We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Great location, clean spacious rooms, very modern, comfy beds, apple TV. View from window was a derelict building, toilet flush button is located behind toilet seat, shower door did not shut completely equalling a wet floor other than minor issues. Lovely place to stay would stay there again when visiting Manchester.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,994
    1,328
    403
    115
    40
See reviews for
353
1,517
314
1,015
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is a plush, modern, "glass and steel" hotel located right opposite Piccadilly railway station. The public spaces are airy - maybe lacking a bit of soul - but fine, clean and spacious. There's no real view - indeed a derelict building on one side can be a little depressing to stare at, but I guess that can't be helped.

Equally, the rooms are of a good size - not the biggest - but ample. They're nicely furnished (although I only give top marks for the oh so rare hotels that provide coat hooks in the hallway - why so rare?) and you get a combo Apple Mac computer/TV. The smallish shower-room (standard room) was perfectly fit for purpose.

Breakfast was a bit average - self service cooked and you have to special-order eggs unless you want scrambled, and then wait. It was OK, just a bit "chain" same-old, nothing to write home about (and no marmite).

In summary - very convenient, clean and spacious, ideal for a short stopover I would suggest. You also have easy access to the City centre. It's not a "beautiful" neighbourhood or outlook, more a practical one, and good at what it offers - no complaints.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the derelict office building are fine, but perhaps the most inspiring view, unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FourbyeFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

This was booked as a one night birthday treat for myself along with my Husband.
Check in was smooth and a nice surprise was been given a warm cookie.
Room was very clean and a plate with chocolate cake, fruit and Happy Birthday written in chocolate was left for me along with a Birthday card.
Approx 7-8 mins walk to the Arndale Centre so very central. The bed was enormous with very comfy pillows although I have slept in more comfy beds. Bathroom was very clean. A hairdryer, ironing board with iron was supplied in the wardrobe, there was also a mini bar although it only had complimentary water in. There was also a safe which was free of charge.
Breakfast on the Sunday morning was very busy and a bit chaotic. We had to wait 15 mins for a table, this could be as there was quite a lot of people in the hotel, Manchester United were playing their last home game and Alex Fergusons last game as Manager. We had to ask twice for milk for our coffee and was then given the most smallest jug, not enough for the 2 of us.
All in all though a nice , central hotel with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynney63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Good venue for a corporate event. Pleasant rooms and ambiance. For a personal stay, I prefer a smaller more intimate hotel. However it was all good so don't let my personal preferences put you off staying here. I didn't use the spa or pool so cannot comment, but if it is of the same standard as the rest of the hotel it would be great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oystersandchampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in Manchester city centre and the Doubletree is my favourite. Rooms are modern, clean and spacious. Staff are friendly and helpful. Location is excellent (just outside Piccadilly station). Added bonus is having computer in the room. Most hotels charge high rates for using the internet, but here it's free.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank ceddu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Brilliant hotel, ideal location for O2 Apollo and Manchester City Centre. Right opposite Piccadilly Station. Toilettries were very good quality. The bathroom was a specially adapted one so we had a walkin in Shower which was no problem, very big bathroom and lovely airy room. Got a great deal through travelrepublic so rate was very good. Only downside was with breakfast that fried eggs had to be ordered and not readily available on the buffet but other than that an excellent stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolLooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights while at a conference. The hotel was great to be able to go back to and relax. The staff were extremely helpful and there was always someone there to answer enquiries.

It is located right beside the train station and you can leave the hotel and be at the airport in 20/30mins.

It is also only a 2 minutes walk from the night clubs along Canal Street.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptmagnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#15 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing