We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value and convienience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #60 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Value and convienience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel is well situated by Picadilly Gardens and near Manchester Picadilly train station too. It is an old style place which has been modernised over the years. The rooms arent that big and the TV is quite small.n Having said that the bed was very comfortable and it had a bath...though be careful with the soap dish which had a sharp edge and is difficult to avoid getting out of the bath.

I was on the top floor and had a good view too. The trams seem to hoot their horns from about 6.30am, to 11.30pm so you will hear them in the distance. So if you are a light sleeper that may bother you. The staff seemed local and very friendly and helpful. Breakfast decent.

All in all it is well worth 3 stars but not worth 4. I was very happy with my stay even if I have pointed out some of the hotel shortcomings it represented value and convienece.

Room Tip: Higher up better as some rooms may be noisy for some
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebird-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for posting your review. Guest feedback is very important to us and I appreciate you taking the time to do so. I do hope on a future visit to the City, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    1,085
    609
    241
    116
See reviews for
207
1,009
158
740
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with the girlfriend as I had lots of red letter vouchers to use from work. So I kind of stayed here for free. I would have been happy to pay to stay here though as we were completely happy with everything. The parking is so convienient as we did struggle to find any parking nearby that was decent. Service and staff was great, polite and friendly as well as being professional. Rooms were good, strange window setup. Felt very thin glass and could hear other rooms through the vents near the window.

We had a good sleep, the beds were on the hard side but I like that personally. The bar was fantastic too, ideal for having a quick one before heading out to town. The location is perfect! Couldn't be closer to the centre of Manchester. Breakfast buffet was of good quality too. Got very busy very fast. Get there first!! Overall a great stay and will definitely use it paying or non paying.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lew216830095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest

Guest feedback is extremely important to us and therefore I thank you for posting your most constructive review following your stay with us. I was pleased to hear that overall you had a great stay and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked last minute, on arrival reception staff very polite and professional and once they were aware that it was a birthday celebration they gave us free complimetary breakfast and 2 free drinks in the bar ( thank you Christopher).
We were on the 5th floor and found the room to be clean and surprisingly quiet! We had a great time and would not hesitate to revisit this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blozwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for posting your review following your stay with us to celebrate a birthday. The team and I were pleased to be able to play a part in your celebration and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

hotel very central for everything, reception staff excellent, cleanliness very good, but very dated throughout in décor very 70's ,twin room (beds together) was over small ,
the next room guests came back around 4am and though not speaking loudly could hear plainly through the wall,so not a good nights sleep, bathroom needed attention to flooring and grouting and at £130 for a sat night this was not good value ,better elsewhere for this price

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 325deggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to hear that you found our location, friendliness of the team and cleanliness standards to your liking, I'm just sorry to hear that we didn't fully meet your expectations. Although I do appreciate that there are many hotels to choose from in Manchester, I do hope sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your confidence in us.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

nice busy hotel in a very convenient location, clean, comfortable rooms and a good real breakfast. room prices are good. ideal for guests on buisness trips. will surely stay again. will be better with an improved selection of television channels.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afsMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for posting your review following your stay with us. Indeed our central location is extremely popular with our guests for getting out and about to explore all that Manchester has to offer. I'm pleased to hear that you would stay with us again and with this in mind, look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My single word choice would be Good, not Very Good, but not Average. The Mercure is well-placed for central shopping, a short walk from the station and a lively part of the city. As mentioned in other reviews, life here is not quiet on Friday and at the weekend, even with the windows shut but you can request a room not facing Piccadilly Gardens.
Rooms are functional. The bathroom is small. Amenities average with a very irritating menu system on the tv that takes endless options to get to watch BBC1.
The strength of my three visits there (for work) was the friendliness of the staff who were happy to provide proper milk for my room for tea, provided a friendly check-in and suggested a quieter room for my return visits.
Another positive is that breakfast has a good variety with a good view if you can get a table near the window.
This is a city hotel so don't expect charm but it was comfortable, convenient and safe.

Room Tip: For a quieter room ask for a high one and not facing the Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve154921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your posting your review following your business stays with us. We are indeed fortunate to be located in walking distance of all that Manchester has to offer. Thank you for highlighting too the strengths of your three visits, that being the friendliness of the team and your breakfast experiences. I do hope on a future trip to Manchester, that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed here for Valentine's day because of its great location - center of China Town, Canal Street, Picadilly and Northern Quarter. Moreover, it's around 5-10 minutes walk from Picadilly train station.

Staff are very friendly, greeted with smiles and respect. Will definitely come back! The room was clean and spacious for the 2 of us. The bathroom was big too, was not expecting a bath so surprised to find they had one! The room had windows and essentials of: towels, toiletries, kettle/tea/coffee, iron board and hair dryer at no extra cost.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayyy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest

I was delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us on Valentine's Day and I thank you for taking the time to share your experience, which was indeed pleasing to read. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#23 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing