We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy room, central location and good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just for 1 night whilst visiting friends. The room was very modern and well fitted. Bed was comfy and shower hot and powerful. Had breakfast delivered to the room, which was very nice.

The location is great for a short visit, a matter of seconds from Piccadilly train station. Would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karlossus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,157)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,153 - 2,159 of 4,158 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is my 2nd stay at the Doubletree and I wasn't disappointed, 2 minutes walk from the train station, great after a long journey, the room was furnished well and very clean, the apple TV is always a favourite.
The restaurant is great for supper and has a good selection. The breakfast selection was varied and good and the service was excellent.
I will stay again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The first thing to notice about this hotel is the proximity to the station and town centre. Being that neither me nor my boyfriend had ever visited Manchester before, upon leaving the train station were extremely confused as both of our sat navs seemed to be broken. It turned out the hotel was literally across the road and the city centre not much further, brilliant! We had breakfast on two occasions and can't fault the food, especially the fruit section which was a nice change from the 'bog-standard' full English (which they also did and was lovely too). I loved that breakfast finished at 11 as a lot of hotels seem to finish at 10, when you are relaxing on holiday it's nice to be able to be lazy. Same with the checkout at 12. The hotel itself was lovely and clean, i would definitely stay again. My only complaints would be, firstly, the price of drinks in the bar. Me and my partner had one cocktail each and came out £20 worse off (including service charge) of course i understand that hotels do overcharge but this felt like a kick in the teeth. And secondly most hotels work on a system where if the rooms aren't filled they will upgrade people checking in for free. I thought it was extremely cheeky to offer the upgrade but still to pay extra. All in all a brilliant stay, thanks very much :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

It was a complementary stay after our first experience of this hotel wasn't great, and this second stay was no better. Drinks stains on the curtains in room. Stains on the floor and if I had been a paying guest this room would have cost me over£200 just not acceptable, and this is meant to be a highly respected hotel but to me it is the name you are paying for not the service or standard. I also had to change cups and plates at breakfast as these were also dirty. If I was a hotel inspector I would have a field day putting this place in order and bringing it up to scrat.Well my standard at least as my standard is obviously higher than there own at the moment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Modern property, which seems well-staffed numerically, but they were a mixed bunch - some very pleasant and helpful but others less-so. For example, my companion was quite distraught because she'd left her laptop power supply at home, but none of the staff seemed too interested in helping her and it took an exceedingly-kind guest next to her in the queue to loan her her own. This lady rightly suggested that the hotel lost property store must be full of laptop power supplies, but there was little or no willingness on the part of the staff to help her out.
The whole hotel - both corridors and bedrooms - seemed to be on the chilly side, climatically, despite the extensive air conditioning, or perhaps because of it.
Breakfasts were usual offerings and adequate enough, except for the disgustingly-unpalatable coffee - drink the tea if you can. And the raucous and intrusive and (to me) unwanted backround music which constantly plays.
Ate at their City Cafe, which had some accomplished dishes on offer and some pleasant management and service staff:recommended.
All in all, recommended too, but with a few reservations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Nice hotel which is in the process of being renovated I think as the carpets seem new & the corridors were being repainted. The bathroom seems modernised too, with a good shower. Lovely comfy bed - we were on 7th floor so no noise from the street. Well appointed rooms with a proper steam-iron & board, hairdryer, small fridge. Quiet a/c. Staff were friendly. Right beside Piccadilly station and a handy walk to the main shopping/night-life area.

The lifts though are very slow and inefficient, any time of day - not sure if anything can be done about that...

The hot breakfast was disappointing - tasteless and bland - particularly the scrambled egg which I think was cooked in a microwave due to its texture!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Got to the hotel, checked in fine.. Rang down to order a bucket of ice and two champagne glasses, 1hr later it turns up.. Would have been quicker to go down and get it myself.. Also the morning i am to leave, bare in my the check out time is 12pm.. One of the cleaners knocked my door at 9.30am????????? What the hell for?????? When i answered i could not understand a word he was saying, i guessed he wanted me out of the room so he could clean it.. After a night out on the town i do not expect to be woken up at 9.30am even though i put a do not disturb card on the door.. That really pee'd me off.. He knocked every door in the corridor..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,060 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 120 in Manchester
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £81 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing