We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here in December 2011, when it was still the Mint Hotel Manchester.

Firstly - the location is great. Just a couple of minutes from Manchester Piccadilly and only 10 minutes walk from downtown Manchester.

The concierge and checkin staff were very helpful and friendly. Although I know Manchester pretty well, they gave me a couple of good tips on where to get a good meal nearby at a late hour, which was nice.

The room was a little tired, but very clean, comfortable and tidy. The combined computer/TV was a bti fiddly to use, but having the access to internet and computer in the room was really useful. Bathroom was of a good size, and the bed was very comfy.

Overall, a good hotel in a good location - will stay again one of these days when I come back again to watch the mighty Champions in action again at the Etihad!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcs_095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,955 - 2,961 of 4,333 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed at the DoubleTree for Manchester Pride weekend. Great location - next to canal street and the rail station. Very clean and comfortable. Brilliant idea giving pride goers discount on the bar food. Continental breakfast could have more variety.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The room was not as nice as other Hilton hotels I have stayed in but in saying that it was still very nice. The bathroom was lovely and clean and looked like it had just been re-done. Having the computer and internet access in the room was also a bonus. We had breakfast included in our rate and was really impressed with the quality and selection. Went to one of the hotel bars on our last night for dessert and cocktails and both where delicious. The concierge was very helpful and knowledgeable when we asked for directions to places around the city. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwispudpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed at the hotel on business and as always nothing negative to report, check in was fast and efficient , room ok , bar and slection of drinks fast class and the major plus as always with this hotel are the staff.

Location spot on as it across from the station and in walking distance of the main pubs and restaurants

Nothing more to add !

Room Tip: Book early as always for the best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seandonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a superbly located, quality hotel which offers good value for money. The bed was very comfortable and the staff and general service was excellent.There is a lovely cocktail bar which serves snacks until late in the evening, as well as a restaurant (which we didn't try).

We did not eat breakfast at the hotel because, even for the cheaper option, it would have cost around an extra £17 per day for the two of us! There are plenty of places to get a good breakfast in the centre of Manchester, so this is not a problem. I'm sure the breakfast is very tasty - but slightly over - priced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZaraVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed for one night for a theatre visit and can only reinforce what the majority of reviewers say. Nice, clean, modern hotel with a good ambience and pleasant staff. Yes, there are a lot of foreign staff but hey, if they want the work and others don't..........Liked the free wifi and Apple Mac and the efficient, quiet air con. Disliked the high bar prices. My only advice would be to book early as we did and got a good deal which included a top class breakfast.

Room Tip: As for a quiet room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trotters2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Was delivering a training at this hotel and stayed the Friday night before. LOVED getting a warm chocolate and nut cookie when I checked in. The room was clean, well appointed, and more than spacious enough for my needs. The hotel in general was quiet, clean, and pleasant. Breakfast was included and it was quite good. Also, you can't beat the location, just a 5 minute walk from the station and two Starbucks.

Price (£99) was considerably more than I would pay myself, but since someone else was paying...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oohmercyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,878 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#39 of 121 in Manchester
2,650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#47 of 121 in Manchester
4,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £80 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing