We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Short Break At The Mercure Piccadilly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #65 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Short Break At The Mercure Piccadilly”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just arrived home after a fabulous couple of days in the Mercure hotel Manchester Piccadilly,
Always a pleasure to arrive and be welcomed by Paul Costello. We have always found him to be
very pleasant and waiting to assist us during our stay . Also thanks to Beth, Zuzanna, Meshy,
David, Andrew, Claire and Gabi in Restaurant (All Great Staff).
Bedroom was very clean with a Gardens view (room 1127).Breakfast as always was excellent,
Hotel is very central .We will definitely be staying in this Hotel again.Once again thanks to all the
staff.
regards from the Dublin Girls

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAINTPATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Dublin Girls

Many thanks indeed for posting your review following your short break with us; it really is appreciated that you have taken the time to do so.

It will certainly give me great pleasure to share your feedback with the team, paying particular attention to the team members that you have highlighted.

We look forward to having the pleasure of looking after you again as and when your travels next bring you back to Manchester.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    1,121
    648
    267
    142
See reviews for
216
1,052
165
798
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Check in was fast and friendly--all my encounters with staff were marked by friendliness, which made my stay more pleasant. My room 626 was small, yet perfectly clean with everything I needed. The area around the door's lock looked like some of the wood might have broken away, yet fortunately it still felt secure. The bed was ideally comfortable, and the wifi worked well. I had no trouble with noise and slept well.

I bought a drink in the hotel bar to bring back to my room late in the evening, and I found the atmosphere relaxed, the wine selection fairly good, and the service professional.

The breakfast buffet was generally good, especially the coffee and breakfast potatoes (a treat not to have deep-fried hash browns), but the scrambled eggs and sausages didn't have much flavour and the fruit salad seemed over-dominated by apple so I passed on it. I loved sitting at the window and looking on Piccadilly Gardens awash in morning sunshine.

All in all, a very good stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest

Guest feedback is extremely important to us and I therefore thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review following your stay with us. I was pleased to hear that all in all you had a good stay and hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back once again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great location, very close to everything I needed. Unfortunately I also needed my sleep and despite asking for a quiet room when I booked, having been warned by other reviews to the thin walls, there is a noise which sounds like a passing aeroplane crossed with a rumbling noise constantly. This is coupled with the noise outside which isn't surprising considering the single glass paned windows. Considering this is central to trams and other road traffic, it is ridiculous not to have double glazing. I was wearing earplugs overnight and I could still hear a level of noise that was frankly unacceptable. It's like sleeping on a hotel balcony.

The room is clean and fairly small but does have a desk and an ironing board and iron which I was impressed by. The room also has a bath rather than just a shower. There is a TV which is a good size and some modern art which is a good effort at adding something interesting to the room.

The bed was possibly the firmest I have ever slept on. The pillows are rather hard too. I usually don't mind if the bed is hard or soft but this was like sleeping on a slightly comfortable table. More odd than uncomfortable.

Again, the noise. You could join in conversations in any room where your walls meet. I must advise my neighbours were not talking in loud voices at all but I could hear every word.

It seems the hotel was built by a complete fool who knows nothing about soundproofing. I don't know how they could fit any soundproofing between rooms and still have room for the beds. But double glazing is an absolute must if this hotel is to be a place for sleeping.

Room Tip: I can't say for the other floors but floor 12 is loud and to be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us.

I was sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise during your time with us and that you didn't have a particularly good sleep due to the firmness of our beds and pillows. We have actually just completed the roll out of new beds, pillows and duvets across the whole property. As we appreciate that bed type is very much down to personal preference, our aim at the time of sourcing was to purchase a 'middle of the road' type mattress, which we hoped would suit our guests. We have been receiving positive feedback on the quality and comfort of these beds and I am only too sorry that they did not suit you on this occasion.

Many thanks once again for your review and I hope that sometime in the future you may give us the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Davd Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a friend for park life festival weekend on the 11th floor. Even though it is very central right by the bus and tram station and shopping area sleeping wasn't a issue it was quiet and beds were comfy. Rooms were neatend up daily with fresh towels every morning. The twin room we stayed in wasn't the largest but it had a good sized bathroom (which was very clean and the shower was great)
Breakfast was perfect with every possible option covered and would give it a 10! I will most definatly return

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us for the Parklife Festival. Our prime city centre location is indeed extremely popular with our guests and I'm pleased that we formed a convenient base for your time with us too. Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed in the hotel saturday night and Sunday night.
First night spent in room 625 worst nights sleep ever this room is above the generators for the hotel so had noise all night.
Requested a move which appeared to come of no surprise to the receptionist. Got moved to 504 which was a different angle to the hotel could still hear the generators but definitely not as loud.
Hotel rooms were different including some of the bathroom items provided by the hotel. For example second room had flannels provided where the first room didn't lilt things like that. The bed was also two singles put together where in the first room the bed was a small double.
The baths in both bathrooms are quiet small and the shower is low my other half who is 6ft tall struggled with the height of the shower made it uncomfortable for him.
General noise in the hotel is was ok even though I seemed to have neighbours obsessed with slamming the doors several times a night! Doors are very loud to close
In ringing reception for a taxi with the internal phone dialling the normal 0 there was no answer several times. Decided to ring the hotel on the number available on the internet and charged at the higher rate 0844 the phone was answered straight away.

Good points friendly receptionists when you do get hold of them, great location for tram and access to restaurants and bars.

Would only consider returning if staying for one night would definitely pay more for a better hotel if staying longer as I do like my sleep

Breakfast is served till 12 so that's good for me as I sleep in late! But cooked breakfast was a little dried out ..this maybe only because we were the last ones to sit down at 12! Coffee and tea and toast is made by the waitresses that seemed to huddle around the kitchen area and weren't prompt in taking the orders without being called over. For fruit juices, dried breakfasts and pastries there is a large selection so that's great

Oh and The cleaning of the room was excellent

Room Tip: Avoid odd numbers sixth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PearceT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I was sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise on this occasion from generators outside. On reporting this, I was pleased to hear that we were able to move you to a bedroom at the back of the hotel, which guests do normally find much quieter, as they are away from the hustle and bustle of Piccadilly Gardens and the Bus/Metro Station too.

We do indeed have varying rooms types at the hotel from classic (standard) double and twin rooms, as well as zip and link bedrooms, which we can utilise as either a twin or double, dependant on room type requirements in line with business needs. We also have upgraded rooms too, which carry either privilege or superior status and these can vary in size and enhancements too.

On a positive note, I was pleased to hear that you found the Reception team very friendly and cleanliness of the hotel excellent.

Thank you for your constructive feedback and I do hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back. With this in mind, if you do ever decide to head our way again, at booking stage, if you post a request to be placed on a much higher floor and perhaps at the back of the hotel too, we will always do our utmost to accommodate.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for a 2 night weekend break. Found the hotel to be in a fantastic location, a short distance from the railway station and right by the buses and trams to get around. Couldn't fault the room, it was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, loads of choices. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Will hopefully be back sometime.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for sharing your experience of your two night weekend break with us; it really is appreciated that you have taken the time to do so.

I was delighted to hear that you had a great stay and it will certainly give me great pleasure to share your feedback with the team.

As and when your travels bring you back to Manchester, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after you once again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here in May this year , found the staff very helpful and friendly, rooms very clean, just 5 minutes from Piccadilly train station, as you leave the station walk along a little bridge to the next street, you will see above the building up in front of you, which we found out is the thistle hotel, the top of a big wheel walk towards that and you come across the hotel mercure, looks nothing on the outside, you go into a long corridor and up towards the lifts , which take you upstairs to reception , which is most unusual but different, on arrival , we though early we're shown our room, , which was cosy for me and my husband , we were lucky could see the wheel from our room and all around, shops are to the left of the hotel, I'm sure there's many more, but we were only in Manchester for a short time, to meet up with family, to the right of the hotel is china town, where we ate, very nice, .. Breakfast at the hotel was lovely , we will definaitly return , many thanks to the staff for a lovely break

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjack36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for posting your review following your stay with us. I was pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and do hope that it won’t be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 116 in Manchester
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing