We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #74 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here in May this year , found the staff very helpful and friendly, rooms very clean, just 5 minutes from Piccadilly train station, as you leave the station walk along a little bridge to the next street, you will see above the building up in front of you, which we found out is the thistle hotel, the top of a big wheel walk towards that and you come across the hotel mercure, looks nothing on the outside, you go into a long corridor and up towards the lifts , which take you upstairs to reception , which is most unusual but different, on arrival , we though early we're shown our room, , which was cosy for me and my husband , we were lucky could see the wheel from our room and all around, shops are to the left of the hotel, I'm sure there's many more, but we were only in Manchester for a short time, to meet up with family, to the right of the hotel is china town, where we ate, very nice, .. Breakfast at the hotel was lovely , we will definaitly return , many thanks to the staff for a lovely break

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pjack36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for posting your review following your stay with us. I was pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and do hope that it won’t be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,849 - 1,855 of 3,122 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Excellent location in the heart of the city just a couple of minutes walk from the railway station. The whole place was impressive from the entrance halls to the bar and restaurant.

I had a room about 10 floors up, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens and the wheel of Manchester. My room was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable.

Everything about this hotel oozed class and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor overlooking Piccadilly Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for your glowing review. It is appreciated that you have taken the time to share your experience of our hotel with your fellow Tripadvisor viewers and we thank you too for your high recommendation.

I do hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of looking after you once again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here when I went to the One Direction concert at the Etihad stadium and I was really impressed. Firstly having never been to the stadium before, the detailed travel information in the reception was very helpful.

The twin room we stayed in was very comfortable and being on the tenth floor, we had a great view of the city. The lifts were a bit of a pain but with fourteen floors, this can't really be helped.

We had lunch in the hotel restaurant and the food and drinks were lovely and the staff were very attentive. The breakfast was delicious and my only issue was that the croissants were not replaced when they had all gone (minor issue but it would have been nice to be able to have one with my coffee).

Would definitely stay here again as it is in a great location and only a 5 minute walk from Piccadilly station.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SM_0484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and I thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience. I do hope that it won’t be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Reception was on the 2nd floor. My room was tiny. I did get a newspaper from Ireland (my home country) on arrival, but I think my employer overspent on this hotel. The location is excellent but you would actually get a warmer service from the Premier Inn. Save your pounds and get better rooms by looking elsewhere, but the location is quality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbarry100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. Our prime city centre location is indeed very popular with our guests. As with all hotel groups, rates strategies are put in place based on supply and demand and as such bedroom rates will change on a day to day basis to reflect the demand in line with business in the hotel, or indeed the City. We appreciate that guests will always shop around to ge the best deal and hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

arrived at hotel to be greeted by a very unpleasant member of male staff P*** who managed to insult us straight away and was most unhelpful for a 4 star hotel, arrived at room to find the room very small, windows very old and in need of replacement wanted to relax for a while with the tv on this did not work at all took maint few hours to fix even then was not quite right picture was terrible, bath room good size with bath but shower head did not move enough too low, However later that evening wanted some more coffee and stuff and was greeted at reception by a very nice member of staff who dealt with the problem straight away, breakfast was excellent so were all the breakfast staff, all in all not a bad stay but needs improvement

Room Tip: rooms over looking Piccadilly have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris-Lowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest

I was sorry to hear that your arrival at the hotel was not the best. If you are referring to the team member that I believe you may be referring too, I am indeed extremely surprised to read your feedback. The individual concerned has been a long standing member of the front of house team and we normally receive nothing but praise on his helpful and friendly nature. I am only too sorry that this did not appear to shine through on this occasion and you have my assurance that your feedback will be addressed accordingly. I know when this happens, the individual concerned will be extremely upset to hear that you believed he came across in such a manner. I was pleased to hear however that we appeared to have redeemed ourselves for the remainder of your stay.

Many thanks for your review and I do hope sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with an overall positive experience.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband&I stayed here for a short visit for our first year anniversary.We were upgraded at reception by the lovely receptionist.Room was nice and clean.
We were told we would recieve free movies as our upgrade but this didn't work,but it wasn't a problem.
Location was great as trams&buses were around the corner.
Breakfast was nice with the selection and staff were helpful&polite.
In general we had a lovely stay&would recommend to anyone who wants to stay within the city centre.
Thank you to all the staff for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nim05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for posting your review following your stay with us. We were delighted to be able to play a part in your anniversary celebration and I thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience. I'm pleased that you had a most enjoyable stay.

Thank you too for your recommendation and look forward to hopefully having the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

On arrival met with smiles and a swift friendly check in. Room was large,spotlessly clean. Breakfast was brilliant with very friendly attentive staff.
This is my 2nd visit in 8 weeks and I would definitely recommend this hotel the beds are comfortable the room temperature is lovely and the air con actually works well.
Great for couples and families with a fabulous location.

Would I recommend this hotel? YES without hesitation!

Room Tip: I had a privilege twin room on the 5th floor side facing towards the main road. No noise problems at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest

I was delighted to hear that you had an excellent return visit and I thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your experience on this occasion. Many thanks too for your high recommendation and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.4 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princess St. Hotel
Princess St. Hotel
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,713 reviews
0.6 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £63 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing