We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,433)
Filter reviews
3,434 results
Traveller rating
794
1,244
794
363
239
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
794
1,244
794
363
239
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiccadilly gardenscentral locationtram stopwould stay againstayed here for one nightdouble roomsaturday nightfantastic locationarndale centregood nights sleepfloorchinatownhairdryerironncpconcertarena
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 3,434 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2017

Arrived on a very wet evening among other guests waiting to check in on a Xmas party night. Only 1 member of staff on reception. One guest had to ask if anyone knew that there was a queues reception. Thereafter, another member of staff turned up to check in the long line of people waiting. Booked into room which was very small and looking round, very tired and in need of some redecoration. Service items not replenished on arrival. On the second night,tried to sign for some drinks but were told our credit had been denied (as reception were too lazy to transfer data?!!!) we were told. Is that not their job! We took friends there and were disappointed with this attitude. On checkout, we asked for our bags to be stored until we were ready to pick them up at our train time, about 2 hours. Were told we needed to pay £3 per bag for storage?????? at a hotel Concierge????? Having travelled all over the world, I have never been asked to pay for this service. Always thought it was a part of hotel hospitality! Now apparently we were told it was a deterent? Only customer deterent! Don't think we will use this venue again for our Christmas break. Very disappointing.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank lady4brabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear lady4brabus,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel.

It was a shame to hear of your disappointment with certain aspects of your stay and please rest assured this has been passed forward to the management team here to discuss with their teams.

With regards room charges - if a card authorisation is provided on arrival, then the account will be open for charges to occur. This is something offered as standard on arrival to all guests; in the event of no authorisation being provided, then no charges can be made to a room account as there would exist no guarantee of payment. This is standard industry practice and there is no transfer of data required as this is an automated system.

In relation to bag storage, we do charge on departure for this (arriving guest luggage is stored without charge if a room is not available for immediate check in). Given heightened levels of risk in relation to recent events across Manchester and the UK, we were initially advised by local authorities not to store bags due to the sheer volume of bags being stored (in excess of 200 bags at times). In order to remain offering the service to guests, a means had to be established by which we could reduce luggage volumes and provide adequate indemnity against any incidents that may occur as a result of property left with us. As this indemnity amounted to an additional cost to cover associated risks, it would be unfair to raise prices across all guests so we chose instead to implement a nominal charge of £3 per case stored. This is cheaper than the left luggage store at Piccadilly Train Station and is indeed designed to both reduce the luggage left with us and to ensure that we do not have to pass on an increase to all guests for a service used by only some guests.

We appreciate you may not wish to stay here in future however we do hope that the above gives some clarity to matters and we trust that you may reconsider in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

All went very well except for check-in, which was a disaster ... my room keys didnt work and my wake-up call never happened.
Very nice room though, and friendly bar/restaurant staff ... but the Christmas party that was going on was absorbing much of their activity .
I shall return ..

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear Paul W

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel.

It was great to read you enjoyed your stay however disappointing to hear of your check in experience. We discovered an issue with one of our key-coding machines which has now been sent for repair and we apologise for the disruption this caused to your stay.

Please remain assured that your feedback has been passed to the relevant managers to review with their teams and address accordingly.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a Privilege Room on the 7th floor and were very disappointed. The staff were nice, but the rooms are in desperate need of renovation.
The bed was so small that neither of us got a good night's sleep. It was more like a large single bed than a double, and a good 20 cm narrower than at the nearby Novotel.
The windows were single glazed with badly fitted supplementary glazing, which made the room very cold. The air conditioning needed to be on at a very high temperature throughout the night and day to combat the cold. Though in the morning, the air from the air conditioner stank so much of bacon from the breakfast room that it needed to be turned off. As soon as we turned it off, the room became ice cold and damp.
There were also other problems with the room, such as:
No heated towel rail in the bathroom.
The bath and shower were old and out of date.
There was no fridge.
The safe was on the floor.
The sofa felt "dusty", and was uninviting and uncomfortable to sit on.
You could not see the TV from the sofa.

I would not say in this hotel again, and would not recommend it to anyone wanting a good night's sleep.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BerlinBummler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear BerlinBummler

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel.

It was disappointing to hear that you encountered issues with the heating in your room; a matter that I am now assured has been rectified by our maintenance team, please do accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused by this.

All guest feedback is regularly reviewed and discussed with the senior management team here and your notes have been passed forward to enable this to occur and for us to review available options for improvement moving forward.

All our double bedded rooms have a standard UK double as their minimum size - we do not offer smaller beds than this except for the singles in our twin rooms and we apologise that you felt the bed was too small, similarly with regards to a fridge, this is not something we advertise as provided within the rooms and it was a shame that this caused disappointment as this is not a facility provided within the rooms.

It was a shame that you would not wish to return however we hope that you may reconsider in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

On arrival we were hit with a £20 parking bill for 1 night in the hotels own car park, by the way the machine does not work so you have to pay inside, late on we had 2 drinks each and we were hit with a £34 bar bill ,the room was Ok, bathroom dirty , staff not bothered, I won't return and I hope upper management see this review as you ought to be ashamed ! DISGUSTING

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear Chris N,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel.

It was a shame that you felt so poorly regarding certain aspects of your stay - we do advertise the parking prices across all booking channels and on our own website and we apologise if you felt this was unclear ; admittedly we did have an issue with come card payments on the machine and our reception team worked to resolve this with the manufacturer of the machine, as well as ensuring guests were able to park with valid tickets for their stay. In regards bar prices, these are set at a national level across the group and we do run a variety of in house promotions alongside the standard bar tariff for guests to enhance the value of their time with us.

Please rest assured that all guest feedback is shared amongst the senior management here and your comments will be used moving forward to ensure a better service for all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

Perfect location for visiting the city, we arrived early and just wanted to leave bags and the receptionist allowed us to check into our room (3 hours early) as it was ready. Lovely view of Piccadilly Gardens and close to train station. Very clean and nice room and very spacious bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Abyvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear Abyvl,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel.

It was great to read of your experience when staying with us as this demonstrated the service and comfortable experience we aim for with all guests.

We look forward to being able to welcome you to us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews