We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #20 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
193 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Upon arrival we were impressed with the service, the room was adequate, not massive but roomy enough for a 1 night stay, the bathroom was clean and the shower hot and powerful. Was impressed by the nice touch of the staff ensuring and offering to supply an umbrella when it was pouring with rain outside!

The bar was very nice, very buzzy a bit better than the average hotel bar but a touch overpriced as was the breakfast which opted not to have here.

The hotel cant be better placed for access to the station and one of the best party areas in Manchester!

A few negative points, whilst the shower was very hot the water from the sink was warm but not mega hot (health and safety nonsence probably!), annoying for when you want a wet shave, and when returning to the hotel after a night out we had trouble getting even jut a coffee!

And the massive negative - No tea making facilities in the room - come on guys a Brit staying in a British hotel should be able to have a cup of tea as and when he wants!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear PaulT73,

We appreciate you taking the time out to express how your stay was with us

We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and found the hotel amenities and its location conveinent and comfortable for your short stay with us.

I would like to apologise for the issues regarding the water in room. We do a have a safety feature in place but this can be altered to increase the temperature.

We also have a complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms - these are kept in the drawer to allow for more room on the working desk.

If you are to stay with us again in the future do not hesitate to contact the Front Desk or Guest Services who are available 24/7 and would be happy to assist guests with any queries in regards to in-room facilities.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,019
    1,339
    410
    115
    41
See reviews for
357
1,531
316
1,031
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I've stayed in a few Doubletrees before and I have to say, this is the most basic one I have ever stayed in. It was clean and the beds were comfortable but that's about it. The bathrooms are tiny and didn't have a bath and also the TV screen which was an Apple TV was tiny and you couldn't really watch anything from the bed. The wifi wasn't great and also the walls were so thin you could hear next door and the corridors.

Having said that, breakfast service was really good and more in line with other Doubletrees I've stayed in.

It is however VERY convenient to Piccadilly station and in between 2 tram stops.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat_Orr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

For me the quality of a hotel starts with the reception staff ... And here Jack and Jordan set the high standards. From a warm welcome to a lovely clean room, great cocktails and nice breakfast , we had a brilliant girls night with a show thrown in - would recommend this hotel , it's central for everything

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker601116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed with 2 friends and have to say it was an absolute pleasure. Service was excellent and it was lovely to see staff happy and smiling. Nothing was too much trouble. Location also superb and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends. Well done

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AgnesWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Super reception and all the staff were so helpful and attentive to our needs. Good food in both restaurant and bar. The hotel is situated very near to all the shopping areas, great for retail therapy also very handy for the Manchester Arena. Well done to you all. This hotel is well worth a stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ganger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
176 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Ideally placed for travellers, within 5 minutes of Piccadilly station. Staff were welcoming and helpful. The hot cookie always helps! The room was nothing special but more than adequate for an overnight stay. Room service was excellent arriving within about 15-20 minutes of being ordered. The breakfast staff were great too. Nothing negative to say but nothing special either - just the job for an overnight stay whilst working in Manchester.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

excellent service from all the staff at this hotel. check-in and departure were both smooth despite it being a very busy weekend due to major sporting event. Bar staff very attentive and breakfast was good

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing