We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #70 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We went to the Mercure for a weekend conference and award ceremony. We found the staff at the hotel very friendly and helpful. Our room was a good size and the bathroom was good. We were very impressed with the staff at the awards dinner. The room was packed with 600 diners and they served the meal efficiently and with good humour. They were amazing. We slept well in a comfortable bed, there was a little noise from the street but it was not enough to keep us awake. Breakfast was lovely., plenty of choice and efficient service. The hotel is very central . We would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UlverstonJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our Hotel following your stay with us for the Conference/Awards Dinner that we were hosting.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that sometime in the future you would visit us again. With this in mind, I do hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of looking after you once again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,998)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,780 - 1,786 of 2,998 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Recently stayed here for a night out with friends, we like our hotel to be a top notch hotel. I have stayed in the Radisson Edwardian on many occasions so decided to try this hotel.
A little bit strange when checking in, up the lift next floor, not my liking at all. The check in staff were ok and didnt have to go out of their way when checking us in.
The rooms were poor and have stayed in better Premier inns, small, walls paper thin and bath room dated.
The bar was ok downstairs , aliitle over priced to say the least, but was ok. Breakfast was fine and all cooked to a good standard.
My main concern was the hygiene in the hotel, in the morning on the way down to breakfast, we entered the third lift down 8 floors to breakfast with somethng on the lift floor. It was human .... and was totally disgusting. I do not know how long it was there but i reported this straight away, to be fare they stopped the lift and cleaned it but how long had this been there and did any body report it.

Will not stay there again!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I was sorry to hear that we did not match your expectations of another City Centre Hotel that you have previously stayed in.

It disappointed me greatly, howver, to hear that you had concern over the hygiene/cleanliness of the hotel. As you can see from the rating summary on Tripadvisor, we score 4.5 out of 5.0 on cleanliness and this is something as a team we are very proud of. Although I do appreciate whatever you may have come across in the lift may not have been particularly pleasant, I am confident that as soon as we were aware, it was dealt with in a prompt and efficient manner.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I would like to start by saying this hotel is in a central location...and thats about the best thing about it. Horrendous stay! Uncomfortable, noises from outside all night, could hear people talking from hotel rooms all night as the walls are paper thin, found make-up marks on the pillows so clearly wasn't fresh bedding, rude and arrogant staff at the reception. I have stayed in a lot of hotels as a man that travels on business however this is by far the worst!

Appalling! Not only was the service I received from the reception staff bad... however in attempt to find an email in order to contact the hotel regarding my poor stay, a customer service email is no where to be found on their website...not a surprise as they would receive complaint after complaint I believe.

Just to stress again...DO NOT STAY HERE! OVER PRICED AND OVER RATED!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Gary S

It disappointed me greatly to receive your review. I am sorry that we failed to impress you and as such, you have had to voice your disappointment on Tripadvisor.

We are open to all guest feedback, and this can be done via a number of methods, including via our Hotel website but most importantly, our preference would always be to have the opportunity to address any issues a guest may be experiencing during their time with us and do whatever is necessary to ensure that the guests enjoys their stay. We have senior members of the team who cover Duty Managers shifts and they have the empowerment to do what they see is appropriate at the time to ensure that this was indeed the case.

Please feel free to share your experience with Jane Shaw, my Customer Services Manager, who can be contacted on jane.shaw@jupiterhotels.co.uk who would be more than happy to investigate your feedback and of course, going forward, look to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in us in terms of experiencing an overall positive stay, similar to those that our guests have posted on Tripadvisor before you.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here 3weeks ago ,the location is great right in the center of Manchester over looking Piccadilly Gardens , near to shops and nightlife .We found the on site parking very convienient but it does cost you £15 a day .The staff cannot be faulted ,they were very pleasant and helpful .Our room was a suite on the top floor overlooking Piccadilly gardens ,it was big ,spacious and very clean with a separate living room and bedroom ,the only fault was we felt that the bed was a double and not a king size .Breakfast was included in our room rate which was a buffet style, we found it adequate ,on both mornings the cooked food was a little dried up . We will probably look at staying here again when visiting Manchester

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetravel044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review following your stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay and it will certainly give me great pleasure to share your kind words regarding the team at the hotel.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

In a great central location. Convenient for buses for Traffort Centre, Lowri etc and within walking distance of train station. Shopping, pubs, restaurants all located nearby. The room was spacious and clean and we had a lovely breakfast that set us up for the day. Would definately return.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite at the back of the hotel which was lovely and quiet
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdbryntawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for sharing your experience of your stay with us; it really is appreciated that you have taken the time to do so. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

The Mercure is in a great, central location. We upgraded our room and received free high speed internet and movies. The room was lovely.
Only problem we had was the noise from outside the hotel late at night! The loud music and shouting from local bars went on until the early hours.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us.

Our prime city centre location is extremely popular with our guests for getting out and about to explore all that Manchester has to offer. Manchester is indeed a vibrant city and comes to life at night too, particularly at weekends.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the enhancements that form part of our upgrade package and perhaps on a future visit, we can look at allocating you a bedroom at the back of the Hotel, still with great views, which are quieter than our front facing rooms that over look Piccadilly Gardens.

Many thanks once again for your feedback.

Kind regards
David Daly
Generla Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Special occasions call for something special, and the Mercure did not disappoint. Mrs C and I booked a suite and the spacious room was splendid. The early checking in time of 2pm was a bonus, and on arrival we were advised of free wifi and free movies, which was nice.

The four poster bed was delightful, and the bathroom what you would have expected. The lounge area had a large screen TV (the free movies didnt work very well with it), nice view of the town hall and beetham tower, unfortunately, we didnt get a view over looking Piccadilly Gardens.

Overall, it was a beautiful room and we would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest

I am so pleased that we had the privilege of being able to play a small part in your special occasion. I'm delighted that you had a super stay and enjoyed the four-poster suite that was allocated to you. I do hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and as and when this may be the case, would suggest that at booking stage, if you highlight your preference to have a Suite overlooking Piccadily Gardens, we will certainly do our very best to achieve this for you.

Thank you for sharing your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,546 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#22 of 120 in Manchester
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £67 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing