We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #65 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Staff”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is the first time that i have used this hotel as i tend to stay at the hotel on the opposite side of the road, but boy i am i glad that i choose this one. It doesnt look much from the outside but once you are in you are greeted by modern surroundings and very pleasant staff, check in was smooth. I stayed in room 728 a corner room, bright, airy and very clean and best of all air conditioning.

Great central location, will be coming back !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aceman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Aceman 60

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us and as a result of your experience, will be returning. With this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    1,124
    648
    268
    144
See reviews for
216
1,052
165
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We found this hotel on-line and booked based on the reviews. We were not disappointed! The hotel is centrally located right in the heart of Manchester. Just steps from public transport, shopping, restaurants etc. The room was very clean and fairly spacious ( 2 single beds) , well appointed with a big bathroom. Beds were very comfortable.
The staff were outstanding. Nothing was a bother and each was very happy to assist us whenever we asked. Sam was the BEST! We arrive quite late after a cancelled flight and a long day of travel. He was fantastic! We received a warm and hospitable welcome and were made to feel right at home immediately. We did not use the restaurant as there were several in the area that offered a good selection at more reasonable rates. We would definitely stay again and highly recommend! Excellent value for the money!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Mary A

Thank you for posting your review following your stay.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your recommendation too. It will certainly give me great pleasure to share your kind feedback with the team, paying particularly mention of Sam, who appears to have done a sterling job in terms of making you feel very welcome.

We look forward to having the pleasure of looking after you again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A pretty average hotel in central Manchester which will not be my first choice the next time I stay in Manchester overnight. The rooms are okay, and clean but the bathrooms are rather tired. On the positive side, staff were friendly and efficient and breakfast was good. Communal toilets on fourth floor were poorly served, often lacking paper towels (although electric hand driers were available) and the floor was very sticky on both days of my two day stay, implying that it had not been mopped properly. The hotel was okay for a business trip but it was expensive and below below the standard of some of the other hotel brands in Manchester.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Kevin D

Many thanks for your review.

I was disappointed to hear that we failed to meet your expectations fully on this occasion, so much so on a future visit to the City, you may look to choose accommodation elsewhere. Although I do appreciate that there are many hotels now in the City to choose from, I would hope that maybe sometime in the future you may give us another opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with an overall positive experience.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
205 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was staying at the Mercure for a couple of days as an attendee at a meeting also being held at the hotel. Strangely a block rate for attendees of the meeting had not been offered, so many of the party were staying elsewhere in Manchester.

The hotel is perched above Manchester's Piccadilly Gardens. As a concrete block it's architecture hails from an age when such things were in fashion but it's unlikely to win design awards today.

The main reception is located at the 2nd floor, the hotel just has an entrance lobby at street level and the doorway into the hotel can be easy to miss if you're not keeping a careful eye open.

Checking in was an efficient process, and despite having a Platinum status with Accor I didn't get an upgrade to a better status room, and I was allocated a Classic room on the 10th Floor. As others have stated in their reviews the Classic Rooms are a little on the small side. If you're turning up with a couple of items of luggage that you need to open, you're going to be tripping over yourself to get round the luggage in the room.

The TV in my room was really struggling - it was obvious to me that the hotel was an early adopter of flat screen TVs and these are now struggling, the definition of the picture was poor and it took an age to navigate the menu and change between channels, and the sound was a long way out of sync with the picture. I wanted to have the radio on as I went to sleep, but with the bright blue screen presented with the radio channel and no way to blank it, I gave up.

The hotel offers free wifi to all guests, the code to log in is available at reception. Whilst this is great that you don't need to pay for it, it does also mean that at busy times the bandwidth available is oversubscribed. I gave up and used my phones 3G connection which gave me a faster and more reliable signal.

A couple of other annoyances for the room was the lack of power sockets next or near to the bed - the only accessible sockets are next to the desk. And the fixed height of the shower head over the bath was a little low, and I'm not exactly a tall person.

The rooms either overlook Piccadilly Gardens or Portland Street. If you want a quieter room ask for a room facing Portland Street as the noise of the trams rumbling past on Piccadilly Gardens may annoy you otherwise. The rooms have double glazing. The aircon was quiet.

My room rate included breakfast. The restaurant and bar is located on the 3rd floor and has a good view overlooking Piccadilly Gardens. Tables next to the window are obviously oversubscribed! Breakfast is from 7am to 10am, not a particularly early start and probably a recognition that if you're using this hotel you're probably at or near your destination rather than travelling on elsewhere. The breakfast service was OK - nothing to write home about. The ingredients for me seemed to be closer to "value" than "finest". And items on the hot counter were on the two days I was there both let down by poor preparation and/or were drying out. The one thing I found strange was the inability to pick up a piece of bread yourself - they bring toast to your table which saves you time faffing around waiting for a toaster to cremate your bread. However not everyone wants to have fried bread with a cooked breakfast and having some bread available to pick up next to the hot counter would offer a healthier option, and I had to specifically ask to get a slice of bread.

Overall the hotel was well run. The catering and refreshments for the meeting also being held at the hotel were efficient. The rooms are on the small side, but they can't do a lot to change that. So they could focus on more Wifi bandwidth, sorting out the slow TVs and some details at breakfast.

Room Tip: Views over Piccadilly Gardens with the noise of the trams, or overlooking Portland Street, no view b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plunet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Plunet

Thank you for your constructive review following your stay with us. Guest feedback is extremely important to us and I therefore thank you for sharing your experience.

On a future visit to the City, I do hope that you may afford us the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The staff here is amazing with helping nature and perfect attitude specially Gabi at the resturant , hotel is located at a very lovely location and ambience is bang on,would surely like to visit here in future and having lovely stay now. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank amit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Amit S

Many thanks indeed for your review.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Our central location is indeed extremely popular with our guests as we are in walking distance to explore all that Manchester has to offer.

Thank you too for your recommendation, as well as your kind comments regarding Gabi in the Restaurant, which I will be delighted to share with her.

I hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

had a great stay here, staff were good, hotel was spotless and fresh. breakfast and dinner was very good and lots to choose from. staff were very helpful and polite. hotel in great spot in city center to all areas. not far from canal st, and shopping area. only down fall for hotel is the double windows, not great at all. outer windows don't open, not sure if this is a safety measure ? but when u open inner window there is a rotten smile between both windows no ventilation when is nice rather than air con the whole time. or down fall was the smell of the bath room, it was awful, i had asked cleaning staff for bleach for the drains it was bad urine smell. needs major looking into big turn off.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Damian B

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your 'lads wk-end away'. I was pleased to hear that you had a great stay.

On a future visit to the City, I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Short walk from train station, hop skip and a jump from bus stop, tram stop, shopping, many restaurants points to the central location of the hotel. This is of great convenience to short stay travellers.

The front desk on arrival was understaffed and the person at it was tending to a customer on the phone. That said, Paul , with his warm and friendly smile, appeared to swiftly check us in. He assigned us a spacious corner room overlooking the square.

The room, bathroom and amenities were all excellent. Wifi was free.

I will stay at Mercure again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taymur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Taymur M,
Thank you for taking the time to review Mercure Manchester Piccadilly. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay however am sorry that your initial arrival was delayed. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
David Daly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing