staff were fantastic, attentive, friendly people, the food was beautiful we had the curry and the value for money was great. All in all we did have a good stay and would still recommend staying here the staff friendliness, cleanliness of the hotel, comfy bed and location was great a 5 minute walk to the arndale centre and a 2 minute walk to china town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post your most constructive review following your recent stay with us; it really is appreciated. I was pleased to hear that all in all you had a good stay and that you would recommend us to others. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back too again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I booked 2 bedrooms for a business stay costing around £100 a night. I booked this hotel as I wanted to look at the conference and meeting facilities.

On arrival, the bedrooms had gone down under my first name, a member of staff simply told me that we had no reservations. It wasn't until I asked again that it was checked and found.

Breakfast didn't start until 7am, we had to leave at 6.45am and so did not sample this.

The rooms were tiny, for £100 I expect a lot more than that in Manchester. The bathroom was dated and a little grotty. My TV was not working on arrival and I had to go down and call maintenance. The poor person at reception had to radio every department before someone responded.

The AC/Heating was not easy to work, my colleague had the same problem. We were both very uncomfortable during the evening. But the worst was at about 4am when I could hear someone in an upstairs or adjacent room (sounded like they were in my bathroom) talking very loudly (read shouting), drinking prosecco (room service brought them champagne in error at first, that's how much I could hear!), and generally just keeping me awake for a few hours.

I've stayed in a lot of Accor hotels, this really was a bad stay.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

Guest feedback is very important to us and I therefore thank you for sharing your experience. I am only too sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion; please accept my apologies.

Your feedback has been duly noted but hope sometime in the future that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your confidence in us.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Mercure in Manchester was reallly fantastic. Me and 5 friends stayed over for a 21st weekend. The staff are so friendly, the rooms are very clean, and good size. The shop, clubs, pubs and restaurants are really close to the hotel. have stayed at this hotel 3or4 times and im sure this isn't goin to be the last. it was fab and I love it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLHud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

I was delighted to hear that you had an amazing time when you stayed with us recently with your group of friends. Your feedback is really appreciated and hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have stayed here a couple of times now, generally the staff are nice and helpful, and the rooms are quite good. Bathrooms are large and showers are very nice. We have stayed here a couple of times when travelling to Manchester as it is right on Piccadilly gardens and a short walk to Chinatown also!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_McLoughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience of our Hotel following your recent stays with us. Our central location is indeed extremely popular with our guests and I am glad that our location works well for you.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next visiting Manchester.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Arrived quite late. Receptionist really welcoming and efficient, thank you.Given a high room so traffic noise minimal
Room fine if a tad outdated. Bathroom good with loads of hot water. Maid service brill too.
Walls paper thin. Kept awake all night by energetic and vocal couple in next room. Staff aware of this next morning so guess its a regular occurrence (shame I wasn't warned beforehand).
Being a single female traveller, I prefer not to have to eat in the restaurant and expect hotels of this standard to provide a good variety of food in their room service (most do these days). Sadly this isn't the case unless you want chips, bread, pizza or pasta. If you're watching your weight you have to go to the restaurant to enjoy the salads on offer. Rather than do this, I bought M&S salads from around the corner each evening meaning a loss of revenue for hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieJessup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your constructive review following your stay with us; your feedback has been duly noted. On a future visit to the City, I do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back and allow us to provide you with an overall positive experience.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#22 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing