We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a really smart hotel, ideally situated for the station and the City centre.

I stayed on business and had to teleconference in from the room. The check out is pretty late (noon) and the iMac entertainment centre was perfect. Smooth to convert into the PC and fast enough Internet for email and browsing. That's a really useful add-on.

The bar is relaxed and pretty chic. The food in the restaurant is above normal hotel standards I would say.

I really felt that his was a notch above normal business hotels.

Room Tip: I was allocated a disabled room to begin with, but was quickly changed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulE1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,589 - 2,595 of 4,327 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

I recently attended a concert in Manchester I was keen to get the location right for our stay. Well choose the Double Tree by Hilton and you've landed in the right hotel. Just opposite Piccadilly station you couldnt be more central if you tried. Staff were very welcoming, a bank of smiling receptionists, a rare treat these days! Our room was on the 8th floor with amazing views over the city. A tad on the city side of small but all you could want in an executive room. Clean and tidy and with a bed so comfy I couldve taken it home with me.
Breakfast was an unrushed, quiet (even with a full hotel) affair, lovely waiting staff all very helpful. Fab selection of hot and cold foods, especially enjoyed the fresh fruits and yoghurts with granola, danish pastries etc. Manchester has a real jewel of a hotel, with well trained professional staff

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pansgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Great location. Great reception staff. Let down by anaemic, sloppy batter on the fish and chips. Also fried eggs are apparently cooked to order for a full english breakfast, but was not made aware of this until plated the other breakfast ingredients - took 15mins to cook to order which was disappointing and spoiled our breakfast experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Morag R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Morag R,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly.

We're thrilled that you enjoyed both our staff and our facilities while you were with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Your comments about our food quality and the communication during your breakfast with us have been pased on to our breakfast manager and our food and beverage controller for evaluation.

If you would like to discuss your experience further or have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at sean.walsh2@hilton.com.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here whilst going to the Robbie Williams concert. Despite the fact that I booked way back in February time it cost a whopping £170 for 1 night - no breakfast. I see that a normal Saturday night is £89 if you book in advance. Did I feel ripped off? What do you think?

Good location for everything, the station, shops, Etihad stadium and MEM arena, all within walking distance. Rooms were fine, clean and up to date but nothing startling, we found the beds a bit hard. Our room backed onto the tram track so we were kept awake, not with the noise of the trams but their bells that they ring and the noisy people walking home across the courtyard there. We were on the 3 rd floor and the carpets in some areas are dirty and worn.

Food. We had an early meal deal there, served from 5.30 to 7 pm. £14.95 plus service charge for 2 courses and a glass of wine. The portions are incredibly small and whilst the food itself is tasty my husband was hungry again in a short time so we ended up spending more on more food that night. Also, does the chef not know that Caesar salad should be made with Cos lettuce and not baby gem leaves? Quite amazing in an establishment such as the Hilton. Breakfast was expensive but quite good. Plenty of choice on the cooked items front but a sad lack of nice bread, only bread buns that we got in the restaurant the night before or a seeded white bread that was already sliced and had a very hard crust.

If we had paid half the price then perhaps I would not be quite so critical but we stayed in London in a much nicer hotel for less money only last month. Time that they weren't so greedy when concerts are on.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here as attending a concert. The hotel is 2 mins walk from station, check in good. We had a standard room which was quite small though, Apple pc in room which was good, we only had a shower in our room which I didn't mind. Breakfast buffet very good too. I would stay here again as very close to station and shopping areas.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nealdown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This hotel will not disappoint. Its central location, minutes from Piccadilly Gardens, makes it ideal for shoppers and those, like us, attending events. Efficient and courteous check in - with warm cookies (nice touch, even on a sunny day!) started things off well. Our bright room was on the small side, as were the beds (standard twin) but this is usual in city centres. The bathroom was well equipped but shower only. The Apple TV and dock were state of the art - the tiny minimalist controls took a bit of getting used to! A fridge with complimentary water was a very welcome facility for keeping drinks and snacks in.good quality bedding aided a good nights sleep. Security relied on desk staff monitoring comings and goings - a better system would be lifts that need a key card to operate.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank HelenLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Excellent location near Piccadilly station. Easy to find and right next to Piccadilly gardens. Easy walking distance to the main shopping street and the bars/restaurants in the Northern Quarter. The rooms were spacious and clean with lovely free lotions and potions in the bathroom. The warm cookies on arrival was a nice touch. Don't use the bar. Prices are extortionate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 826clairea826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,299 reviews
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#47 of 121 in Manchester
4,640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#39 of 121 in Manchester
2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £78 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing