We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value alternative to the big chains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #74 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Good value, centrally placed, clean room and decent breakfast. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was small but comfortable. For the money I'm not sure you could beat it in Manchester City Centre

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derm90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Derm 90

Thank you for your review. Indeed our central location is extremely popular with our guests. We do have varying rooms types at the hotel and for those guests who may wish for a more spacious feel, then an upgrade to one of privilege or superior rooms, would be ideal.

On a future visit to the City, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,792 - 1,798 of 3,131 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This city centre hotel has had a massive refurbishment programme since being taken over by the Mercure Group. The quality of accommodation is first class, and the breakfast extremely good. The staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The outside look of this building is not to be believed, step inside and it really is splendid. Having its own private car parking is also a wonderful bonus, for a hotel right in the city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JulieIntouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear JulieInTouch

Many thanks for such a glowing review following your time with us. It is really appreciated that you have taken the time to share your experience of your stay and do hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great location for bus and train (Piccadilly Station) in the city centre. Large, tired building, with mostly unmotivated staff. I'm a Platinum member and was told I should have an upgrade but the clerk "didn't have the authority" when I asked who did, I was told the duty manager but he wasn't available. Room was squisky but clean. Bar was uninspiring. Plenty of local restaurants and pubs within a few minutes' walk. Ok for a night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SDM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear SDM12

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear that we did not wow you on this occasion. In particular, it disappointed me greatly to hear that you felt we had an unmotivated team. We normally receive positive feedback regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of the team, which can be seen from rewiews posted previously. I am only too sorry that this did not appear to shine through to you on this occasion. Your feedback has been shared with the reception team.

I do hope sometime in the future you may consider visiting us again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Mercure Piccadilly Manchester is perfect for any sort of break, Business Break or Leisure.
The Staff were incredible, genuinely interested in you and Rooms and hotel food was perfect!
We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night and had entertainment at the hotel on the Friday Evening.
We were lucky enough to try a platter of different foods served at the hotel, all were absolutely excellent (I had heard great things about the Head Chef) ....He and his team delivered with class.
The Room was very spacious, even for the 2 of us with our entire luggage....and the other half’s make up!!!
We had a nespresso machine and plenty of TV channels that all worked!
The bathroom was really clean and the towels were changed twice during our stay.

Finally a mention to the staff....they were all brilliant, I must have spoken to 15 - 20 members of the Mercure Piccadilly team and all of them had a genuine interest in you, something that lacks in a lot of other big branded hotels!!!
If you haven’t stayed here, give it a shot, you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: I recommend a room facing Piccadilly Gardens, and if you are luck enough to have a Privledge room, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_Expert_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Traveller_Expert_09

Many thanks indeed for such a glowing review. I was delighted to hear that you had such a super time with us and it will certainly give me great pleasure to share your feedback with the team, who I know will be equally as delighted as I was to receive it.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Myself and my partner stayed in this hotel for a 2 night break and found everything about the experience to be fantastic. From the moment you check in to the moment you reluctantly admit the weekend is over and have to check out, the staff were nothing short of phenomenal and the hotel itself was excellent. The double room we had was nice, clean and comfortable and had all the facilities you'd expect (iron/board, tea facilities/coffee machine, hair dryer etc). The breakfast, and choice thereof, was amazing considering it was included with the room price and the evening meal we had from the menu far exceeded my expectations, I have since been advised the chef has a good reputation throughout Manchester. The atmosphere in the bar was nice and the prices were average for the location. As for the location, the centrality of the hotel is second to none for shopping, nightlife, venues and transport links. I would recommend this hotel to anyone regardless of the reasons for visiting Manchester and will definitely be staying here again personally. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Chris F

Thank you for posting such a glowing review of our Hotel following your two night stay with us.

I am extremely proud of the team at the Hotel and to read your feedback that 'the staff were nothing short of phenomenal' was without doubt a delight to read. Your kind feedback will be shared with the whole team.

Many thanks too for your high recommendation and I hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of looking after you once again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I booked this hotel as a weekend away for my husband. I booked through hotels.com. The night before we were due to go I had a email with a special offer to upgrade our room, I did this and had a email confirming this.
We had a warm welcome from Karl who is amazing, we went to our room to find it as a standard double no upgrade, after a lot of talking Karl sorted this out for us and we were upgraded to a suit the next night. Karl was amazing and could not do enough to help sort out our problems.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable, we were over looking the square and even with the windows closed it was very noisy especially 6.30 am Monday morning. The breakfast was not very warm and the chef very rude to other staff members. The evening meal was excellent.
We will stay again but I will book direct with the hotel next time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Angie D

Thank you for your review following your weekend break with your husband.

I believe my Customer Services Manager has already been in contact with you extending our apologies that we were unable to accommodate your first night upgrade. I echo Jane's apology that your arrival did not get off to the best of starts. On a positive note, however, I was pleased to hear that Karl was amazing and did all he could to address the issue at the time.

Your feedback regarding your breakfast experience has been shared with our Head Chef who will address your comments accordingly. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening meal.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon, when I'm sure you will enjoy an overall positive experience.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.4 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#32 of 120 in Manchester
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princess St. Hotel
Princess St. Hotel
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,719 reviews
0.6 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £63 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing