We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but no fireworks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the night Man U was playing Shaktar Donesk so the hotel was fully booked. I got a room that I was not happy with, but there was little the hotel could do about it.

The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was just what the doctor ordered, so no complaints from me.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank 42Travelbug42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,158)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,218 - 2,224 of 4,158 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

We normally stop at the Hilton on Deansgate but as the hotel was fully booked we went for the Doubletree as we try to stop in a Hilton property because we are in the honors reward scheme. The hotel is easy to find and parking is plentiful, just bear in mind the hotel is not central and requires a 10 minute walk to the shops.
Check in is the usual, they have a Hilton Honors welcome mat and little cordon around an area with a Hilton honors plaque on the desk. As always when you queue up in the members cordon the reception staff either ignore you or ask to walk to the other end of the check in desk, we knew this before trying but one day it will work and I’m curious what the difference is. Apart from this standard Hilton snub check in was excellent and we even received a warm cookie.
The room was very nice and wants for little at the price, just bear in mind what other reviewers say about the flashing blue sign on one side of the hotel which would effect light sleepers due to the amount of light entering around the edge of the curtain. It is possible to prop the curtains against the wall with a little ingenuity, but given the number of complaints it appears they receive you would think they could do a little better.
We always find the Hilton breakfast to be spot on and weren’t disappointed here. We also had occasion to try the restaurant and again the food was of a good standard. Upon entering the restaurant we were asked if we would like a drink in the adjacent blue bar, not being in any rush we thought why not. We entered a nice little bar where the tables looked like our front room after we’ve had friends round and decided to clean up the next day, fortunately there was a clean table for us; other guests following on were not so fortunate. After realising that no bar staff where in attendance I nipped into the restaurant to order drinks, a bit of a pain but not the end of the world.
Check out was speedy and no errors were made on the bill and we would probably stop again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the flashing blue advertising sign
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MandP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Perfectly located between Piccadilly station, Piccadilly Gardens and the madness of Canal Street, this hotel was a great find. I walked in on a busy Saturday to find they would honour my company's corporate rate, so at that steal I took it.

Rooms modern and efficient, a couple of hairs in the shower plus a tricky to extract soap dispenser aside, everything was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. I've not tried a UK Doubletree before, but they've done the brand proud in Manchester, and I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Friendly staff, very helpful. A particular mention to Stanley the could-be-a-supermodel who worked the weekend night shift, and was exceedingly helpful twice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed here with a freebie from Hilton.. Found it very efficient clean and tidy. Room was great and came with an Apple computer/TV thing. Just a short walk form Piccadilly Gardens and the shops and Arndale. Had a great time at the Euro Christmas markets. Did not use the restaurant or bar, so no comment.......right next to |Piccadilly railway station. All in all great hotel, but felt a bit corporate. But all in I would recommend this hotel for service, cleanliness and style and location and price....

Room Tip: The trams can make a bit of noise in the morning....
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilko99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I've stayed at the DoubleTree on a number of occassions while working in Manchester. The location is great if you are arriving by train - literally only two minutes walk from Piccadilly station.

The restaurant and bar are excellent, and the breakfast is always great (why can't all hotels do a decent cooked breakfast like this?). The staff are helpful and friendly, and the free cookie on check in is a nice touch!

Highly recommended if you are looking for a hotel in central Manchester

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel, which is just a stones throw from Manchester Piccadilly station, fully deserves its excellent reputation. I was made to feel welcome from the moment I checked in to the time I departed. My room was large, light and airy and spotlessly clean. I dined in my room both nights I stayed and the food was faultless, served hot and on time (steak, chips, beer and footy are a match made in heaven). Breakfasts are great with a buffet or a la carte options. This is not the cheapest hotel but as with all quality items you get what you pay for. Recommended!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelkortheMighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed for two nights when attending a Manchester United European match. Easy to get to by car, although had to use a public car park at around £10 per night - not unreasonable for a city centre. Central location and close to Metrolink stop for Old Trafford. Room was certainly better appointed than your typical Travelodge or Premier Inn. Room and toilet/shower spotless, and the in-room computer with free internet access is a great touch. Ate both nights in the bar area and meals were good value and tasty. Breakfast was fine. Staff (mostly foreign) were pleasant and friendly although some had difficulty understanding our Scottish accents! No real outlook from the room window but good for 'people at work' watching - office blocks directly opposite room. Bit of a noise from the passing trams but soon got used to it. Would certainly use it again.

Room Tip: Get as high as possible.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Eddie T,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a great review with Tripadvisor.

We do appreciate such great feedback and I will make sure this is shared with the team.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,065 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#5 of 120 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 120 in Manchester
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £82 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing