We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice.”
Review of The Oxnoble

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oxnoble
Ranked #8 of 29 Manchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

The shower was broken but was still useable. When we got there the staff werw busy with it being dinner time but just left us waiting for ages before they saw to us. The hallways stank of wer animals and jusy dirty but the rooms were lovely and warm and spacious. A bit noisey being near bars and stuff but was all good.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellytots93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Ox last night and had a lovely stay. Really nice room, spotlessly clean and really comfy bed. No noise issues and the staff were brilliant. Will definitely stay there again. very good location and the food being served looked fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank km2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Great atmosphere and cosy hotel good beer, good service, but the wine is the worst i have ever tasted and charged at top price!.....they could use it on their chips for vinegar or in their cooking but definately NOT for drinking, I have tried all of them and whoever is the buyer needs sacking or be sent on a wine course not a vinegar tasting course!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison-Wardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our family of four had two rooms for our last night in the UK. The food was very good and staff was professional. We really enjoyed our stay. The MOSI is right across the street and all the Deansgate shops are close. We will return on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylviesbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely pub chatty staff probably a little to personal on questions but up to you how you reply but still very pleasant.
Rooms basic beds clean but too hard stayed in a twin room. I dont think the bathroom had had a clean for a little while was musty then a clean fresh smell. Marks on carpet.
It served its purpose I would stay again as a good friendly cheap night

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eangiectr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

As a regular visitor to the bar for food and drink in the past, I looked forward to treating my parents to a celebratory meal on their trip over from York - maybe not my best idea this year! The food was at best OK: pies were flavoursome; ham hock bland. However the service was very poor. The waitress (I assume she was new) didn't appear to have a clue about the menu and had to keep running back to the kitchen to get answers to our questions, e.g. what veg came with the pie? does the soup have cream in it?
Very slow service to get our initial drinks and take our order, and once the mains arrived they still got my mother's request wrong (no mash please, just plain veg. It came with mash and no veg). The table was slow to be cleared, with empty and unused wine glasses piling up.

This once exciting eatery has introduced a new menu, competitively priced and with a good range of options. The food is passable but not anything to rave about; the service is dire and based on last night's experience we will not be back in the foreseeable future. The bill of £116 for 4 people with drinks was reasonable; the service not worthy of a tip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank gazzathom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Good value. Yes, hot and noisy if your room is on the main road, but good enough for one or two nights visiting Manchester. Its location is its main strength. Near all the nightlife and restaurants in Deansgate and Spinningfields, and walkable to Old Trafford. And just along the road from Akhbars, the best curry place I've been to.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#31 of 121 in Manchester
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Castlefield Hotel
The Castlefield Hotel
#59 of 121 in Manchester
687 reviews
2.3 mi away
Luther King House
Luther King House
#1 of 29 in Manchester
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxnoble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxnoble

Address: 71 Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: £67 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oxnoble 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1804, the pub derives it's name from the Georgian variety of potato. We are situated right next to the Science and Industry museum, with great access to The Manchester Arena, Old Trafford, Lancashire Cricket Ground, plus walking distance to the Opera House theatre and Palace Theatre. We have 10 en-suite bedrooms above the pub allowing you to have all you need for a great trip to Manchester. We also have breakfast on everyday until midday and serve traditional pub food with a modern twist from midday till late everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oxnoble reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ox Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing