We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectlyfine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #18 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I last reviewed this hotel under it's previous ownership, approximately 3 years ago. In that time, other than than the name over the front door, little if anything, has changed. It is perfectly adequate - friendly and comfortable and all rather clinical. Handy for trains and the town centre and hosting visiting football teams - rather disappointingly, on this occasion, the visiting team was Norwich City. Rather like the team, the hotel remains pleasant but lacks any distinctive character.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellytubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,354 - 2,360 of 4,255 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

Went to celebrate a friends birthday, was not disappointed. Service was excellent, food very good too and lots of it. The glass of champagne added the little extra! A very enjoyable experience. Have booked for my birthday!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed here three nights and enjoyed my stay. Checking in was a breeze. The bartender and waiters will take good care of you. Hey, one night at the bar it was 2 for 1 happy hour. Can't beat that. Hotel was centrally located and walking distance of many restaurants and sights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Had a conference in Old Trafford football ground and needed to stay near mainline station to travel back to London for early meeting.

Hotel is across the road from Manchester Piccadilly station front entrance and trams run past door. I checked in at midday which was great and caught a tram to Old Trafford about 15 minute ride. Helpful reception gave me map and directions.

Room small but well designed. Iron, kettle, safe and free wifi. Small bathroom had annoying heavy self closing door so was little claustrophobic and toilet seat blocked flush buttons and being used to soft close seats which these are not ended up with seat crashing down in order to flush. Annoying.

Room service fast and efficient. Staff all pleasant and professional. Breakfast was usual buffet but fine. Overall good choice and would stay again.

Room Tip: Across the road from mainline station. 5 minutes maximum from front door to platform.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dugongs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with a friend for my neice's birthday. Every single thing about the hotel did not meet my expectations or that of what I would call Hilton standards. Bed's were uncompfortable and sheets very plasticated. Entire hotel was noisy. Telephone alarm clock rang both mornings and when we reported this the staff showed no interest at all. In fact no one showed us the hotel at all or explained any of the facilities they had. I have stayed in this hotel prior to this when it was a City Inn and it was 100% better before Hilton came along. Every member of staff had no people skills at all and were frankly rude. If you are looking for a stay in Manchester I would recomend trying any other hotel as this one charges a great deal for not a lot. I have written to them offering my complaint and so far no response has been recieved.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Hambleretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I normally stay in the Holiday Inn Manchester because I drive. On this occasion my wife and I left straight from work so took the train. The Double Tree Hilton was chosen due to being a HHonors member. The rate did not match the room that we were given, so I guess I should have mention this to the manager in order to switch. But arriving at 2300 on a Friday from work, all I wanted to do was SLEEP. Saturday was a early start to meet up with other Manchester Utd fans, so again the day was long. I will ensure that the same does not happen on my next visit to Manchester

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Delroy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed here last weekend and had a very pleasant experience.

Positive:

* Good quality king city suite (1030) - more spacious than expected, with great views of the city (from 10th floor)
* Very comfortable sofas
* Beds comfortable and in a good condition
* 2 TV’s (1 in bedroom, 1 in living room)
* Good quality pillows
* Great city centre location, especially if arriving by train (a few minutes talk to Piccadilly station)
* Friendly staff throughout the hotel
* Good quality cocktails in the bar, reasonably priced drinks
* Wide selection for breakfast
* Clean, and in a good condition, throughout the hotel
* Good HHonors Gold recognition, including welcome fruit and chocolate platter and 750ml bonus water
* 2 small bottles of water provided daily
* Quickly sent maintenance + housekeeping to the suite to repair the soap dispensers around 10 minutes after reporting the (and housekeeping also tidied the room again)
* Erroneous parking charge quickly removed at check-out without any problem

(Slightly) negative:

* Lifts can take a while to arrive sometimes, but 1 out of 3 was stopped so I suspect this is only a very short-term issue
* Soap dispensers were broken in the room, but as mentioned above these were quickly fixed
* Housekeeping opened the windows after cleaning after the first (it was cold + wet outside) and this wasn't obvious until half-way through the night, but it's easy to watch out for this and close them

I’ve stayed in a lot of hotels in Manchester, and over 100 this year around the world, and Doubletree Manchester Piccadilly was unexpectedly a very pleasant experience. Definitely better than my experiences staying in Hilton Deansgate recently.

Strongly recommended for the moment, a very good value stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#37 of 120 in Manchester
2,594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 120 in Manchester
4,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £69 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing