We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

After a recent weekend visit to Manchester I am full of praise for this superb hotel. For those who know Manchester, it is located at the bottom of the slope that leads down from Piccadilly Station; for those who are new to Manchester, it is right in the centre near trams and buses and within a few minutes' walking distance of shops, restaurants - and even within walking distance of the Etihad Stadium for City's matches. (Ask for directions or get a taxi.)
Location apart, it is a modern, clean, tasefully furnished and friendly hotel with lovely staff They even have a supply of umbrellas for those who underestimate the likelihood of rain in the city.The busy bar and restaurant are first-rate with a nice range of of drinks and meals. Once again, highly recommended on every level.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atkino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you for sharing such a glowing review!

It is genuinely inspiring to read and share with the team such positive feedback from our Guests. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mint Hotel in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly, Jack.Appleton@minthotel.com.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,122
    1,401
    422
    117
    43
See reviews for
373
1,591
337
1,083
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I stay over in Manchester quite a lot for and because of lots of positives reviews thought this would be the perfect venue for our hallween weekend. We booked 2 rooms (two couples) and had late check out 3pm built into our deal. Location is very good, near to Piccadily train station, soon as we arrived the staff are quite warming and proffessional even though it seems very busy. The rooms are a bit of a let down to be honest, quite small and pokey and not really what I expected for a hotel that was rated fabulous by many. Being unfortunately in construction for my sins pricing hotels is my game. e.g. a travelodge would cost around 35k to build a room were as a malmaison would cost around 120k a room, a mint hotel from a quality point of view seems like it sits in the middle. The hotel feels a bit lifeless maybe boring, I was just expecting so much more. The breakfast on the Sunday was very bad, Firstly we had to wait at least 30 min to be seated (everbody goes at the same time!), the hostess didnt realy know what she was doing, when we finally got seated, we were asked for our order before we had seen a menu, drinks never arrived even though we asked 3 seperate people, two breakfasts came the others didnt, in the end we half ate it and went. I complained to the manager, who sort of appologsed and gave us his card, by this point we had enough and went home.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with Tripadvisor. It would be great if you could contact me directly at the hotel to discuss your feedback further, Jack.Appleton@minthotel.com.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed here for a friends 40th and had 5 rooms booked on a deal which was excellent value for money , the hotel is very clean and modern , light and sorry and trendy , will def stay again !

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferret40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thank you for your review.

We take great pride in our service, it is great to read you enjoyed your visit. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mint Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Amazing hotel. Fantastic service especially from Alice, Charlie, Jennifer and Jenny in the hotel bar!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wickywawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. I will pass on your thanks to the Piccadilly Lounge Team.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Mint Hotel Manchester.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Like a lot of people on TA, I opted to stay at the Mint on a B&B basis (last night, 02/12) based on the positive reviews on here and I was not disappointed.

The location really is two minutes away from the Piccadilly train station, which makes it one of the most accessible hotels in Manchester.

The majority of staff I encountered during my stay from the reception to the Cafe exuded genuine warmth. I was given a room on the third floor, which had a very good view of the City. The room was cosy and had everything as advertised. The iMac was great and had a great range of channels including all four Skysports channels! The internet was non-responsive in the evening but was fine in the early hours and then again during the morning.

The bathroom was very clean; the shower was great and the bathrobes were a nice touch.

The breakfast at the Cafe in the morning was spot on. Customers can order from the menu and help themselves to the buffet; I was more than satisfied.

Overall, a great hotel in a great location and most importantly, great value. I would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Room 323 on the 3rd floor is a corner room with a very good view of the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheekymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Thank you for sharing your review.

It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We take the feedback from our guests extremely seriously and to read that you would look forward to returning to the hotel is fantastic.

Please contact me directly next time you plan to stay in Manchester. Jack.Appleton@minthotel.com.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We had our Christmas do there last night and it was excellent! Booking staff (Emma) was fantastic and the staff on the night (led by Mark), were really good - nothing was too much trouble. Hotel is lovely - clean, modern but comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellsy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with the Tripadvisor community, it is great to read you had an enjoyable experience.

I will share your feedback directly with Mark and Emma.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed for one night and the hotel is perfect for a short stay in Manchester. Rooms well equipped, free WiFi or full IMac with speakers etc. Spottlessly clean and great service. Didnt eat at the hotel and a little noise from a function downstairs, so just one notch below perfect this time...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxfan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a fantastic review.

We genuinely look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Mint Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,802 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#41 of 118 in Manchester
4,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing