We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality modern hotel 5 minutes walk from the station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #20 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good quality modern hotel 5 minutes walk from the station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I've found it hard in the past to find a good quality, reasonably priced hotel in central Manchester, but the Doubletree - formerly the Mint hotel - is ideal for a business trip. Modern, comfortable rooms, a well lit work space, brand new bathroom with a powerful shower and a comfortable bed all make this a great place to stay.

Check in was swift and efficient.

It's very close to Manchester Piccadilly station - if you walk away from reception past the restaurant to the back of the hotel and leave by the back door, you just walk over a footbridge and you are there.

The only slight downsides was the bathroom door closed had a powerful automatic closing mechanism which can be annoying if you're on your own and want the door open, and the complementary warm cookie on arrival was a nice thought but tasted burnt. I didn't eat here do can't comment on the food more generally.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,019
    1,339
    410
    115
    41
See reviews for
357
1,531
316
1,031
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hull
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

stayed last week before concert at MEN lovely large room, really clean and great early check in - all in all great value for money Close to station, staff very accommodating, warm cookies on arrival - great touch

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I last reviewed this hotel under it's previous ownership, approximately 3 years ago. In that time, other than than the name over the front door, little if anything, has changed. It is perfectly adequate - friendly and comfortable and all rather clinical. Handy for trains and the town centre and hosting visiting football teams - rather disappointingly, on this occasion, the visiting team was Norwich City. Rather like the team, the hotel remains pleasant but lacks any distinctive character.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellytubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Went to celebrate a friends birthday, was not disappointed. Service was excellent, food very good too and lots of it. The glass of champagne added the little extra! A very enjoyable experience. Have booked for my birthday!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed here three nights and enjoyed my stay. Checking in was a breeze. The bartender and waiters will take good care of you. Hey, one night at the bar it was 2 for 1 happy hour. Can't beat that. Hotel was centrally located and walking distance of many restaurants and sights.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Had a conference in Old Trafford football ground and needed to stay near mainline station to travel back to London for early meeting.

Hotel is across the road from Manchester Piccadilly station front entrance and trams run past door. I checked in at midday which was great and caught a tram to Old Trafford about 15 minute ride. Helpful reception gave me map and directions.

Room small but well designed. Iron, kettle, safe and free wifi. Small bathroom had annoying heavy self closing door so was little claustrophobic and toilet seat blocked flush buttons and being used to soft close seats which these are not ended up with seat crashing down in order to flush. Annoying.

Room service fast and efficient. Staff all pleasant and professional. Breakfast was usual buffet but fine. Overall good choice and would stay again.

Room Tip: Across the road from mainline station. 5 minutes maximum from front door to platform.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dugongs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with a friend for my neice's birthday. Every single thing about the hotel did not meet my expectations or that of what I would call Hilton standards. Bed's were uncompfortable and sheets very plasticated. Entire hotel was noisy. Telephone alarm clock rang both mornings and when we reported this the staff showed no interest at all. In fact no one showed us the hotel at all or explained any of the facilities they had. I have stayed in this hotel prior to this when it was a City Inn and it was 100% better before Hilton came along. Every member of staff had no people skills at all and were frankly rude. If you are looking for a stay in Manchester I would recomend trying any other hotel as this one charges a great deal for not a lot. I have written to them offering my complaint and so far no response has been recieved.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Hambleretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing