We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience everytime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing experience everytime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Great hotel with all the possible amenities close by. Everytime I stay over.. I fall in love with this place again. Great hotel with all the possible amenities close by. Everytime I stay over.. I fall in love with this place again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mirza Haseeb Ha... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,994
    1,328
    403
    115
    40
See reviews for
353
1,517
314
1,015
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Very impressed when we first arrived, with a speedy check in on a Friday night. There was a guitarist playing in the bar/restaurant area which made our minds up to go for dinner and drinks in there.
We were told of a deal for fish & chips and a beer which my other half opted for, making it a very good price and thought it would automatically be taken off (see below!)...
I ordered a cocktail from the waiter only to find 20 minutes later staff were chatting behind the bar and appeared to of forgotten about my drink. When the waiter clocked us glaring at him looking puzzled he must have remembered and came to tell us the drink wouldn't be long.... And there it was 60 seconds later!
So the bill came which we paid straight away but only to find a few moments later whilst checking it that the fish & chips deal hadn't taken. We told staff about it straight away but after a further 10 minutes of waiting were told there was nothing they could do without a manager and we're told to go to reception to sort it.
So we headed out for the night and went to reception the following day. Staff there seem puzzled as to how much they needed to refund us. It was finally sorted after waiting a further 15mins at reception.
When we woke the day we were checking out we found an itemised bill pushed through our door (although we had prepaid everything). We took this to reception to ask about and after much clicking on the computer by the receptionist were told it was for a room 3 doors away :s
...They're the not so good points which you may think seem petty but it affected our overall stay... Just remember to check your bills!
On the up side the room was very nice and clean and had quality furnishings including an Apple TV. The complimentary chilled water in the room and warm cookie at check in was also a nice welcoming touch. To add to this, the bathroom had complimentary toiletries and was spotlessly clean.
Overall the room was very nice and quiet even though the main road was 5 stories below.
I would stay there again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

A wonderful stay in a place that quite successfully positions itself as a 'premier-plus' offering. A notable and significant improvement on something like a Premier Inn (very good in their own right), but sans any real noticeable hike in price.

The cookie on arrival is doubtless a nice touch; fortunately the cookie in question is also rather delicious! So much so that we were forced to take them up on their offer to replenish them - via their 'Careline' from our room - on at least one occasion.

The 4-star lobby is not let down the rooms themselves, which are surprisingly spacious, well-appointed (think Apple iMac 'TV', complementary mini-bar, water, hair-dryer, iron et al) and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was one of the nicest I have ever come across in a three to four four star establishment. You'd surely have to go to five star for any tangible improvement. And that extends to the Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries included for your pleasure. A really nice touch.

Breakfast in the otherwise dire 'City Cafe' was surprisingly decent; check out was quick, efficient and free of nasty surprises when it came to the bill. WiFi is free throughout the hotel.

In summary, a near-faultless experience only partially let-down by the dire 'City Cafe' restaurant adjoined to it.

Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The higher up the better - to avoid noise from the central location near Piccadilly Station et al.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxMJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Perfect stay in this lovely hotel. Very handy location and service was excellent. Also stayed in the Hilton Deansgate a week later, it was terrible and definitely would not give that place another chance if I was paid to. Doubletree was fantastic and so many bonus' without the huge bill after the stay e.g wifi and a mac all included in price! Clean and extremely comfortable! Will be staying here again, thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here twice with my boyfriend. Both times reasonably priced and good sized rooms. Mac computers are a bit dated and are an eye sore. I feel the bar needs something a bit more to it and the staff lack personality. Something you can't teach really. Will stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svk4190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
740 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Apart from being handed a warm cookie at check-in, I'm still trying to understand what is different about the Double Tree brand within the Hilton empire. Interestingly this hotel has changed hands fairly frequently recently, having been a City Inn and part of the Mint group. Indeed the restaurant is still branded 'City'.

As my title indicates, the hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from Piccadilly station. Check-in was efficient and my room good, although in spite of asking for a quiet room it was on the corner where the trams have to hoot. The shower room was excellent.

As I was giving a presentation in the early evening I didn't try the bar or the restaurant, but some keen pricing was advertised in the lift.

In some circumstances the lack of an inclusive bed and breakfast rate would create a problem, but I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We love staying at this hotel, central, great price, excellent rooms, underground parking, very helpful staff and great food in the a la carte restaurant. It's literally five mins to the shops so makes it easy to go back with your bags and if you travel by train it's not even five mins from Picadilly. We always recommend this hotel to friends as it's worth it, you get what you pay for! Can't wAit to go back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#15 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing