We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good - at least in parts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Modern property, which seems well-staffed numerically, but they were a mixed bunch - some very pleasant and helpful but others less-so. For example, my companion was quite distraught because she'd left her laptop power supply at home, but none of the staff seemed too interested in helping her and it took an exceedingly-kind guest next to her in the queue to loan her her own. This lady rightly suggested that the hotel lost property store must be full of laptop power supplies, but there was little or no willingness on the part of the staff to help her out.
The whole hotel - both corridors and bedrooms - seemed to be on the chilly side, climatically, despite the extensive air conditioning, or perhaps because of it.
Breakfasts were usual offerings and adequate enough, except for the disgustingly-unpalatable coffee - drink the tea if you can. And the raucous and intrusive and (to me) unwanted backround music which constantly plays.
Ate at their City Cafe, which had some accomplished dishes on offer and some pleasant management and service staff:recommended.
All in all, recommended too, but with a few reservations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,313 - 2,319 of 4,327 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Nice hotel which is in the process of being renovated I think as the carpets seem new & the corridors were being repainted. The bathroom seems modernised too, with a good shower. Lovely comfy bed - we were on 7th floor so no noise from the street. Well appointed rooms with a proper steam-iron & board, hairdryer, small fridge. Quiet a/c. Staff were friendly. Right beside Piccadilly station and a handy walk to the main shopping/night-life area.

The lifts though are very slow and inefficient, any time of day - not sure if anything can be done about that...

The hot breakfast was disappointing - tasteless and bland - particularly the scrambled egg which I think was cooked in a microwave due to its texture!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Got to the hotel, checked in fine.. Rang down to order a bucket of ice and two champagne glasses, 1hr later it turns up.. Would have been quicker to go down and get it myself.. Also the morning i am to leave, bare in my the check out time is 12pm.. One of the cleaners knocked my door at 9.30am????????? What the hell for?????? When i answered i could not understand a word he was saying, i guessed he wanted me out of the room so he could clean it.. After a night out on the town i do not expect to be woken up at 9.30am even though i put a do not disturb card on the door.. That really pee'd me off.. He knocked every door in the corridor..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here for 1 night only. The hotel is beautiful and new. The staff were friendly.The rooms were large and the interior was to a lovely standard. We were in a room right opposite the train station but heard no noise. Only downside was that the room was not cleaned properly. There was a plastic bottle left on the bedroom floor, and broken glass pieces on the bathroom floor. I do feel this was an oversight and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the tram side were a bit noisier than the rooms on the station side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-oakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

good hotel, excellently located in the city of Manchster, good service.I needed dry-cleaning and they performed it nicely at a reasonable price. breakfast not extremely good, coffee is horrible. Guiness from the tap is good at the bar, although a but expensive. overall good value for price

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Laszlo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I think this hotel is fantastic having stayed here twice now. Rooms are reasonably sized but with lots of glass overlooking the city and an iMac in the room with free internet access. No bath, but a great proper shower - much better in my book. Location is good in the city and the reception very modern looking. Rates are generally good and in line with all Doubletrees you get a nice warmed cookie on checkin.

Breakfast is also fine but one word of warning is they strictly stop serving mid-week at 10, which after a late Christmas do night out was a bit early for me!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank KirkbyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Dined in the Restaurant but didn't stay over in the accomodation. Had a lovely meal with 3 friends at the Double-Tree Manchester Piccadilly. The restaurant staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. The food was of a very good quality and arrived with excellent presentation. We all really enjoyed our meals and atmostphere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,299 reviews
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#47 of 121 in Manchester
4,640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#39 of 121 in Manchester
2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £78 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing