We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh what a challenge!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Make a Break in Manchester - CLOSED

Make a Break in Manchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Make a break is a real life escape game at the heart of Manchester. Focus on the only objective: find your way out of the locked room in less than 60 minutes. You will not succeed on your own - find some mates! Teamwork is essential, so get another 2-4 buddies and find the clues! The key to success lies in finding the right hints and solving various interesting puzzles and tasks.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oh what a challenge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I would just like to thank the organisers of 'Make a Break'. Last weekend I booked a surprise visit for my husband's birthday. What a fab time we had (two daughters, hubby and myself).

The game lasted just under one hour and it was the fastest hour of our lives. We had around 17 puzzles to crack and at one point I thought we would not be able to escape in time. However, teamwork and determination (oh and a little help from the organiser) we completed the tasks in 53 minutes.

The trick is to take at least four people with you and split up, so that you can all work on a separate problem/puzzle.

if you are looking for something different, fun and interactive then this is definitely for you.

We would all love to have another go in the future when the puzzles/games have been changed.

Thanks once again for a memorable day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeDee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    0
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“YOU MUST GO !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The place opened up earlier for us so we could fit this in before our 'flying' experience elsewhere - very much appreciated; thank you.

Upon arrival going through the main downstairs door, I thought what an awful dirty, litter strewn dingy place!! Don't let this deter you - in a way it adds to the unusual experience !!

Three of us played the game and we all thoroughly enjoyed it; despite at £21pp it was pricey. It has left a 'sour taste' to have just read a review saying a group of 4 paid £14 each !! Would welcome a comment back from the owner about this please.

The young lady was very pleasant and helpful. All the games were fun & 'testing'. Thank you for a great one hour 10 mins !!! (Yes, we got extra time to get out) !! LOL x

P.S. For those who have trouble with stairs, please bear in mind there are a lot of stairs to walk up.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hiya45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gergely F, Owner at Make a Break in Manchester, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Hiya45,
Many thanks for the great review. We are really glad you enjoyed your Make a Break experience.
About the price: currently we have three different prices: £63 (3 members); £ 68 (4 members) and £75 (5 members). Everybody books for these prices. Make a break opened on 1st April. From 1 April till 20 April we had a special promotional price that is why other gamers could play for a little bit cheaper in April.
About the stairs: For those who have trouble with stairs, there is a lift as well. In this case please let us (or the coordinator on the spot) know and our coordinator will show you the lift.
The old warehouse that is quite run down is suitable for the game and we think it contributes to the feeling of being kidnapped.
Anyway we are happy you enjoyed the adventure.
Have nice day,
Gergely
Make a break team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent new activity in Manchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

It's a fantastic way to spend an hour in Manchester. The gamemaster was a gentle and friendly young man. He explained everything in a short briefing session then the fun began. The puzzles are really good and challenging. We got out in 52 minutes, but we would have been quicker if my remote control car skills were better, but I don't wanna spoil it for anybody. You must do it when you are in Manchester.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gergely F, Owner at Make a Break in Manchester, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Steve
Thank you for writing this imressive review and rating us 5 stars :-D.
Hope you will recommend us to your friends. In case we have new games, we will let you know.
Gergely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Make a break was really good, but has only just started up so needs some work before it is amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We did make a break as a group of 4 which came to a total of £56. which is quite expensive for what it was. But they have only just started up and will be expanding in the future. I can tell it will be a massive hit as we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. I'm not going to spoil it for anyone by saying what you had to do, but you did have to use your brain a lot! and put it together with the other people in your group. Wouldn't have been able to do it by myself in 60 minutes, so the more people the better! Overall it was a great experience and nothing like it about, i will be going back in the future but probably when it is a expanded and has more rooms etc to escape out of.

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank danielletugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Get your thinking caps on!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We did it in a group of 4 as something different to do for my girlfriend, sister and her boyfriend. We were meet by a lovely European woman who took us into the old run down warehouse. She was very nice and explained the game to us and gave us a radio so we could contact her if we were stuck. He accent on the walkie talkie and the run down warehouse made me feel like I was on the set of Taken. We broke out in 42mins and were told we were the only ones to break out that day.

Better to have more people as the more brain power the better. Takes a few puzzles to figure out what to be expecting from future clues.

The only downfall, which I think the owners realise themselves, is that you can only play once as we were told they will change the game in a years time. Shame they have't got other break out games in other rooms (because they have enough space) as we all said we would love to come back but it's pointless doing the same game again.

Something different to do in Manchester and a bit of fun for the hour.

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gergely F, Owner at Make a Break in Manchester, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your great comments! We are proud that your game met your expectation.
As soon as we open a new escape game we will let you know.
Best regards,

Gergely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Make a Break in Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing