We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ask for a better room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #64 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“ask for a better room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I arrived there when the refurbishment was still underway. That is: half of the hotel was in the 60s and the other half not. Of course they try to book you in first where it is bad. So thank you indeed, unknown foreign employee with a bad English, who helped me to get a proper room there :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snufkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I was sorry to hear that you were not wowed with the first bedroom allocated to you. I was however pleased to hear after voicing your disappointment that the team reacted and allocated you an alternative room to your satisfaction.

On a future visit to Manchester, I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    1,099
    623
    257
    122
See reviews for
210
1,024
163
759
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

From a business travel point of view, a bit of a disappointment but common to a number of UK standard hotels, totally inadequate free internet. You do of course have the option of purchasing additional coverage but why, surely in this day and age, a decent free coverage should be standard.

Notwithstanding, while the Service from reception to breakfast staff was friendly and efficient, rooms, while not spectacular, adequate and comfortable. A bit if a stale smell in the bathrooms (something I found in the Tel Aviv branch as well)

A bit pricey if you purchase direct but you can get a more reasonable price if you search online

Not a bad experience but other than the friendly and helpful trainee and others at reception, not memorable and although I would stay there again, I may well look elsewhere on my next trip, for variety sake.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulmant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us, the content of which has been duly noted.

We are pleased to be able to offer our guests free standard WIFI in all areas within the hotel, as well as guest bedrooms. We are transparent with our charge if guests wish to upgrade to a higher speed.

I was pleased to hear that you found the team from reception through to breakfast very friendly and efficient.

Although I do appreciate that there are many hotels now to choose from in Manchester, I do hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with an overall positive experience.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very good location and clean modern rooms.
We stayed for one Saturday night and it was busy in manchester but still competitive price.
Nice breakfast.
Helpful staff.
Would go again and recommend
Parking is expensive, but that is the same anywhere.

Room Tip: Over looking Piccadilly gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us; it really is appreciated.

Thank you too for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again too very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel is situated right next to Piccadilly Gardens where the local bus services can be found and the tram. The hotel is only a short walk from Manchester Piccadilly Train Station.

To get to all the floors you have to use the lift. Stairs are available but since I was on the 9th floor I didn't fancy the walk that much.

Check in was quick and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The room itself was small and was made even smaller by a rather big bed. The bathroom was tired and dated and could do with a revamp. The room had a safe which was handy. the ironing board was a tiny thing attached to the trouser press so it took some doing to iron a shirt. The walls in the room are paper thin. They were that thin I could hear an entire phone conversation in the room next door. If you have a room that overlooks Piccadilly the tram horns are annoying as the windows are not double glazed.

We tried to eat in the restaurant on the first night but were told there would be a wait of at least an hour and that the tables on the raised section weren't available as they didn't have the staff. So we went into the bar which is next to the restaurant ordered our food and was brought to us from the same kitchen as the main restaurant by the same staff that would serve us in the main restaurant so not entirely sure why they didn't have the staff to open the top section of tables.

There is a good selection of meals on the menu and they were very tasty and the food turned up quickly.

Overall the hotel is nice and comfortable and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank class66man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us. Guest feedback is indeed extremely important to us and I thank you for sharing your experience on this occasion. I was pleased to hear that overall you found the hotel comfortable and you would recommend to others. I do however hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again too.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here on Friday night in room 1026.

To clarify, I have no problems with the staff, the chap on reception was very welcoming when I told him it was my first stay there, offered me a choice of rooms which I thought was a nice touch.

He advised me that a higher floor may be quieter and I agreed saying it would have nice views as well, so he even picked me one overlooking Piccadilly Gardens.

The room was ok, nothing that stood out, however, as an I.T Engineer I do have to say that the TV system badly needs updating, there are hardly any free channels and news is via a text system?! The menus aren't very friendly either.

The lighting near the door is so dark that you can't see into the shelving that holds the safety deposit box and where you store your clothes, I had to check by feel that I hadn't left anything when departing.

The windows in this building are in a shocking state, when I walked in to the room I couldn't see out because of the condensation, I had to open the secondary glazing then use toilet roll to wipe the windows to be able to see out, there was also a strong very musty smell, which was to be because of this and the paint is coming off the plaster because of this. This is no doubt due to the concrete / alloy construction that was often used during 1960's / 70's construction and the secondary glazing doesn't really block out much sound as I found out when I was woken by the traffic at 6am.

Wen't down to the bar on 3, again, very nice chat behind the bar and later on another chap walking around asking people if they were ok.

Bed was very comfortable but a little high if you're under 6 foot tall and we could have done with more electrical sockets.

The walls are very thin as we found out by being kept awake until after 2am in the room next door and they weren't even shouting.

Again, none of this is the fault of the staff and before people start saying what do you expect for the price, well I do expect a good nights sleep and adequate lighting to be able to see properly in certain areas of the room.

Another thing that I found very strange is the fact that you can just walk in off the street and get in the lift to just about any floor, I would have thought that you would need your room card to send the lift any higher than the reception on level 2??

As a senior contributor on here you will see that I don't write negative reviews, so I'm not someone who moans for the sake of it, I hope my comments will be taken as constructive criticism that can be used for improvement.

Room Tip: One that doesn't face Piccadilly Gardens if you don't want to be waken by traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constuctive review. Guest feedback is indeed extremely important to us and I do thank you for sharing your experience. I am only too sorry that we did not meet your expectations to the full on this occasion; please accept my apologies. You have my assurance that your feedback has been taken on board and respective members of the team will have visibility of your comments. Although I do appreciate your disappointment on this occasion, I do hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with an overall positive experience.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I've completed my stay here yet, but very impressed so far.
A nod to Andrew, the very polite and helpful chap at the reception desk. I asked for a quiet room (yes, it is city centre Manchester!) but he managed this and I had a very peaceful sleep allowing me to catch-up from a couple of days of travelling.
Only negative: the free wireless is very slow. You can pay for higher speeds, but where ever I am in the world, when paying the sort of prices for this type of hotel, a better free wifi speed would be expected.
Overall, will definitely be back here on my next trip to Manchester.

Room Tip: higher is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAEC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Guet

Thank you for posting your review. I was delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and Andrew was helpful and accommodating in ensuring that a quiet room was allocated to you in order that you could catch up with your sleep from your days of travelling. I will be pleased to share your feedback with him. We are governed centrally on our WIFI offering, however, as guest feedback is important to us, feedback of this kind is always forwarded to them. We look forward to having the opportunity to look after you once again as and when your travels bring you back to Manchester.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing