We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #20 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
WIRRAL, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

I chose to stay here because of previous good reviews and I was not disappointed. The room was of moderate size, but very adequate and clean. There was only a shower in the bathroom, my wife would have preferred a bath, but the shower was good and large enough. The view from the bedroom was of office blocks, but it is the middle of the city after all, and having said that it was very quiete with no street noise intruding.
There is an iMac which doubles as the TV, it took me a few minutes to work out how to get the speakers to come on, not the most friendly system if you are a technophobe.
We arrived by train and it is very convenient for Piccadilly station, a short walk with a bridge and ramp providing easy pedestrian access to the hotel.
I think the previous reviewer was just unlucky, we had prompt sevice at reception and the staff were polite and very helpful.
I can't comment about the food, we did not eat in the hotel. The bar is a modern hotel bar, a bit impersonal to my taste but probably suiting many.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for your review.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mint Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,020
    1,341
    411
    115
    41
See reviews for
357
1,533
316
1,032
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Anyone who's seen my previous reviews knows I'm not really a serial complainer. Only the godawful loony bin that is Tintagel Castle in the west country has really provoked my ire before.
Usually, I only use this forum to recommend and praise - I hate those Tripadvisor contributors who find a spider in the bathroom and fulminate for ten paragraphs about cleanliness issues.
But, up here on a story for my newspaper, I had a pretty miserable evening. I'd heard good things about the Mint, so was not prepared for the unhelpful reception staff (who overcharged me the next day), the rather cramped room (I'd asked for the biggest bed available being 6'5"), and the unbearable noise from the adjacent room, which made it very hard to concentrate on work. I called reception to complain but the indifference to my plight was palpable. Nothing was done.
It does look good and, given the other positive reviews I obviously caught them on an off-night, but what an off-night it was. Frankly, I was treated shabbily.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EssexPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

As a regular business traveller and frequent visitor to this hotel, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Manchester. Fantastic staff, clean well equipped and good sized rooms. If you want a quieter room get one looking out over Auburn Street - not a very good view of a long derelict building but quiet! I just hope that Hilton don't wreck this great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maltonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review.

It is fantastic to read such great comments from someone who stays with us on such a regular basis - I'm glad you enjoy Mint Hotel again and again.

As always we are on hand 24/7 to respond and react to valuable Guest feedback, Jack.Appleton@minthotel.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

After a recent weekend visit to Manchester I am full of praise for this superb hotel. For those who know Manchester, it is located at the bottom of the slope that leads down from Piccadilly Station; for those who are new to Manchester, it is right in the centre near trams and buses and within a few minutes' walking distance of shops, restaurants - and even within walking distance of the Etihad Stadium for City's matches. (Ask for directions or get a taxi.)
Location apart, it is a modern, clean, tasefully furnished and friendly hotel with lovely staff They even have a supply of umbrellas for those who underestimate the likelihood of rain in the city.The busy bar and restaurant are first-rate with a nice range of of drinks and meals. Once again, highly recommended on every level.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atkino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you for sharing such a glowing review!

It is genuinely inspiring to read and share with the team such positive feedback from our Guests. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mint Hotel in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly, Jack.Appleton@minthotel.com.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I stay over in Manchester quite a lot for and because of lots of positives reviews thought this would be the perfect venue for our hallween weekend. We booked 2 rooms (two couples) and had late check out 3pm built into our deal. Location is very good, near to Piccadily train station, soon as we arrived the staff are quite warming and proffessional even though it seems very busy. The rooms are a bit of a let down to be honest, quite small and pokey and not really what I expected for a hotel that was rated fabulous by many. Being unfortunately in construction for my sins pricing hotels is my game. e.g. a travelodge would cost around 35k to build a room were as a malmaison would cost around 120k a room, a mint hotel from a quality point of view seems like it sits in the middle. The hotel feels a bit lifeless maybe boring, I was just expecting so much more. The breakfast on the Sunday was very bad, Firstly we had to wait at least 30 min to be seated (everbody goes at the same time!), the hostess didnt realy know what she was doing, when we finally got seated, we were asked for our order before we had seen a menu, drinks never arrived even though we asked 3 seperate people, two breakfasts came the others didnt, in the end we half ate it and went. I complained to the manager, who sort of appologsed and gave us his card, by this point we had enough and went home.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with Tripadvisor. It would be great if you could contact me directly at the hotel to discuss your feedback further, Jack.Appleton@minthotel.com.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed here for a friends 40th and had 5 rooms booked on a deal which was excellent value for money , the hotel is very clean and modern , light and sorry and trendy , will def stay again !

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferret40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thank you for your review.

We take great pride in our service, it is great to read you enjoyed your visit. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mint Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Amazing hotel. Fantastic service especially from Alice, Charlie, Jennifer and Jenny in the hotel bar!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wickywawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. I will pass on your thanks to the Piccadilly Lounge Team.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Mint Hotel Manchester.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing