We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I have been to this hotel many times with work and I am always really impressed with the rooms/service here. On arrival you get a warm cookie (great first impression) and the rooms are clean and modern. I haven't eaten in the restaurant for a while but the hotel is just a short walk from a vast range of bars, restaurants and shops. The hotel is also just opposite the train station which is very convenient! I am planning several more trips to Manchester this year and I know I will be staying here!

Room Tip: Lower ground rooms facing the tram can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilMonds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,052
    1,360
    414
    115
    42
See reviews for
360
1,553
323
1,045
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Despite a good position opposite Manchester station, clean and comfortable rooms, this hotel is let down by a poor attention to detail. (1) Some of the staff have a weak command of English (2) an important e mail forwarded for room delivery had to be 'tracked down' only on my insistence nearly 24 hours later (3) Reception were too preoccupied presenting a complimentary cookie on arrival to hear my request for a quiet room at the back and I was assigned exactly the opposite (4) Reception failed to ask if I required bar / restaurant credit on check in and I was then asked to return to my room for a credit card mid evening before having to queue again at reception to secure authorisation (5) despite having pre paid for the room, I was declined an invoice on check,being told that I would receive this on departure. This did not happen, my check out invoice detailing only the restaurant bill.
For a chain of it's reputational quality, this was a very poor experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamsgateKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear RamsgateKevin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor.

If you could contact me directly via email, it would be great to discuss the contents of your review further, Jack.Appleton@hilton.com.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed one night, mid week, in April. Weather was poor, grey, dull but the hotel was warm and inviting. Amazingly close to Piccadilly station, just a few minutes walk and the cookie greeting was a plesant surprise. The room was not ready when we got there so we were given a drinks voucher and spent 20 pleasant minutes in the bar waiting. Te room was spacious although only set up for one, not two people so amenities a little short, corrected when we asked. A corner room with a view down Canal Street, perfect location for the village. Staff always smiling nd the hotel itself it modern with MAC TV in the room. Functional furniture more than stylish, but comfortable. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Doubletree by Hilton hotel. We were greeted with a warm cookie which was yummy!! The staff were lovely, very accommodating. Room was basic, not much decor, but done the trick!!! The Apple Mac Computer/TV was something different!! Breakfast was very nice, plenty to choose from. We didn't eat dinner here though. Only a 2 minute walk from Piccadilly train/metro station and only a 5 minute walk from the Arndale shopping centre and lots of pubs and restaurants.
We will definately be staying here again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 2nd floor if you like your sleep!! The doors start banging about 6 oclock i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevisa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

3rd time i have been staying here over the last few years, so under 3 different names City inn, Mint and now Doubletree.

What i do like is that none of the changes to the name reflected in the look of the hotel, so nice, simple scandinavian feel that works for me.

What also hasnt changed is the SUPER nice staff, cleaners, waiters and receptionists, all there to make your stay perfect.

The restaurant... only ever ahd breakfast and boy was it good! I never book with breakfast as i like to be flexible with my time and hate paying for something I end up not using, but here they have had a cleaver idea, if you "book" your breakfast the evening before you get a good discount, and this was how i did it and i loved the idea, wish other hotels would learn form this!

The rooms are great, ok as some of the other reviews say the rooms do need a bit of attention, the style and look is perfect but to many marks on carpet, chairs and then the bedsheet was REALLY worn! Whats cool is the views, try to get a room on one of the higher floors! and I love the Apple computer and entertainment system, cool idea, only slight bummer, you cant watch tv while surfing the internet.

The location is great, especially when arriving by trian, right next to piccadilly station and just 10 min walk to Piccadilly Gardens.

Oh and theres the cookie! what a sweet touch, on arrival you are given a warm cookie, and as i ahd problems with my room safe ad had to call for assistance they gave e a cookie gift card, loving it!

I am VERY picky when i book a hotel, i dont want to waist my time and money on a rubish hotel and get stressed about having made the wrong choice, so i always spend a lot og time to look at reviews, and boy does Manchester have many REALLY bad hotels! old, tatty, run down, bad locations... even looking at the 5 star hotels, could they be any worse even if they tried? it seems like the 5 star hotels are making an effort to get as far out of the city center as they can, and then one next door to the doubletree, makes me wonder who made the design and who has turned what should be nice luxury rooms into a small dark room. I would not concider staying at any other hotel in Manchester.

Room Tip: Higher floors = better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viking77London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

A friend booked this hotel for a night as we were at the MEN seeing Pink, excellent location to Picadilly train station/Arndale center/Canal street/town center.

Good views from rooms over city, comfortable bed, clean and well presented rooms .. best sleep i've had for a while.

Tea/coffee making facilities.

Will stay again !!

Room Tip: central location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steviebamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Went on a hen party! Had some lunch in the bar, charming young people serving ..very kind and attentive and went to great lengths to help find charger point for my moby! We then had drinks at various times and all fine. I hadnt p,anned to stay but was given a pleasant and very clean room at a reduced group rate as my fellow party had been given. Nice breakfast room service. For a city centre overnight stay it was close to the station very handy and perfectly ok. I would stay there again if needs be.

Room Tip: I wanted low rise and got it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing