We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great nights stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is my review on the Doubletree by Hilton in Manchester

We do live in Manchester but with a problem in our Apartment block due to no water we had to check into this Hotel

It is the perfect location right next door to Piccadilly Station,Canal Street and the rest of Manchester on the doorstep

Check in was quick and asked for a view of Canal Street but we did not get it, We also recieved two warm cookies at check in

We was on the 6th floor with an ok view, The Rooms are an ok size not to big and not to small but all in adequate size, the bed was super comfortable and the room was quite modern, It also has a i mac computer/television with a keyboard and mouse, and super fast wifi, the bathroom was also a good size though no bath just a shower,each room also has a large floor to ceiling window

The whole stay was very comfortable though and its great modern hotel which is close to everything and a stones throw away from Canal Street

Room Tip: Ask for a good view or a corner room of Canal Street or a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orlandouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear orlandouk,

As a Tripadvisor 'Top Contributor' thank you for taking the time to share your views and media with the online community.

It is fantastic to learn, as a neighbour you enjoyed the hotel - we welcomed many residents of your neighbouring apartment building over the weekend and it was fantastic to share our local hospitality with you all!

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to sample our Restaurant and Bar.

Best wishes,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,191 - 3,197 of 4,333 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. great staff, rooms, breakfast, location. just perfect really will be staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for your review.

We all look forward to welcoming you back - great to hear we will be seeing you again soon!

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I recently planned a visit to Manchester and stayed in the Double Tree hotel. From the first step in to the hotel we were warmly welcomed, and that warmth and friendliness of the staff stayed throughout our visit. The bedroom was large, clean, and light, the beds was very comfortabl, and the shower room was spotless. We also ate in the resturant, both at lunchtime and breakfast and the food was supurb, well cooked, fresh and well presented. I would defintely reccommend this hotel to everybody and would certainly stay there again myself.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with Tripadvisor.

It is genuinely inspiring to read and share with the team such fantastic feedback, we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I have stayed at this hotel in it's many incarnations, City Inn, Mint and now Doubletree by Hilton and now it's really at it's lowest ebb. I guess it's going to become a travelodge soon!

Great location, nice room, still imac PC/TV from 5 years ago, looks way to small now. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable, kingsize (ish) ie two singles zipped together and boy, can you feel that zip! The pillows were cheap and hard. The bed simply does not match the website description at all.

Breakfast was horrible. Cheap produce cooked badly. The bacon was weirdly cooked, chewy with horrible uncooked white fat.

The cocktail bar, which used to be fantastic is a little uncomfortable now and needs updating. It wasn't busy but still took us over 10 minutes to get served.

It now feels very much like a 2/3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyXSteveUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel - clean, friendly, convenient location and reasonably priced. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear UK72,

Great to read such a great review. We are so glad you enjoyed staying with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This hotel is in an ideal location for easy access to the city centre as well as Manchester Picadilly train station. The hotel itself was £79 for a double room and was reasonable. Unfortunately attention to detail was missed and there were stains over the 2 chairs in the room which were visable from first stepping in the door. The glasses in the bathroom were covered in toothpaste also which is quite off putting! We didnt have food in the restaurant so I cannot comment on this.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s3ema1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your revew.

It is great to read that the hotel and location were so suitable for your needs during your visit to Manchester. I am so sorry that the Housekeeping standard did not meet our high standards. I have shared your comments with our Executive Head Housekeeper.

Please contact me next time you plan to stay in the city, Jack.Appleton@hilton.com. It would be my pleasure to assist with accomodation arrangements.

Best wishes,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Located close to train station , central to restaurants and bars. Well presented efficient staff, comfortable rooms with all facilities, bar and restaurant good. ideal place to stay if you want to be in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PazGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed your stay - it does have the be said that the location of the hotel is fantastic. We are located right in the centre of the city, within walking distance, easily to all major attractions.

If Guests require advice when making reservations in Manchester - I would be delighted to assist, we have Guest Services Teams on hand 24/7 to respond and react to all enquiries, Jack.Appleton@hilton.com.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,878 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#39 of 121 in Manchester
2,650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#47 of 121 in Manchester
4,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £80 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing