We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel does not deserve 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #72 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I booked this hotel via travel agency and they declared that this is a 4 star hotel and good. I searched via Tripadvisor and read positive and negative views and decided to stay. That was a big mistake. I arrived the hotel late afternoon and went to my room. I realized that if you are a bit bigger than the average human size, it will not be possible to sit on the toilet since the width of the corridor was equal to the width of the closet, there was no minibar than you can have water, no place to open and locate you suitcase, the room is also tiny and dirty. I went to outside to have a dinner and the real tragedy started. When I came back, the room was full of smell of burnt vegetable oil. No possibility to open a window and I was so tired, tried to sleep...... It was not possible. The other morning I informed the front desk on the phone before going out the person said "OK, we will give you a good room!". Meanwhile the cleaners told me that this room is famous with its smell. We I came back from my meeting at noon time to change my room, the front desk man told me that "who promised you about changing the room?" That was a surprise. He tried to find explanations that the smell is temporary. I insisted for change, he said OK will will give you a good, nice room, I think this is their slogan. I left my suitcase to the other room and rushed to my meeting. As a result no difference between the rooms in terms of low quality except the smell.

In this hotel, for my opinion, there is no clue about refurbishment, no cleanliness (the pill from previous client was staying at the same place when I left the room after 4 days), nothing related to 4 stars. No minibar, smell of damp in the bathroom, smell of vegetable oil in the room. This is a city center hotel but there are many around the city center.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nesrin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. It disappoints me greatly to hear that you did not have an pleasant and enjoyable stay with us, please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered. The team will be given visiibility of your feedback. Although I do appreciate that there are now many hotels in Manchester to choose from, I would hope that sometime in the future, we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with an overall positive experience.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,850 - 1,856 of 3,024 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I would like to think of myself as a 'glass half full' type of person, which is why I have been generous with my marking. A 3.5 would have been closer to the mark.

I stayed on the 12th floor and the room was basic, but reasonably well appointed. The beauty of a 'high' room are the views over Manchester and the elevation from the main city square, which is busy well into the night.

All of the staff I encountered were courteous and understatedly attentive.

All I would say is that there are some areas of the hotel that need freshening up, such as the mezzanine level, which looks a bit dated?

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest

Guest feedback is extremely important to us and I therefore thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. Indeed the higher you go in the hotel, the views from our bedroom windows, particularly on a clear day, are fantastic.

On a future visit to the City, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I was visiting Manchester for one night, so looked for a hotel that would be close to where I was planning on visiting, as I had never visited Manchester before. I was looking for value for money, as well as a relatively high standard of service. After looking at several options, I decided on this hotel. I am glad I did. It was relatively close to the Piccadilly train station, and easy to find (after double checking directions I had on me with a few of the locals). Once I arrived, I was greeted warmly by the reception staff, and was checked in within minutes. The room was clean and adequate for my needs (I was only sleeping there, not holding a party!). The bed was comfortable, even though I tossed and turned a bit, as I don't like sleeping in beds that aren't mine. I ordered room service, which was delivered by a member of staff with a smile. The food was excellent and I really enjoyed it. The breakfast in the morning was most filling and delicious. Checking out was just as painless as checking in, and if I do decide to visit Manchester again, I will definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

If you are looking for a place to stay whilst on business or pleasure, then I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for taking the time and trouble to share your experience of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel following your one-night stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I thank you too for your recommendation. I hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ahmed O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I arrived there when the refurbishment was still underway. That is: half of the hotel was in the 60s and the other half not. Of course they try to book you in first where it is bad. So thank you indeed, unknown foreign employee with a bad English, who helped me to get a proper room there :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snufkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I was sorry to hear that you were not wowed with the first bedroom allocated to you. I was however pleased to hear after voicing your disappointment that the team reacted and allocated you an alternative room to your satisfaction.

On a future visit to Manchester, I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

From a business travel point of view, a bit of a disappointment but common to a number of UK standard hotels, totally inadequate free internet. You do of course have the option of purchasing additional coverage but why, surely in this day and age, a decent free coverage should be standard.

Notwithstanding, while the Service from reception to breakfast staff was friendly and efficient, rooms, while not spectacular, adequate and comfortable. A bit if a stale smell in the bathrooms (something I found in the Tel Aviv branch as well)

A bit pricey if you purchase direct but you can get a more reasonable price if you search online

Not a bad experience but other than the friendly and helpful trainee and others at reception, not memorable and although I would stay there again, I may well look elsewhere on my next trip, for variety sake.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulmant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us, the content of which has been duly noted.

We are pleased to be able to offer our guests free standard WIFI in all areas within the hotel, as well as guest bedrooms. We are transparent with our charge if guests wish to upgrade to a higher speed.

I was pleased to hear that you found the team from reception through to breakfast very friendly and efficient.

Although I do appreciate that there are many hotels now to choose from in Manchester, I do hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with an overall positive experience.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very good location and clean modern rooms.
We stayed for one Saturday night and it was busy in manchester but still competitive price.
Nice breakfast.
Helpful staff.
Would go again and recommend
Parking is expensive, but that is the same anywhere.

Room Tip: Over looking Piccadilly gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeggyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us; it really is appreciated.

Thank you too for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again too very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,570 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 120 in Manchester
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £68 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing