We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“car parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #70 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Be advised there is a £15 a night car parking charge and you are not told about this until you come to check out and you are presented with your bill. The lifts in the hotel are very poor you may find you are going up and down a few time until you finally get to the floor you require

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hockhamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest

I believe that you have already been in communication with the hotel and my Customer Services Manager has been in touch with you already.

However, just to clarify. A car parking charge has always been in operation at the hotel and this charge is publicised on our hotel website, websites we have control over, a message via our switchboard, as well as a notice as you enter the car park. We do compare our price regularly with car parks in our immediate vicinity and as they charge £22-£24 per overnight stay, we do believe our £15.00 charge compares very faviourably.

As a 280 bedroomed hotel, when the hotel is full, at peak times pressure can be placed on the lifts and as such, unfortunately on occasions delays may occur. The display screens within each lift does show you the direction in which the lifts are travelling. I am sorry if they caused you inconvenience during your time with us.

Thank you for your review and I do hope I have clarified our car parking charge for potential guests who may look at your review prior to choosing our Hotel.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,997)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,740 - 1,746 of 2,997 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Customer service at reception well worth a positive mention. Very professional and friendly. Great hotel with staff that really do try to go the extra mile. Lounge and bar are great venues to relax, and the location is great. Recommended to friends and I will return for Manchester trips be they business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 410sarahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post your experience of our hotel following your stay. I was delighted to read your feedback regarding the level of customer service afforded to you by the Front of House Team and I will certainly share your kind feedback with them.

Whether it be for business or indeed pleasure, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for your recommendation too.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed for one night last night and found the hotel easily enough. Excellant location, ideally situated for bars, restaurants, shops. The car park on site was ideal and we managed to find a spot chargeable at 15 pounds overnight.

The staff were very welcoming and we were looking forward to a great stay.

Unfortunately our room on the 11th floor was small and stuffy, no outside air was accessible and the air conditioning wasnt working.

We called for housekeeping and they bought us up a fan which was extremely noisy and we had a terrible nights sleep. The pillows were rock hard and the heat in the room was unbearable.The duvet was a thick winter duvet and much too heavy for the summer. The bed was no where near as comfortable as the Premier Inn beds.

Compared to the newly refurbished Travelodges and Premier Inns this was an uncomfortable small room and I would rather stay at one of the aforementioned places in the same area.

I would expect more from a city centre hotel whereby clearly the focus should be on the comfort of the guests rather than the bar/restaurant facilities as there are more than enough close by within walking distance.

I wouldnt stay here again based on the comfort of the rooms.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the 11th floor overlooking the gardens, there was no noise but equally no air...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyblueConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel to be ideal, as well being able to make use of our car park. I was pleased to hear too of the welcome you received on check in.

It was, however, disappointing to hear that your stay was marred as a result of the air conditioning in your room not working as it should; please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused. Your feedback will be shared with my Property Manager.

We have just recently completed the roll out of new beds across the whole property. Bed preference does indeed come down to personal choice and therefore, at the time of purchase, we decided to choose a 'middle of the road' type bed, which we hoped would suit many of our guests. I am only too sorry that it was not to your liking.

Although I see at this moment in time, you would not consider staying with us again, I do hope sometime in the future you may have a change of heart and that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again for an overall positive experience.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location and restaurant has a lovely outlook.

Room was really small and is a little "tired" but bed was comfortable.

Ate in the restaurant in the evening and was really looking forward to the sea bass however it was overpriced and over cooked - very disappointed. Breakfast standard buffet style for this type of hotel - unfortunately the quality of produce was lacking.

Expected more than was actually delivered - disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyCuckfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. Our central location is indeed extremely popular with our guests, as too is the outlook from our floor to ceiling windows in our Restaurant.

I was however disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal in the Restaurant. The seabass dish is an extremely popular one with our guests and we normally receive great feedbck on this dish, as well as the quality of our breakfast offering. Your feedback will be shared with our Head Chef who I know will be equally as disappointed as I was to hear that you did not enjoy your experiences on this occasion.

Many thanks once again for your feedback and I do hope sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with an overall positive experience.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have only checked out today it was for 1 night when we arrived it was a really warm welcome our room was reserved from the day before after wanting stay a extra night and a birthday treat for my self was a bit disappointed that I did not get a drinks voucher as read on another review room was superb no faults at all will be staying again my only bad word was that the price is a bit expensive will add pictures if I can figure it out

Room Tip: Really good rooms
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starlight1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for posting your review following your stay with us.

I was delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us; sorry to hear that your birthday celebration went unnoticed. I was however pleased to hear that you would look to stay with us again if the price was right and with this in mind, we look forward to having the pleasure of looking after you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank Pollyp57
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very central location, Well located hotel with quiet rooms and the best part was the lovely breakfast with an amazing view below. Internet worked well and the staff very friendly !
Shall surely return to this Hotel if in Manchester again !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pranavito R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience of our Hotel following your stay with us.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you will return as and when you have plans to visit Manchester again. With this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
14.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 119 in Manchester
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 119 in Manchester
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £67 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing