We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a weekend stay! :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for a weekend stay! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Literally right on the doorstep of Central Manchester! So close to everything, and just up from the train station. We parked in an NCP around the corner, less than two mins from hotel. Get hot cookies on arrival! :) Room was lovely, very clean and the service by reception and bar staff, was fabulous. Only downside was that we asked to eat at the hotel on the Saturday night (albeit on short notice), no reservation and were told the "chef is very busy" and "what would we like to eat" - well one, I'd hope that they were busy and two, we didn't have a menu so how did we know?? Anyway, we walked away and went to Abode (separately reviewed) - on the whole, the hotel was value for money and we would definitely stay again. Bar prices a tad high, but that's what you expect from a hotel bar I think!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeezyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,994
    1,328
    403
    115
    40
See reviews for
353
1,517
314
1,015
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

if your arriving by train, perfect location, out of the station, over the bridge and your there...fast checkin, and you get a warm cookie....rooms are clean and comfortable, as you would expect from a chain hotel, beds comfortable, good fluffy towels. smaller tvs are used as they use the screen from an apple mac, so you can use a computer as well, tv channel selection good as they have sky sports in the rooms, free wifi in the rooms which is good, breakfast the normal buffet style, with a good selection of hot and cold offerings. Had room service, which is slightly overpriced, £4 tray charge to be added, food took 35mins to arrive, soup comes in a sauce jug to pour into your bowl, however was luke warm.....overall though a comfortable stay

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John4042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed here because it was near Piccadilly station but as it turns out so are Abode, Malnaison and MacDonalds.The hotel is clean, clinical and processes it's many guests efficiently. We were staying in a Queen Suite which like the hotel was clean, functional but was rather disappointing and lacked any personality. The same can be said for the hotels bars and restaurants... Nothing horrendous but nothing to commend either.We ate in the main restaurant and had a typical hotel meal....average but again nothing to commend and when compared to our delightful meal at Michael Caines in the Abode it was a real disappointment.

So if you want a business hotel which is near Piccadilly and you don't care about personality and just want a good nights sleep and a reasonable but no frills dinner, then this may be your choice. Otherwise you will find it a disappointment and maybe should choose one of its nearby competitors like we will next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StAlbansWilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree Manchester Piccadilly for a long weekend.

Travelling in by train or plane, the location is perfect. Arriving into Manchester Piccadilly station, you walk out of the doors, down the ramp, and the Doubletree is right in front of you. From the hotel, everything within the city centre is walking distance.

The hotel itself is newly built, fresh and modern as you would expect from a Hilton property. We arrived at 1pm which is two hours before the published check-in time, and they checked us in straight away without having to wait. They also give you a complimentary warm cookie which is a nice touch.

The rooms are very nicely proportioned with plenty of space, a desk and small seating area. The windows are full-height which makes it feel very upscale and gives a great view of the skyline. The rooms also include an iMac computer and free internet access which is very useful if you dont have your own computer, note that this does also act as the TV which removes the possibility of having a nice large LCD - which is sometimes nice to have and perhaps what you would usually expect.

The decor of the rooms isn't the best from a design point of view. Although the furniture is relatively new, I found the decor to be quite bland and the wood to be a very odd 'dull' almost greenish colour which is definitely not something I would choose. Some refreshed furniture with bright crisp colours would be nice, but I can only assume that he furniture is actually inherited from the previous hotel chain (before it was owned by Hilton).

The bathrooms are very modern and plush, but could be improved with a bath. The toiletries are of a very good quality, and are replaced every day.

Overall a good choice in Manchester. If you get a good price, go for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Warm welcome on a wet Manchester afternoon. Able to check in early, and the warm cookie went down a treat. Room clean, modern and comfortable. Slept well, no noise at all.
We ate in the bar but would not recommend this - i had a pale looking portion of battered fish (the oil obviously wasnt hot enough when it went in the fryer so really soggy) chips were good. My partner had the burger - his chips were cold. Dont know why we didnt complain but sometimes its just too much hassle.
Also ordered a morning newspaper but it didnt show up

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank royston63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

I have been to this hotel many times with work and I am always really impressed with the rooms/service here. On arrival you get a warm cookie (great first impression) and the rooms are clean and modern. I haven't eaten in the restaurant for a while but the hotel is just a short walk from a vast range of bars, restaurants and shops. The hotel is also just opposite the train station which is very convenient! I am planning several more trips to Manchester this year and I know I will be staying here!

Room Tip: Lower ground rooms facing the tram can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilMonds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Despite a good position opposite Manchester station, clean and comfortable rooms, this hotel is let down by a poor attention to detail. (1) Some of the staff have a weak command of English (2) an important e mail forwarded for room delivery had to be 'tracked down' only on my insistence nearly 24 hours later (3) Reception were too preoccupied presenting a complimentary cookie on arrival to hear my request for a quiet room at the back and I was assigned exactly the opposite (4) Reception failed to ask if I required bar / restaurant credit on check in and I was then asked to return to my room for a credit card mid evening before having to queue again at reception to secure authorisation (5) despite having pre paid for the room, I was declined an invoice on check,being told that I would receive this on departure. This did not happen, my check out invoice detailing only the restaurant bill.
For a chain of it's reputational quality, this was a very poor experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamsgateKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear RamsgateKevin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor.

If you could contact me directly via email, it would be great to discuss the contents of your review further, Jack.Appleton@hilton.com.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#15 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing