We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #64 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Fleetwood, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Would not stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location in the heart of Manchester sadly let down by the small rather shabby rooms, very expensive for whats on offer and then being charged £15 per day to park in the hotel carpark. Some (thankfully not all) of the staff were rude and patronising in the most unhelpful way. I would definately not recommend this hotel there appears to be plenty more about.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatP747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear KatP747,
Thank you for your review.
I am most disappointed to read your review and can only apologise for the poor impression you have from your stay with us.
Should you wish to discuss any element of your stay in more detail then please do contact me directly at the hotel.
Kind regards
David Daly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    1,098
    623
    257
    122
See reviews for
210
1,023
163
759
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed there for one night with my husband. The location is a big advantage, right in the city center. Most of the rooms have a nice view over the Piccadilli square. The rooms offer good facilities such as ironing board, quality hairdryer, coffee maker, etc. But there wasn't any fridge..The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially the front office team. The only thing that we didn't like is that the rooms were too small, almost uncomfortable. Also the corridors and the doors are quite narrow.

I think that for a short city or business trip the Hotel is perfect and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Tripaki,
Thank you for taking the time to review Mercure Manchester Piccadilly.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
David Daly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The location is very good--bang slap on Piccadilly. The higher floors give great views of the cityscape and the greenery in the distance. It's a short walk to shops, pubs, and the Canal area. Inside of hotel is fairly standard, not particularly distinguished. Rooms are smallish.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Piccadilly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEWYORKPROF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear NEWYORKPROF,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly. I am pleased that you found our location to suit your needs and that you enjoyed the views over Manchester. I hope we have the pleasure of looking after you should you be returning to Manchester in the future.
Best regards
David Daly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed overnight at the Mercure on a recent weekend trip to Manchester. The hotel is very central - right on Piccadilly Gardens. The check-in was very friendly and quick. we arrived at the hotel early and because the rooms were ready, we were able to check right away (a nice surprise as we had expected to have to leave our luggage and come back after 14:00 to check in. The rooms are clean and comfortable (although looking a bit worn in places but not enough to affect the stay). Also, you can hear the guests in adjoining rooms but not enough to be annoying. Breakfast is served on the 3rd floor and was a good standard hotel fare - a combination of cereals, cooked breakfast, pastries and fruit. Being a Sunday morning, it was quite busy but the staff did a good job of seating and serving everyone. The restaurant overlooks Piccadilly Gardens, so it is nice to have a view in such a central location.

I would definitely consider staying at the Mercure on future visits to Manchester.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level floor with a room overlooking Piccadilly Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan_m58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Stefan_m58,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and would choose to stay again in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
David Daly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel used to be a Ramada and was excellent. Stayed here a few times and always happy with rooms, service, etc. However I definitely think the standard has dropped now its a Mercure. Our twin room was very small and wasn't even really two twin beds. It was basically a double bed but with two very separate mattresses and divans. However, my Mum had a perfectly normal duvet but I had a duvet the width of a plaster! Not sure why there was such a discrepancy between duvets! Also the covers were torn and a bit tatty. We had already switched rooms once because the previous room was dirty and stank of cigarette smoke (the offending ash could be seen on the window sill - nice!) The man on reception was very helpful though and switched our room without any fuss and was very apologetic. It was also noisy at night. I didn't sleep very well at all because there was a weird noise which I can only assume was water draining or something. But it sounded as though it was coming from the rooms above and happened every 15 minutes - almost like a flushing sound. Very irritating. The breakfast was good, plenty of choice, good service.

Overall, the hotel is ok but probably wouldn't stay here again unless they do a refurb.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saphey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Saphey,
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry that your stay was memorable for all the wrong reasons and can assure you that your feedback has been shared with the team so that we may address the service shortfalls you experienced.
I do hope you will continue to use Mercure hotels in the future.
Best regards
David Daly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Firstly it is worth mentioning that i have stayed in the London Mercure, near the O2 arena, which was nothing short of a pleasure and would return in a heartbeat, and was the reason why i booked to stay for one night at the manchester Mercure when visiting.

Immediately on entering the reception it felt dated compared to the London counterpart. Check in was relatively quick, and soon enough we were in our room. Looking out the window was a pointless exercise as the exterior of the window was so dirty, it was impossible to see anything.
There was only one towel in the bathroom, the room was a double and there were two of us in the room, so this was an annoyance to say the least. Admittedly we didn't call down or mention it to the staff, as we made do and felt we could get by for the night, but surely common sense dictates that any housekeeping staff would put more than one towel in a room designated for more than one occupant.
Having a shower was a difficulty as well, i am around 6ft tall, what some would call slightly above average perhaps, but the shower head was fixed to the wall lower than my height, so i had to almost crouch just to fit in the shower.
Breakfast was served in the bar and restaurant area which seemed just as dated as the rest of the hotel, but we went in with open minds. They didn't serve green-tea, which anyone reading this can make up their own mind whether this is relevant, or indeed a hotel of this low standard should serve green tea. Breakfast ceased at 10.30 if memory serves me correct and we arrived about half an hour before this curfew, but couldn't help feeling we were definitely picking up the dregs of the buffet, people were actually arriving after us so little knows what they ate.

I emailed the manager post-stay and the reply contained various reasons for my grievances, but that i should not compare this to the London counter-part as they are "managed by different groups" or words to that nature. This was of little relevance to me as i simply followed the name above the door which i understood to be of a higher quality. Clearly it isn't.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guy H,
Thank you for reviewing Mercure Manchester Piccadilly.
Again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and whilst I respect your decision to not wish to stay at this hotel again I very much hope you will continue to enjoy using Mercure hotels in the future.
Kind regards
David Daly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Newcastle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Another perfect night in the Piccadilly mercure - staff very helpful n friendly - great views from our twelth floor room - great facilities and great value - Thank you - this is now my 4th stay in the hotel and I am staying again this weekend with friends

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Jimmy R,
Welcome back to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly.
I'm really pleased that you continue to enjoy your stays with us and that the team look after you so well.
I trust you will enjoy your stay this weekend.
Kind regards
David Daly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing