We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in central Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in central Manchester”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I've stayed at the DoubleTree on a number of occassions while working in Manchester. The location is great if you are arriving by train - literally only two minutes walk from Piccadilly station.

The restaurant and bar are excellent, and the breakfast is always great (why can't all hotels do a decent cooked breakfast like this?). The staff are helpful and friendly, and the free cookie on check in is a nice touch!

Highly recommended if you are looking for a hotel in central Manchester

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,121
    1,401
    422
    117
    43
See reviews for
372
1,591
337
1,083
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel, which is just a stones throw from Manchester Piccadilly station, fully deserves its excellent reputation. I was made to feel welcome from the moment I checked in to the time I departed. My room was large, light and airy and spotlessly clean. I dined in my room both nights I stayed and the food was faultless, served hot and on time (steak, chips, beer and footy are a match made in heaven). Breakfasts are great with a buffet or a la carte options. This is not the cheapest hotel but as with all quality items you get what you pay for. Recommended!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelkortheMighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed for two nights when attending a Manchester United European match. Easy to get to by car, although had to use a public car park at around £10 per night - not unreasonable for a city centre. Central location and close to Metrolink stop for Old Trafford. Room was certainly better appointed than your typical Travelodge or Premier Inn. Room and toilet/shower spotless, and the in-room computer with free internet access is a great touch. Ate both nights in the bar area and meals were good value and tasty. Breakfast was fine. Staff (mostly foreign) were pleasant and friendly although some had difficulty understanding our Scottish accents! No real outlook from the room window but good for 'people at work' watching - office blocks directly opposite room. Bit of a noise from the passing trams but soon got used to it. Would certainly use it again.

Room Tip: Get as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Eddie T,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a great review with Tripadvisor.

We do appreciate such great feedback and I will make sure this is shared with the team.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This hotel is across the road from Piccadilly Train Station. Ideal for walking to shops, etc
Twin room was very comfortable with a nice bathroom but only a shower - no bath. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed the wide choice at breakfast and had a good meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meggie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed here for the first time on our annual overnight trip to Manchester's atmospheric Christmas Market(s) ! This is a relatively new hotel, well positioned for Piccadilly Station and the gardens. Not too far to walk to Arden Centre and Deansgate. We were offered an upgrade to a high floor and a suite (for a fee) with the tempting offer of a free minibar. Needless to say we took it and indeed the suite was terrific with a separate lounge, dinning area, huge bedroom and a bathroom where you could have had a barn dance. The rooms were pretty high tech, but the apple computers in both the lounge and bedroom were also used as TV. Unfortunately, the streamed channels were typically poor quality with continuous interruptions due to pixellation and out of sync sounds. We did complain, but it poor quality magically disapperaed when the manager came to view and of course reappeared as soon as he had left ! Overall. not a bad hotel, but let down by the poor attempt at high tech.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRRHyvots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Perfect location, room was lovely - apart from being directly opposite a massive advertising sign that lit the bedroom all night despite heavy curtains, but that was the only niggle about the room. Free internet and computer access was perfect. I do say beware of the free cookie as they contain nuts and as a nut allergy sufferer, I could not eat this and there was no alternative. Maybe Hilton could look into supplying an alternative in this day and age? But apart from that, the location is perfect for the city and an evening out. The staff are very attentive and nothing is too much for them. I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel...do not face Piccadilly unless you want to be awoken period...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windsor988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a quick 3 nights as part of a larger trip and the location was perfect. The hotel is a quick walk to the Manchester Piccadilly Train Station, and walk-able to most major attractions in Manchester. The room was clean and the other items like the bar/restaurant and gym were also very nice. Was reasonable too!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmw278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,997 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,801 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#41 of 118 in Manchester
4,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing