We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #70 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Ideally situated in middle of Manchester,surrounded by numerous bars and restaurants. Trams run from just around the corner.

Check in was quite slow with just 1 person on Reception.

Room was clean. Bed was comfortable.

Would suggest you ask for a room on a high floor as imagine lower floors would be noisy,

Car park is a total rip off at £15 and breakfast is £13.95 if you pay on the day

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liamshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I was pleased hear that our central location in the City suited your needs and indeed we do get many positive comments on this subject. As City Centre hotel too, having our own onsite car park which is secure and as you know only steps away from our front door, is also of great benefit to our guests. We are transparent with our car parking charge; a charge that has always been in operation at the Hotel. We do compare our price regularly with other car parks in our immediate vicinity and as some of these currently charge between £22-£24 per overnight stay, we believe our £15.00 charge compares very favourably.

Many thanks once again and I do hope that on a future visit to the City, we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,999)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,893 - 1,899 of 2,999 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Central hotel with parking. Rooms are decorated well but some of the furniture is a little dated (616). Bathrooms need renovating, but ok for price (£55 per night). Breakfast is extra but is more than reasonable and have a cooked to order menu as well as a buffet.

Staff couldn't be any more helpful and knew what they were doing. Good choice for mid week stay when trying to keep the expenses low. Can't fault the hotel in terms of value for money. I imagine some money has been spent recently renovating the rooms but more is needed on the bathrooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottJ1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for posting your review following your stay with us; it is appreciated that you have taken the time to do so. I was pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us. Whilst writing, I am pleased to confirm that we are commencing with a rolling programme of bathroom refurbishment works.

Thank you once again and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Linnie50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I Dont usually review hotels I stay in for business as they are all much if a muchness. However, I was so impressed with this room I felt I should shout about it a bit! I had a privilege double which has a seating area, slippers, bathrobes etc. An entire wall of windows looking out over the city was lovely. A very spacious room, I've seen smaller studio apartments! Very clean, comfy bed, excellent room service. If i had to find a small criticism it would only be that the tv is quite small and the room so big that you can't really watch TV in bed.... But that's what the sofa is for! The advance purchase rate was a bargain for this room, I will make this my regular base when in Manchester.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank seasidegirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to hear that you were impressed with our privilege room - like many other guests, they are impressed with the views of the city from our windows. The team and I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when you next have cause to visit Manchester.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 February 2014

It's a very convenient 3-4stars hotel located about 7-10minutes away from the Manchester Piccadilly Station. The hotel did appear to be old but ell maintained. It's a Saturday when my girlfriend and I went so the price are slightly on the high side. However, compare with the other hotels nearby and if you don't mind not staying in a luxury hotel, this is a good hotel that worth every money you spend. Wills still consider coming back to. The same hotel for my next visit.

Hotel staffs are not unfriendly but don't find them friendly either. So I am pretty reserve on my view on their customer service aspect of it. Anyway, one thing worth mentioning is that they do allow me to check-in earlier at about 11:45am even though the check in time is at 2pm. But once again, the staff was first reluctant for me to do that and gave us a not so happy face when I requested for it. I suppose is pretty common for guest to ask for that and most good hotel will happily accommodate whenever they can.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank alfchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us.

Indeed many of our guests do find the convenience of our central location of great benefit. The Hotel will be celebrating soon its 50th year and although the look of the building outside may give the impression of being old, inside the hotel has certainly seen some modern changes over the years.

I was pleased to hear that we were able to check you into the hotel earlier in the day and indeed, if a guest's particular room type is available, we will always accommodate guests sooner if we can. I was sorry to hear that the team didn't come across in a more friendly manner at the time; I will certainly share your feedback with them.

Many thanks once again for your review and do hope that you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to the City.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for a belated anniversary and pre valentines day. Booked a suite to spoil ourselves, it was amazing. Situated on the 14th floor, furnished modern, spectacular views. coffee machine, bath robes and slippers, Lounge, free wifi, two tvs full tea service. Parking available at £15 a day. Highly recommend for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiecheftonyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your review following your belated anniversary and pre valentines day stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to play a part in your celebration. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,551 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#22 of 120 in Manchester
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £68 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing