We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not Deansgate but it's wonderful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #18 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Booked the Doubletree as I couldn't get a room at the fantastic Hilton on Deansgate as I usually would.
From start to finish the staff made our stay truly wonderful.
The rooms aren't quite luxury but the apple technology and bright airy feel made it really pleasant.
Breakfast was worth the £100 fee alone and again the staff couldn't do enough.
Car park facility was perfect as was the freshly baked warm cookie on arrival.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,844 - 2,850 of 4,226 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

Next to Piccadilly station for easy access to airport and transport. Metroshuttle 2 & 3 stop at station as well so hopping into one of them can get you other parts of city. Walking 5 mins and you are in city centre shopping area.
Room is small - best part is the iMac with Internet access! Use it so much as I was hunting for a secondhand car to buy.
Nice touch when checking in - given 2 warm chocolate cookies and checking in was quick. Apples at counter for a free snack after coming back from walk.
Will stay again if I can get a good rate.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinghq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed for one night with friends. We had booked two king rooms but on arrival were told only one available however this was quickly sorted to our original request. The rooms were large and very clean . The hotel is well located in city centre with pay car park next door. On a sat/sunday the car park is only £5 per day which is good value for location.
The only let down for hotel was the breakfast, the hot buffet area is very small resulting in continues backlog of people. When we all went there were empty trays for variuos breakfast items resulting in waiting around but without all hot items ever being there. we asked for eggs, beans and bacon which were all obtained but at diffirent times resulting in a poor and luke warm selection.
Hiltons have a good breakfast but this one let the hotel down.

Room Tip: We had king room on floor 8 which was spacious, clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HareCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I've stayed at the City Inn Westminster before - and was pleased to see that Doubletree at Manchester Picc is the same ex-brand of hotel. The staff were incredibly helpful (even managed to find me an iphone charger at 4am when I came back from my Brother-In-Laws stag do!

Free (warm) cookie on arrival was greatly appreciated in the miserable Manchester weather. The room was spotless, the bed was comfortable, the imac worked perfectly for TV and as a computer. This is one of the touches I really like from the City Inn days.

I would absolutely stay here again and honestly, I'm looking for a good excuse to visit manchester again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have visited DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester in its former guises of City Inn and Mint and whilst we liked it, we had slight reservations (no pun intended) but this visit has proved that the Hilton takeover has had a massive positive influence and improvements are evident. The staff are very attentive, courteous, efficient and keen to assist, and that obviously comes from the top. We asked for an earlier check in, and a room was made available for us, slightly earlier than the 3pm earliest check in, however this had an adjoining door to a room occupied by some younger clients, and we could hear their every word, so we politely asked if we could change rooms, and this was accommodated with the minimum of fuss and very quickly. This is the mark of a good hotel, how they deal with problems, however small. A request for more tea bags was met with a speedy smiling response and we noticed a particular improvement in the restaurant for breakfast. The young female waiting staff were a delight, they were busy but dealt with guests speedily and with a smile, and cleared tables with alacrity and quiet efficiency. Breakfast has changed to a buffet style which we prefer, with a wide choice of continental and traditional breakfast fayre. One slight criticism is that the plates for the hot choice were stone cold and would benefit from being heated, but a mere trifle that can be easily addressed. Graham, the duty manager, was a charming man who obviously knows how to get the best from his staff and got stuck in himself, tweaking and clearing tables whilst assisting a very pleasant Juliet and her colleagues.
Hotels rely on a great location, and in that regard they hit the mark big style. It is three minutes walk across the road from Piccadilly Railway station, and fifty yards from a very good, clean, light and secure carpark. We paid £5 for a 24 hour period. Saturday into Sunday, which was tremendous value and very convenient. Two massive positives for travellers.
The rooms haven't changed a great deal. But they were pretty good to begin with, and I understand that the hotel will undergo a room refurbishment, so the slightly jaded upholstered elements of the furniture will be replaced. The Apple media/tv system is classy and very efficient and one that other hotel chains could learn from. All in all, a very pleasant stay, I would not hesitate to recommend you give it a try. The hotel and staff are trying to improve and for my money, they are doing a great job. Great value, great service and worthy of your patronage.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms appear to be on the same side as the reception, and near Aytoun Street, and the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWTandNBTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently and it was a nice experience. The hotel is well located near the transport hub and central shopping area. Excellent location, great staff who provide great service.
B C Teh, Malaysia

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BCTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed 2 nights

Price a bit high, tho fair for this city centre location to be honest - I compared it with the others (Novotel, Malmaison, . Convenient location for my stay, but worth noting that it's also a few hundred metres from Piccadilly Gardens (taxis, bus, tram), and even less than that from Piccadilly Rail Station, 2 mins walk (maybe less!)

Great breakfast, abv avg even for this standard of hotel - see smoked "salmon & scrambled eggs on brioche" for reference!

Staff were polite, and actually quite diligent & helpful with my 2 minor enquiries - however they were a touch cold/distant rather than engaging. My opinion (not fact!) is that this may be due to the fact that the brand have just taken over the place from Mint, and should improve.

Fitness room - decent cardio machines, but no free weights at all, so disappointing as thats what I went in for.

Nice touches: iMac TVs in the room & the warm cookie on arrival.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevebent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 120 in Manchester
4,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £77 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing