We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice room and helpfull staff”
Review of The Ox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ox
Ranked #4 of 29 Manchester B&B and Inns
middlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very nice room and helpfull staff”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

me and my partner stayed here for 0ne night august 09 we were goin the jeremy kyle show it was easy to get to the studios, a 10 min walk, very busy pub we ordered pizzas to our room and the staff ordered it for us very nice place to stay.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank michboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    69
    31
    14
    20
See reviews for
21
77
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Made the mistake of having a pint with some work colleagues before a meal out last night. While being served one of the floor staff/managers TOLD us to move . No please would you mind, or sorry you can't stand here. Not a bad pint but shocking manners , never again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank idlavelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

London
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here for one night before a friends wedding. The pub is traditional and very busy, with outside seating. They was a large group of us eating and the food came out in bits, but was nice and good portions, reasonably priced.

The room was quite grand, very large with a nice new bathroom, big windows that overlooked the street, this was quite noisy but we are a young couple so don't mind too much, it all quieten down about 1.30am.

The rooms do not have air conditioning and can be quite warm, otherwise a good stay

Would reccommend to younger people who need a cheap place to stay for a weekend

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winefoodholidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Literally 3minutes walk from Deansgate station, quite a walk to the shops. Nice and clean and decorated quirky! beds are super comfy, no coathangers.

The breakfast was good quality tasty food and the service was all good and friendly.

The only downsides were if you wanted a early night..... DON'T bother! yes its above a pub but we didn't expect it to be that bad. We were freezing when we got in and they couldn't give us extra blankets because they were in the cleaners cupboard that they couldn't get into.

Room Tip: I would ask for the very top floor as it may be quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We had lunch for Four people and it was great. The service was excellent and smooth with no rushing to get you from the table.The range of beers was good too at reasonable prices for a city venue.
The manager and staff were polite and friendly. The price was well within our budget for pensioners on a day out in the big city. Will be back again, God willing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 480Lachlan_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

8 of us went to see a show this weekend and once again we booked the ox for dinner before the show. Excellent food and special mention the Restaurant Manager excellent customer service definitely will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Had a great stay here for four nights. Room was clean and comfy. It's a little bit loud, but you're above a pub and a great pub at that. Had a great meal there...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkl3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castlefield Hotel
Castlefield Hotel
#60 of 118 in Manchester
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 118 in Manchester
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#41 of 118 in Manchester
4,360 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
5,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ox

Property: The Ox
Address: 71 Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ox 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ox Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing