We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #65 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Lindfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Got an excellent rate for a saturday night stay, located perfectly for a night out, central to all night life and restaurants. Hotel room a little on the small side for a twin, and bathroom a little tired in places but other than that a lovely hotel. The beds were extremely comfortable, though walls a little thin so at times when people were coming back to their rooms we did get woken up. Breakfast was real value for money at only £7.50 for a full buffet style breakfast if you buy vouchers at reception otherwise normal price is £13.95. Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChocoholicPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for sharing your experience of your stay with us. I was pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your time with us and would definitely return. With this in mind, we look forward to having the opportunity to look after you again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    1,124
    648
    268
    145
See reviews for
216
1,053
165
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just average, nothing special, but was substantial for our weekend break. Rooms very small and extremely hot! Alright for a cheap break and is in a central location so the access to the center is good. The reception is rather fancy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstyll1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, the content of which has been duly noted. Although I can see that we did not fully wow you on this occasion, I would hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at the Mecure Manchester on Sat 21st June 2014. The hotel is really nice and the rooms are excellent quality for the price. I was very disappointed that i had to pay to park in their own car park and i was not told of this on my arrival or in any of my booking emails. Room service was excellent and the food very good, the breakfast was very nice however the wait for the chef to replenish the hot plate was a little annoying as he only replenished one thing at a time. The black pudding was over cooked which had turned it hard so i could not cut it with my knife. overall a nice stay and would book again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oly120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us. I was delighted to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us.

Your comments regarding breakfast has been duly noted and will be shared with our Head Chef.

As a City Centre Hotel we are extremely lucky to have our own onsite car park which is secure and as you know, only steps away from our reception doors. A charge has always been in operation at the hotel and this is publicised on our website, websites we have control over and via a recorded message on our switchboard. Signage also appears as you enter the car park. I am sorry that this was not communicated to you prior to arrival or on check in.

Many thanks once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed one night on a business trip to Manchester. The hotel room had all facilities but very small. Since right in the middle of the city the hotel rooms (facing the Manchester eye) was noisy. It is not advisable to open windows for ventilation as road noise and city centre noise is considerable. Rooms and toilets were bit scruffy. It was ok for one night but would not like to stay there again.
The restaurant had great views on to the Manchester eye. Food quality is good but expensive. Service was good in general although I had to wait for about 5 minutes just to be seated and get attended to by staff.
There was free Wi-Fi.
Location is right in the heart of Manchester Piccadilly and the hotel is in the upper floor of the main building facing the square. Very convenient location for buses and trams.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srinath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your business trip to Manchester. I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations to the full. As a prime city centre hotel, with Piccadilly Bus Station and the Metrolink beside us, it is indeed a busy area of the City. Many of our guests do actually request bedrooms overlooking Piccadily Gardens and enyoy the views beyond, however, for those guests who may not be used to such a busy environment, a request for a bedroom at the back of the Hotel, still with City views, will always be taken into consideration.

Perhaps sometime in the future we may be of service to you again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed there overnight and were impressed how much stuff there was in the room for 85 pounds. And the staff on reception were friendly and understanding.
Thanks for the stay. Will definitely stay in one of such hotels overseas)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Балжан Б
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

I'm pleased that you gave us the opportunity to look after you on your visit to Manchester.

Many thanks for posting your review and on a future visit to the City, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after you once again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel on business with my work for one night, but given the choice I wouldn't have picked to stay here, I have stayed in the 2 macdonald hotels (train station and townhouse) for the same reason and would definitely rather stay there. The location of the mercure is absolutely perfect really central to everything however this can also be a negative especially if your room is facing onto the gardens as all you hear is trams all the time! I didn't have any of the food in the hotel as I thought the room service was ridiculously priced and the fact they add on an extra charge of £3.50 for the room service annoyed me, even though this is probably standard! The TV didn't have a TV guide which was really strange! The bed is really very comfortable but apart from that there is nothing special about this hotel. Also the maid was knocking on my door to clean at 8.05 which I think is very early!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lauren2492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, the content of which has been duly noted. I was sorry to hear that we did not 100% wow you on this occasion.

Although I see your preference to stay at other hotels in the City, I would hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with an overall positive experience. With this in mind, if you do ever have cause to head our way again, please do highlight a preference to be allocated a room at the back of the hotel, rather than over Piccadilly Gardens, as these rooms are quieter.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing